TomKat Johnes (A The Outsiders Love Story Chapter 13)

I sat on the curb behind the ice cream parlor. I was smoking a cigaret. Waiting for them to show up.

I checked my watch. 11:58.

I blew my smoke in to the air and watched as it was carried away by the slight autumn breeze.

“Um, excuse me.”

I turned my head to the other direction. A blond stood there. She was the one form the other day. Her eyes were green-ish brown. She was pretty.

“Hi.” I said and stood up after crushing my butt on the cement.

“You’re . . .

“Lilly.” She said quickly.

“Nice to meet you.” I said.

 

“Nice to meet both of you, I’m Annabelle. But please don’t call me that.”

Another girl said walking towards us. She had light brown hair and almost golden eyes.

“Nice to meet you too.” I said, “Glad you took my invitation.”

She nodded.

“You called?” Another asked.

She looked a little older. Her hair was up in a bun and she wore a dress covered in a cardigan. Almost black hair, blue-grey eyes that were darker in colour but sparkled with the light. She had to be the prettiest so far.

“Yeah.” I said, “Problem?”

I never said that with any indication of anything other than curiosity and politeness, but all of them backed away slightly.

“No, it’s just,” She stammered slightly, “I pictured you, taller.”

She was a little jumpy like I’d kill her in a second.

“Yeah.” I said casually stretching, “But I don’t mind it, I can get away with stuff thanks to it.” I grinned.

So did she. I think that made them all warm up a little.

“I’m Amilia.” She said.

“Lilly.”

“Annabelle, but please don’t call me that.”

“TomKat, sure as you already know.”

“I figured.” I new voice said.

“I’m Sally.”

Bottle blond, grey eyes, tall, curvy, her hair curled framing her face perfectly. She wore a green skirt, and a white blouse and cardigan. She was pretty, but nowhere near as good looking as Amilia.

“It’s nice to meet you all face to face.” I said.

“Umm,” Amilia started, “So, why did you call us all here?”

I looked at them and asked, “What was the first question I asked other for you guys?”

They thought and then they all shrugged.

“Who here is dating a man named Keith Hallaway?” I asked.

“I am.” All five of them said at once and then their jaws dropped.

I nodded pressing my lips together.

“So am I.” I told them.

They were completely shocked.

“I called you all here to show you he ain’t no good.” I told them, “I found out he was a cheater when I went over to his house Wednesday. I saw him and Lilly kissing in his drive way. I found your numbers in his address book. I figured you all deserved a hell of a lot better then that.”

They were all speechless. We all just sorta stood there for a little while, shifting nervously, sizing each other up, wondering what ‘Mr. Perfect’ could possibly see in the others.

“What do we do?” Annabelle asked.

“Fist thing’s first, what are we to call you?” I asked causing the others to giggle.

She thought for a second, “Tootsie, if it’s okay. I really love their candy.” She said.

“Okay, Tootsie.” I said putting my hands on my hips, “I’ll tell ya’ what we’re gonna do, we’re gonna snake that weasel out.”

“How are we gonna do that?” Lilly asked.

I smirked and began to explain to them my master plan.

—Later That Night—

I walked into Buck’s with Keith.

“I don’t know Kat.” He said as I pulled him up the steps.

“Oh, come on Keith.” I said, “Let loose a little, I told Buddy where we’d be. He said it’s okay if you came in late tomorrow.”

He sighed and let me pull him into the house full of smoke and bad music.

I pulled him towards the bar.

We got drinks and talked a little.

I glanced around. The girls were all in positions. I was proud of them, they were all so brave to come in here by themselves.

“I’ll be right back!” I yelled over the music.

He nodded and I headed towards the bathrooms. Amilia took a deep breath and walked over to him. She flirted a little. I could tell he was thrown off a little running into her here.

I made sure I could see him, but he couldn’t see me.

Amilia left, Lilly came in. He was even more thrown. But he didn’t object when she pulled him to the dance floor. This was all going according to plan. Sally walked up behind him and tapped his shoulder. I have a full view of his expression, and it was priceless. He was so shocked, I had to bite my tongue to stop myself from laughing.

It was even better when Sally wrapped him in a hug. She said she’d be right back and turned around. She winked at me.

Keith then turned around and tried to explain himself to Lilly. He then left to get a drink.

Amilia walked up to him and they continued to chat a little. Then she managed to pull him to the middle of the dance floor. All of us closed in around him. I pulled the power cord on the Juke box. Everything stopped.

“Hi.” We all said together.

Amilia stepped back a little.

Keith kept turning around completely shocked. His mouth kept opening and closing his mouth trying to explain. He turned to me grabbed my shoulders and was practically begging,

“They meant nothing to me.”

I pushed him off and back. Everyone was staring.

“Yeah right.” I took a step closer and he stepped back.

“Keith this is what happens when you mess with a greaser girl.” I told him glaring holes into him, “I have a code, and it includes a sister hood. I don’t care what you have to say, you can’t make up for this.”

I let the most evil smirk spread across my face, I only saved this for rumbles or a good fight when I was into it.

“Asshole!” Amilia Screamed.

“Cheating bastard!” Lilly yelled.

“Playing dick!” Tootsie hissed.

“And to think I actually-uhg!” Sally exclaimed.

“Face it, Keith.” I told him, “Your little game with us is over. And guess what, we win.”

I lunged forward and punched him right in the face sending him down to the floor.

“Bastard can’t even take a punch! What the hell did I see in you?!” I spat down at him.

“I told my brothers.” I said, His head shot up, his eyes showed fear, “Don’t worry, you’re gonna live. Bastard don’t deserve the easy way out anyway. But Buddy said don’t bother coming to work, tomorrow, or Monday. Or ever again for that matter. He said you’re fired.”

He looked down.

“I’m sorry.” He almost whispered.

“If you were sorry you wouldn’t have done it.” Sally hissed.

We nodded.

“Why don’t you get out of here before I decide you hurt them enough and I kick your ass.” He got up and headed to the door head down.

“Oh, and Keith!” I called he stopped and looked over his shoulder at me, “I see your ugly mug again and I’m killing you, I don’t care.”

He nodded and left.

I smiled, so did the others. I put my fist up in victory, so did they. Then we hugged each other.

“Thank you so much Kat.” Amilia said as we where outside. We couldn’t stand the music so we went out and stood by their cars for a little while to talk.

I shook my head, “I really gotta thank my friend, Two-bit. He wasn’t talking like he was that day I never would a left and saw him and Lilly.”

“I’d really like to meet your friends and brothers.” Amilia said.

The rest nodded in agreement.

“Ummm,” I thought for a minute, “I think you can tomorrow.” I said

“Darry’s only working a half day, Soda and Steve got the day off. It’ll be Sunday.” I thought out loud, “Me and brothers’ll be at church in the morning, but after about 11 I’ll be home and so will they.”

“Okay.” They said together.

We talked some more. I got to know them well. They got to know me, I told them a lot about my friends, and my brothers. Also about my parents dying, and out Catholicism.

They found it interesting. I promised them tomorrow they’d meet my family and friends. And I always keep a promise.

Leave a Reply

