TomKat Johnes(a The Outsiders Love Story: Chapter 5)

Two-bit’s pov.

I yawned and stretched out on the bed. I winced as a headache came over me. The after effects of alcohol. I blinked a couple of times and looked around the room.

My shoes, jeans, and jacket were thrown all over the room. But my Micky Mouse t-shirt was folded neatly on the bedside table.

Did I fuck a girl last night? I asked myself and tried really hard to remember what happened.

I came here with Kat, Soda, Steve, and Dally.

Me and Steve went to get a drink as Soda was swarmed with girls.

I lost Dally and Kat in the crowd.

I got a little drunk, but enough to remember things.

Steve pointed out Kat going against some bicker guy in a game of pool and they started up shots.

I drank more.

After Kat and that bicker guy’s first round of shots everything blurred together. The only thing I remember is a mess of beautiful, black as midnight, raven hair.

So I did fuck a girl. And she wasn’t a blond either. What a story did I have to tell the boys.

I got up and got dressed, ignoring the pain in my hangover. As I left I gamed my hands into the pockets of my jeans. I felt something cool and oddly shaped, when I pulled it out I saw it was a dog tag.

‘Constantien, Mark Andrew’.

First off, this is dated to world war two. Second, that’s the name of Kat’s dad, and I know this is his old dog tag because it has the notch on the side of it. And third, and the most important, Why the hell do I have it?

Maybe, we …..

“No,” I said out loud, “Couldn’t happen in a million years.”

I shoved the necklace back in my pocket and continued down to the Curtis house. I’d give it back to her.

Kat’s pov.

It was still early when I got in so I stayed quite. Stacey and Marry Sue did laundry last night so I had clean cloths in the living room. I grabbed some and took a cold shower.

I don’t take them for that purpose if that’s what your thinking. I take them because it helps me think after something big happened.that I need to get straight.

I still felt his touch lingering on my skin as the cool water cascaded over me. I was still longing for him to be holding me now. Damn it, Two-bit! What the hell did you do to me!?

After I finished that shower I came to the realization of a couple of things:

1.) I just violated my greaser girl code of ‘never steal another girl’s man’.

2.) Even though both me and two-bit feel the same, we can never be together.

3.) I will eventually go through a mental meltdown after a while of Two-bit being in ‘love’ with his slutty blonds.

4.) Even though I had just committed one of the worst of the seven deadly sins, in my opinion, I cannot ask for God to forgive me for sleeping with Two-bit before we’re married.

and finally 5.) My life position has not improved one inch.

I got out and got dressed. I wasn’t really hungry so I just brought my cloths up to my room. I had good timing too. Just as I closed my door, the front door was slammed open and my name was being called. So I called I was upstairs back.

Within thirty seconds Steve did the same treatment to my door as he did the front. He was panting and out of breath.

“Come on.” He said grabbing my wrist and dragging me down stairs.

“Steve, slow down!” I told him and he did.

The gang knew that stairs hated me. So, he let me come down at my own pace. Once both my feet were on the floor of the hallway between the bathroom and the hall closet, he grabbed my wrist again and pulled me out of the house.

I called to my brothers that Steve was kidnapping me and I might be back for dinner.

“Can you at least tell me where we’re going and why?” I asked as my house was going out of my view.

“The Curtis house.” He said factivley, “Two-bit’s got some big news about the party last night, but he wont tell anything until your there.”

“Oh.” I said obliviously, “Race ya’!” I said and took off in the direction of the Curtis house.

Steve chased after me laughing like an idiot. So was I. We made it there in record time.

I came bursting through the door and Steve picked me up from behind and threw me on the couch and Soda. Then he himself took a seat in between us.

“I got her.” Steve told Two-bit, “Now talk.”

“Yeah, yeah, yeah.” Two-bit said digging in his pocket for something.

“Kat, this is your’s. Don’t ask me why I have it.” Two-bit told me as he tossed me something.

I caught it and when I looked at it. My jaw almost dropped. How did he……. oh. He just tossed me my daddy’s dog tag from way back when. I just realized it was missing. I remembered he took it off and stuck it in his back pocket last night.

“Oh yeah,” I said sounding like usual, “Thanks.”

“Why did I have it anyway?” He asked me confused.

“We met up at the party last night, after I finished some shots. We were messing around like always, and I guess you took it. Thank’s for hanging onto it.” I told him, “Now, what was it that made Steve here come bursting in my house and drag me over here for?”

