Is She Really What They Say?( a Taps Story)

It’s been a year since I realized I loved Christina. I was in my second here at the academy. It was about the summer time. I was staying for the summer training session. I knew Dwyer, Brian, West, and all the others were. I was still wondering about Christina.

I asked her and she said she wasn’t sure yet. The only time she wasn’t here for anything was during Christmas break last year. She’s always been here. Then again, I’ve only known her for about two years.

After she was healed and everything from her father we got to sit down with her and ask her about it. She said that was the reason why she couldn’t have too many friends. She didn’t want her father to hurt them.

She’s actually really sweet, get to know her. She’s just still got this mysteriuse air to her. I think now all the guys in our year are crushing on her. And not just because she beat Martin Lax in chess ten times. And Lax is the best chess player Bunker Hills has seen.

Course she did get a hit when he didn’t win one of them. Christina didn’t even look fazed when he did that. I asked and she said it didn’t hurt. He father smacked her harder then that.

It was one of those days I didn’t have anything better to do, so I figured I hang out with Christina. She always had something to do. I knocked on her door before Brian opened it.

“Come on in Dave.” He said and moved aside.

He closed the door behind me. I understood why he and all the rest of our friends were there. Christina was packing her things. We had the graduates dance tonight. and then tomorrow we would leave for summer recess if we wanted to.

“What’s going on?” I asked cautiously.

“I’m heading home for the summer this time.” Christina said not looking up as she threw other things in her trunk.

“Why?” I asked.

“I need to get away for a little while.” She told me, “It’s just getting a little too hard to deal with all the time. I figure one summer at home couldn’t hurt. Right?”

I was trying not to growl. But I knew everyone knew it was coming.

“So what are you and your mom and dad going to do?” Dwyer asked ignoring me.

She shrugged, “Mama and Daddy’ll probably surprise me with camping, fishing, helping remodel the house a little. You know, Alex, the usual.”

“Wont be as fun without me there will it?” He asked laughing.

She laughed too, “We’ll see.”

She closed the trunk and took it off her bed.

“You wont have miss me too much guys.” She said smiling, “I’ll be back by the end of the summer at the right beginning of the new school year.”

“Sure.” I hissed.

“Something wrong Shawn?” She asked.

“Yeah, sure your coming back.” I said again.

“Of course I am. Why would you think otherwise?” She sounded confused.

“Your just using and excuse to leave and go in another direction.” I told her fuming, “We get all excited for you coming back, and you never do. What then, Christina? What then?”

“Shawn, I love it here. Why would you think I’m not coming back. It’s like a second home to me.” She said calmly.

” Cause you don’t want to deal with everything again.” I hissed.

“Shawn I think you may want to cool it.” West said from the other side of the room.

“No!” I hissed at him.

I heard Christina sigh, “Shawn, I’m coming back. I promise you that. And I never go back on my promises. I’ll be back at the end of the summer. I just want to go home for a while.”

“To your abusive father?” I demanded.

“Why would I call that hell hole home?” She asked surprised, “I was talking about going home to my loving Mama, and caring step-father.”

“And how do I know?” I persisted.

“I was going to try and introduce you guys to them. I know they’d love you, and I’m pretty sure your going to love them.” She said.

“Bull shit!”

“Why the hell do you care so much when I am?” She demanded.

“Oh, wouldn’t you like to know.” I snapped.

“Your and ass, you bastard.” She snarled.

“And your nothing more than a slutty bitch!” I didn’t know why I just said that, but I was glad with what she did next. I more than deserved it.

She lunged forward and tackled me to the floor sending both of us flying into the hall. It was opened by an older cadet. We were rolling around throwing punches and bashing each other into the wall.

“Bitch!” I yelled.

“Inconsiderate, incompetent, dick!” She retorted.

For someone who was so small she was strong. She threw me into a wall with her bare hands and started pounding me like there was no tomorrow. I finally got the high ground and had he pined under me.

“Why the hell do you want to leave anyway? I thought you said this was your home?” I had to yell because a bunch of guys had gathered around to see what was going on.

She flipped me and shook me by my collar, “That’s my business! I may love this place but I have the freedom to come and go as much as the next guy!”

I had to hit her up side the head and flip her over, “Since when were you a guy!?”

“Metaphorically speaking bastard!” She literally spat in my eye and slammed me in wall again.

“Why the hell to do care so much if I leave anyway!” She yelled.

“Because I love you!” I finally screamed.

Everything stopped. The cheering went silent. My heart was still. Everyone was staring at me with wide eyes. I didn’t really pay attention to any of the spectators or anything. My focus was Christina.

Her green eyes were wide. Shock was clearly evident on her face. Her grip was loosening on my shirt collar from where she held. She opened her mouth a couple of times to say something, but nothing came out. It was just like she was looking for the right words to say.

Come on. I thought. If your going to reject me and my feelings, or laugh in my face, or nicely turn me down then do it now. Now while it wont hurt as much.

A couple seconds after I had this thought, her hands loosened completely from my shirt. She had a small sweet smile on her face. Her eyes were happy. And even though her hair was a mess, and she had a couple of bruises and a little blood on her face, she was beautiful.

“Your such an idiot, Shawn.” She said moving her hands and clasping them behind her back, “You should always tell a girl something like that right when you figure it out.”

She smiled at me and then went into her room and gently closed the door.

I stood there a good few minutes trying to figure out what had just happened. I wasn’t alone in that either. Why? You maybe asking, because when I finally came to grips with what just happened, me and every other guy who was still there trying to figure it out(which was everyone) what Christina had just said and meant, there were about forty or so people who joined me in a

“What?” At the same time. I was glad I wasn’t the only one who was lost. Girls were impossible to figure out. And Christina was the most impossible to figure out out of them all.

Leave a Reply

