TomKat Johnes(A the Outsiders Love Story Chapter 9)

Two-bit’s pov.

Me and Steve were wrestling around on the Curtis floor. Kat her date with mister perfect. I was trying to keep my mind off it. Evie came over and said that she asked for fashion advise to impress him. How come she never dressed up for us?

I tried not to think about it. I think I fully forgot about it until the door opened and in walked Kat and some guy I’ve never seen before.

She smiled as we all straightened out.

“Guys, I’d like you to meet, Keith.” She said motioning to the man behind her.

“Hello.” he said politely.

We all sorta groaned silently and nodded.

“Keith, this is Darrel Curtis, we call him Darry. Dallas Winston, who we call Dally. Ponyboy Curtis who’s Darry’s youngest brother. Johnny Cade. That’s Evie Dalton, Steve’s girlfriend, beside her is Christine Matthews. And the other three are my best friends Sodapop Curtis, Pony’s and Darry’s middle brother, Steve Randle, and Two-bit Matthews. He’s Christine’s older brother.” She said smiling happily.

I hadn’t seen that smile on her face for a long time. Not since her folk died.

“It’s very nice to meet all of you.” he said.

“Likewise.” I mumbled.

Darry got up and shook his hand, Soda followed suit.

Evie and Christine rushed up to Kat and whispered something in her ears giggling. She just sighed and rolled her eyes.

Steve finally sat Keith down on the couch and began something we all agreed on.

“So, Keith. That your real name?”

“Of course.” He said in disbelief.

“What the hell are you guys doing?” Kat asked a little antsy.

“What you do okay our girlfriends, but different.” Soda tried to explain.

“Don’t worry, Kat.” He told her smiling lightly, “I understand how your friends will be protective of you. I don’t mind.”

“Thank you.” She said almost shyly.

What was up with her?

“So what do you do for a living?” Soda asked.

“As of right now I’m working as Kat’s brother’s secretary. I’m trying to gain experience to become a judge after I’m about thirty-five or so. You need a lot of experience to become one, and you always start at the bottom.” He explained.

“Ever been arrested?”

“No.”

“Ever done drugs?”

“I tried some marijuana in high school but I never liked the stuff.” He said.

“alcohol?”

“I enjoy a beer or two every now and again, but I prefer not to get drunk.”

“How much money you make?”

“About thirty-five hundred a month.”

We all whistled.

“Ever paied for sex?” Dally asked.

Keith looked a little shocked at first, but he answered.

“I never found anything like that a necessity in life, no, I have not.” He said.

“Guy’s let’s just cut straight to the chase.” I said joining the conversation for the first time, and standing up, “Keith, we wanna know what you have in mind bein’ with, Kat.”

“I’m not sure what you mean.” He said.

“You wanna bang her, you wanna f*ck her, you wanna get her high, you wanna use her, you wanna one day get married to her, buy a house somewhere, and have a yard full a little kids runnin’ ’round? What do you want to do with her?” I asked again.

“He what your intentions are.” Darry corrected me.

“As of right now I would like to continue dating, TomKat. I would enjoy to take her to restaurants, and for her to trust me. Perhaps one day after we’ve been dating for a while I’ll scrape up enough nerve and ask for her hand, and on our honeymoon night I’ll bag her brains out. But until then, I’m more than content with holding her hand on a walk.” He explained.

We all looked at him wondering if he was serious. Had he seen Kat before? Why wait until you get married? I’d bang her ’til the sun cam up everyday if we were together.

And the way she was looking right now, tighter jeans, leather jacket, and a wife beater that made her small boobs look bigger and hugged her curves. If she wasn’t in the room, along with my little sister, I’d kill him and get with her.

Then again she doesn’t like me as anything other than a friend. Sides, she’s too good for me anyways. She could have any guy she wanted, and knew it. And right now she wanted Keith. I just wish that Keith was me.

Kat’s pov.

It didn’t look like they were getting along very well. I figured to end it here before someone got killed. Sides, I didn’t want Christine to see it. I didn’t want her to see or go thought anything like I have.

“Well, I promised you guy’s I’d bring him home to meet you. Promise kept. And you know what, I promised my brother’s I’d be home by ten. And if we don’t leave now, I’m gonna break that.” I told them trying to keep everything calm.

“Don’t want to make your brother’s mad.” Keith said getting up, “I’ll take you home.”

“Okay.” I said.

“I was gonna head to Buck’s anyway, I’ll walk with you guys.” Dally said.

