Is She Really What They Say? (a Taps Story)

(From now on the story will be told from Christina’s pov.)

I was finally back at bunker hill. Man did I love this place. I unloaded my stuff and said good bye to my mama and daddy. I loved them to no end, but I was really glad to be back. The only reason why I left was because I had too.

I was walking back up to my room when in the corridor I was picked up and spun around a little.

“Hey Chrisa! Long time no see!” Alex exclaimed happily putting me back down.

“Hey Axey. How are you?” I asked giggling as we walked towards my room.

“No bad, you?” He asked.

I shrugged, “I’m okay. Better now that I’m back.”

He nodded in agreement.

“We all missed you.” He said as we stopped in front of my room, “Why’d you leave again?”

I looked around for a second, “I’ll tell you later.”

I opened the door and immediately confetti was thrown on me and cheers and greetings were yelled in my ears.

“Hey Chris. We missed you.” Rusty told me wrapping an arm around my shoulders.

“I missed you guys too.” I said dusting off some of the confetti that was on me.

“Where’d you go?” West asked as they sat me down in my chair.

“A lot of places actually.” I told them.

“Well, were listening.” Shovel said passing around some regular chips.

I laughed lightly and began, “Well, when I first got home my ma had a talk with me about woman things I should be aware of and stuff.” They nodded politely even though non of them were interested in it, “Then my daddy took me out fishing that weekend. I caught a lot more fish then he did one was this big.” I extended my arms a little wider than my shoulders, they seemed sorta impressed, “We also went camping. It was me, my daddy, and a few of his old friends. One of them was a war veteran. I learned a lot about his experience in battle. It was really cool.” all of them looked really interested in that, “I went swimming a lot. And I went to the zoo. My daddy was doing a case for the owner so I spent the day looking at the animals as he took care of legal work.”

“Hold on.” Brian interrupted, “I hear you say a lot about you ‘daddy’. But I thought you hated him, and what exactly does he do?”

“Oh.” It just dawned on me that I never told them, “Well see. I do hate my biological father. But I love my step-daddy. You’ll always know the difference with me because I’ll always call my step-dad daddy, and my biological father, father. You’ll also notice venom in my tone when I talk about my father.”

They nodded, “As for occupation. My daddy is a lawyer. My father runs a company that makes him travel and get a bunch of different kinds of alcohol. I hate the guy.”

“How was the zoo?” Alex asked changing the subject.

“It was really fun actually. I got to hold a bunny and feed a tiger and help collect chicken eggs.” All of them ooh’d, “I volunteered at the retirement home for a while with mama. I also got some target practice in.”

“How?” Hulk asked.

“Well, daddy took me hunting with a couple of his friends on one of his day’s off. And I got to go paint baling too.”

All of them were astonished.

“Oh, Alex. You wont guess what else I did over the summer.” I teased him.

“I’m not gonna guess Chrisa, just tell me.” He said sounding slightly annoyed.

“I went horse back riding.” I announced proudly.

“You actually went horse back riding?” He exclaimed like he couldn’t believe it. He probably couldn’t. He tried to get me on a horse first year. It didn’t go so well. I was nervous to begin with. And he didn’t know that the horse was harder to handle. It kicked me off and I wound up in the hospital for about a week with a couple broken ribs.

“Well,” I admitted, “It was a sweet pony, and I technically just sat on it and braided it’s main. But it still counts. Right?”

He chuckled and said, “Considering it’s you. Maybe.”

“I don’t like how you said that.” I told him crossing my arms.

He laughed and rolled his eyes.

“So how was the summer session?” I asked the rest of the room.

“Summer session-y.” Bug told me.

“The only really interesting part of it was watching Shawn practically rip his hair out trying to figure out what you meant before you left.” J.C. told me.

I giggled again. I knew he would. That was my whole point of doing it. I figured leave him words like that and think if ‘absence makes the heart grow fonder’ is real.

“Where is Shawn anyway?” I asked them.

“Why? Need to talk to your boyfriend?” West teased.

“I need to talk to him, and I’ll let you know if he is my boyfriend after.” I told him getting up unfazed by anything. I was always like that.

They stared at me like I was crazy. I shrugged it off and started out. I caught Alex’s eye. His face read, ‘if he does anything I want to know’, and ‘if he does anything I’m going to kill him’, and we can’t forget ‘I can’t believe you like that guy. You can do so much better’. Of course I just shrugged this off and went to look for him.

I found Shawn on the basketball court making failed attempts at shots. The ball bounced my way. I picked it up and made a swish shot. Shawn turned around and saw me smiling at him.

“You suck at this.” I told him grabbing that ball and bounce passing to him.

“You came back.” He said absent-mindedly letting the ball bounce past him.

I looked at him like he was crazy, “I only left for one summer Shawn. Besides, I promised you I’d be back. Didn’t I?”

He walked closer to me. He cupped my face and rubbed his thumb on my cheek. I savored his touch.

“what did you mean back there?” He asked.

“Huh?” I asked, not sure of what he meant.

“When you told me I should have told you I liked you sooner. What did you mean?” He asked again anxiously.

I smiled softly at him and said, “What I meant was; you should have told me that you liked me sooner because I like you back too.”

He smiled at me too, then he leaned in and our lips barely touched each other. He did this a couple of times before he fully put his soft, yet slightly chapped lips on mine. It was perfect. I swear if I wasn’t already, that kiss made me numb.

When we pulled away I looked deep into his brown eyes and he looked into my green ones.

“I love you, Christina Waywater.” He told me resting his forehead on mine.

“No you don’t Shawn.” I told him, “What your feeling is an attraction and interest in me. There for having your brain stimulated to the illusion of love. You don’t love me, Shawn. Even if you do it’s not real. But, I have a strong attraction towards you.”

“Why do you have to make things complicated. And more importantly, why do you say I don’t love you when I do?” Shawn asked seeming to get mad.

I shrugged, “Maybe it’s my heart trying to make up for the guilt I’m feeling for not being able tell you the same thing back.”

He looked at me like I had two heads.

“All around me, Shawn. Ever since I was little, there was never any love. Only abuse. I figured that, that was what it was always like. There is no love, and even if there is then I have right to it. I don’t deserve it. All I am is a crazy girl with the loss of pain. What use am I to anyone? What love does anyone hold for me? Shawn, all your feeling is interest and attraction. Nothing more.”

He kissed me again but this time it had more passion in it.

“I don’t care how you want to put it, Christina.” He said when we pulled away, “I don’t care if you can’t say it back to me. I love you, and because I love you I’m going to show you love and make you see this isn’t just attraction and interest. I love you, Christina and I will always protect you from everything. So, I was wondering, would you want to be my girl friend?”

I looked at him for a second, then replied, “Only to see if you can really love me and show me what it is. But, yes, Shawn. I’d love to be your girlfriend.”

He smiled even bigger then he did before and kissed me again. Well, Alex would just have to live with this, and Shawn would have to put up with us.

Now, if only I knew this was the beginning of my troubles.

Leave a Reply

