TomKat Johnes(A The Outsiders Love Story Chapter 11)

I showered quickly and put on some clean jeans and a nice t-shirt. I was just finishing up brushing my hair as Buddy called up the stairs.

“Hey Kat! If you’re up there I want you down here now!” 

I smiled and started down the stairs. There they were, just standing there.

Junior, Maddog, Pepperonii, Jaguire, Tracey, Jane, Ellie, Max, Alex, Matthew, Kristal, and Buddy. Next to Buddy was Keith. He was standing there looking very handsome. He smiled at me, I smiled back.

“Kieth, I think you may already know my little sister, Tomkat.” Buddy said as he gently guided me by my shoulder to Keith.

“Hey.” i said.

“You look nice, Kat.” he said respectfully.

I felt eyes start to pry into me. I turned around slightly. All my brothers were practically glaring at my back wondering the same thing.

I rolled my eyes and said, “He asked me out day he came to town and needed and oil change. And before you guys say anything, you all know about my feelings on relationships and age.”

Maddog crossed his arms and said in the same manor, “Don’t you mean everything and age?”

I laughed.

“So what?”

Buddy looked lost for words at this, he started wagging his finger at us slightly.

“You’re a good secretary, Keith.” He said running a hand through his hair, “But if you hurt my baby sister you’re dead, gone, and fired faster than you can say ‘I’m packing my desk’.”

The rest of them nodded at that.

“You have my word,” Keith said, “Besides, I’ve heard a thing or two of what the in famous TomKat Johnes has done to men who’ve hurt, abused, or threatened her or one of her friends.”

The rest of the evening went well. Keith said he’s pick me up for lunch tomorrow.

I slept soundly that night. I didn’t know why but I did. And when I walked in the Curtis house the next day, I knew something was up.

“Who died?” I asked.

They all pointed to Two-bit and Christine.

I stared at them. Two-bit had a hard pained expression on his face. Christine looked like she’d been cryin’. Now I was concerned.

“What happened?” I demanded.

Christine then burst out crying onto her brother. Two-bit comforted her. He looked me dead in the eye and said seriously.

“Our dad came back, trying to split us up saying mom ain’t good enough to finish raisin’ Christine. Said he’d get the best lawyer and testify. Worst part, we both saw him beatin’ ’round mom when we came home last night. And knowin’ that, I don’t want to think about what he’d do with her.” He held his sister closer.

I rushed to the phone and dialed my number.

“Hello?” Tracey asked rushed.

“Buddy still there?” i asked.

“Buddy!” She yelled.

“Hello?” 

“I need a favor.” I told him.

“I’m listening.”

I explained to him the position we were in and why I needed his help. I needed him to direct Two-bit and Christine’s dad to the worst lawyer they had, and I needed him to be the lawyer for us. 

“Say no more.” He told me after I told him.

“You don’t need a detailed explanation?” i asked in disbelief.

“Nope. I’ve learned over the years, Kat, you’re friends are top priority, along with God, and family. I know how close you and Two-bit are, and that Christine is like the little sister both you and Evie never had. You know I’ll help in anyway I can when it comes to stuff like this.”

“Thanks.”

“Tell them to hang in there.”

“I will. Have a good day.”

“You too.”

I hung up. I turned around to them.

“Chin up, honey.” I told Christine lifting her head and whipping the tears.

“Buddy’s gonna help with this. He’s gonna be your lawyer, not a chance in hell am I gonna loose you.”

“Kat.” She cried and wrapped her arms around my waist.

“Don’t worry, honey. I promised you ain’t gonna go through nothin’ I did. You ain’t gonna loose your mama, don’t worry.”

“I owe ya’ Kat.” Two-bit said.

“Ain’t just your little sister you’d be loosin’ if she left.” I told him, “Right Eves?”

“Damn straight.” She said.

“What would I do without you guys?” Christine asked pulling away and whipping her tears.

“Ain’t just you who’s gotta yourself that.” I told her.

She smiled, I smiled back. She ain’t going no where. May God be my witness, so long as I have a breath in my body I will protect her from everything that will hurt her.

Leave a Reply