“We drove.” Keith said.

Red flag. All the guys looked at me like I was crazy. I shot them a look that said ‘shut up, I can take care of it’. They still didn’t lay off.

“I’ll see you guys tomorrow.” I said pulling Keith out of the house.

We walked down the steps. All the way I felt the prying eyes of everyone inside. We got to his car, Keith opened my door for me and helped me in, like at dinner.

He closed it and we drove to my place. I really had fun.

Two-bit’s pov.

He helped Kat into his car. He was a real gentleman. Maybe that’s why she likes him so much? How the hell should I know?

“I don’t like him?” Pony said out loud.

“We agree on somethin’ there kid.” Steve hissed. Not directed at Pony, but at the black corvet driving away with our kitten riding shot-gun.

“You guys have to be crazy, he’s perfect!” Evie exclaimed.

“So break him up with Kat, and you go out with him.” Steve snarled at her.

She was taken back, he never did that to her.

“I mean he seems like he’s just what Kat needs. I have all I could possibly want right here.” She said cutely and hugged Steve’s waist.

He smiled almost smugly and hugged her back.

“I agree with Evie.” Christine said, “He seems like a nice guy, and after hanging out with you guys for her entire life, and halving nothing but her brothers, and dating Tim Shepard. I think he might be a good change of pace for her. You know she likes to mix things up a lot.”

I can’t believe my own little sister liked that, that, that thing!

“Don’t you think he’s a little too old for you, Krissy?” Soda asked smiling at her.

She shook her head, “I think like, Kat does. Age is just a number given by society so they can have power over people who aren’t ‘old enough’.”

“That’s it, cut back on the Kat intake will ya.” I said messing up her hair, “I’m startin’ to see more a her in you everyday.”

“What don’t you guys like about him?” Evie asked.

“He’s too good to be true.” Soda said.

“Look who’s talking.” Christine and Evie said together.

“What’s that supposed to mean?” Soda asked.

“You tell him, I can’t.” Evie said.

“You got a million girls at the DX station coming just to see you. Soda, I’ve talked to about fifty different girls. All of which say that you’re handsomer than a movie star, and you belong only in their dreams, but you’re better than a dream come true. They’re words not mine.” She said.

“Better not be.” I told her, “I miss then day’s when you thought boy’s were icky.”

“Some are.” She said, “Other’s aren’t.”

I laughed sarcastically at that. She was just like Kat, and she took after me.

“Too good to be true meaning what?” Christine asked.

“He’s too polite.” Steve said.

“Too put together.” Dally said.

“Too calm.” Pony said.

“Too clean.” Soda said.

“Too not right for, Kat.” I finished.

“Maybe she’ll realize it after one night and dump him.” Steve said.

“Are they even dating?” Soda asked.

“Oh, I hope not.” I said out loud.

“Why?” Evie asked.

“I got this feelin’ in the pit a my stomach, he ain’t gonna do nothin’ but hurt her.” I said looking out the window, the way the car drove off.

“Don’t try and be that distant-cool, knowing what’s going to happen like those bad boys in the movies.” Christine said killing the mood.

Kat’s pov.

“I had a really nice time.” I said as we pulled into my drive way.

“So did I.” He said, “But your friends didn’t seem to fond of me.”

I shook my head, “They just don’t like any guy I bring home for them to meet at first. When I met Dally, it took them almost two weeks before they warmed up to him enough without me there. Give ’em time.” I told him.

“I’d like to go out with you again.” He said.

“So would I.” I said.

“Next weekend, Saturday, the movies, say eight o’clock?” He said.

“Umm, I’m working this Saturday until ten.” I told him.

“How about Friday?” He asked.

I shook my head, “I got the grave yard shift then. It’s actually fun.”

He nodded.

“But I don’t work at all tomorrow.” I told him hopefully.

“How about lunch?” He asked.

I nodded.

“One o’clock.” he said, “Franken’s Deli?”

I nodded, “I love they’re clubs.”

“You’ll have to show me.” He said.

“Good night.” I said getting out of the car.

He stopped me and pulled me gently over to kiss me goodnight, but I turned my head so he kissed my cheek.

“Good night.” He said slightly disappointed.

“Don’t take it personal.”I told him, “I never kiss on the first date.”

He nodded and smiled. I smiled back and got out.

I had the biggest grin on my face as I walked in. I had a feeling this was going to be good.

Leave a Reply