We all looked at him intently.

“Last night at the party, I guess I met up with this really hot girl.” He started.

“Shocker.” I interrupted.

“I banged her, and guys won’t guess this.” Two-bit exclaimed.

“She was actually a he!” I exclaimed and laughed. So did the rest of the room.

Two-bit shook his head, “No! Or at least I hope not. Anyway, she had black hair.”

We all stopped. Two-bit NEVER went for a girl who wasn’t a blond. Ever. And now he banged a girl with black hair at one of Buck’s parties. Even when he was completely wasted he could tell the difference. At the same time I couldn’t complain about last night.

“Your kidding.” Pony started, coming out of this shock faster than anyone.

“Kat’s right.” Soda started, “It must have been a dude.”

We all laughed again.

“Guys this is serious!” Two-bit yelled, “I actually think I might be in love.”

The guys stopped completely. I stopped and stared at him for a second, realizing he was serious and burst out laughing again.

“Two-bit that’s rich.” I managed to croak after I calmed down.

“Kat it aint funny.” Steve hissed.

“How?” i asked finding this more and more amusing by the second.

“When a guy says he loves a girl, he means it.” Soda told me.

I nodded and then asked, “Then how come some of the players out there will tell a girl he loves them, take what they want from their body, and then dump their asses?”

“Let’s see if I can refraise my brother’s wording.” Darry said picking his words carefully/

“It’s true when a guy tell’s a girl he loves her, in our neighbourhood anyway, their just trying to get her to sleep with him. However there are just a few exceptions to that. But when a guy tells his friends that he loves or is in love with a girl. He means it. Kat, it’s extremely rare that a guy will tell his friends he’s in love and then not mean it.” Darry explained.

Whistled and got up.

“Sorry ’bout that man.” I told him lightly punching his arm and going into the kitchen.

“No problem, Kat.” He said, “After all what you went through, I doubt you’d believe me anyway.”

I shivered as I reached in the fridge remembering. My first boyfriend was Tim Shepard. imagine how that when. It was during the time that Soda was dating Sandy. I tried to tell him that she was cheating on him, but he wouldn’t believe me. We got in this big fight over him trusting a girl over me. In my after best friend break up fury I got together with Tim. He was actually a pretty decent boyfriend. He knew how I felt about physical stuff and all that so he took it slow.

I broke it off about two weeks after me and Soda made up, unfortunately him and Sandy were still together much to my demise, because he cheated on me with Sylvia when Dally was in the cooler.

Needless to say it was one more reason why I kept getting turned off with guys. I just didn’t trust ’em anymore.

“So besides black hair, what else do you know ’bout her?” I called back to the living room as I pulled out a beer.

Two-bit thought for a second before he said, “Not much to be honest.”

I scoffed and rolled my eyes as I opened the beer with my teeth. I know I shouldn’t but I couldn’t help it.

“Oh there is one this.” Two-bit exclaimed like he just got a light bulb over his head.

“Don’t leave us in suspense.” Soda encouraged.

“Well, I know she has black hair. A lot of it.” He started, “But last night, I-she had a scar.”

I narrowed my eyes a little. Did he remember it was me? Or was he just remembering in general? Either way I didn’t like where this was going.

“Where?” Steve asked.

“I don’t know.” Two-bit admitted, “But I know she loved it when I rolled my tongue over it.”

The guys let out cat calls about it. I shivered remembering the feeling on my collar-bone where I took the bullet for Dally a few years ago. I did love the way he did that.

“Kat, you okay?” Pony asked noticing my shiver.

“Yeah, no worries.” I told him and plopped back on the couch.

“So what are we gonna do now?” Two-bit asked.

“Me and Johnny were going to a movie.” Pony said as Johnny got up and they both left.

“I have some errands to run.” Darry said leaving aswell.

“I’ll probably go ’round town, try and find some trouble.” Dally said and left lightly a cancer stick.

“What about us?” Soda asked.

Steve and Two-bit shrugged.

“How ’bout we go into town and do what we usually do?” I suggested.

“What’s that?” Soda asked oblivious.

I shrugged and replied, “Whatever the hell we feel like Pepsi-pop.” I told him and stood up.

They did they same and we were out running through the streets of Tulsa like the wild teen greasers we are. I only wished things could a staid this way.

Leave a Reply

