TomKat Johnes(A The Outsiders Love Story Chapter 12)

Keith and I had been going strong for about three months now. My brothers approve of him, which I find weird because they aren’t supposed to, I’m supposed to bring home guys they don’t want in the same room as me. The guys still didn’t like him. I knew they weren’t happy when he popped into my sweet sixteen back in July.

Sweet sixteen was supposed to be friends, family, cake, Mickey Mouse, and beer. According to the guys. I knew that. But Keith surprised me by coming by with flowers. How could I say no?

School started up again. I was a softmore.

Right now I was sitting in the Curtis house trying to help Christine and Pony study for different tests Friday. But Two-bit had to pick this time to have a man period about Keith.

“He’s no good, Kat.” He said for the millionth time, “I swear he ain’t gonna do nothin’ but break your heart.”

“Hey, Two-bit have you ever thought that maybe I ain’t ever gonna give Keith nothin’?” I asked not turning away from Christine’s history text.

“What?” Everyone said.

“He ain’t gonna break my heart, stop worrying.” I told them.

“How do you know?” Steve asked.

“I ain’t gonna give him my heart to break, that’s why.” I told them.

“Really?” Christine asked.

I looked up at her, “Krissy, that is the secret to not getting your heart-broken. You don’t give the guy you’re heart, then he wont have anything to break.”

She looked slightly shocked but she nodded understanding, “I swear, I’m coming to you for dating advise from now on.”

“You need dating advise?” Two-bit almost screamed.

Christine shifted slightly, “I may have asked mom and Evie to help figure out if a guy likes a girl, and they may have given me a bunch of advise on what to and not to do when dating someone. And I may or may not have taken in all of what they said.”

“What did they say?” Pony asked, who was sitting next to her.

“Like I need to put brightly coloured ribbons in my hair, wear make up, Evie suggested I learn how to perfect a tongue technic, I don’t know for what.” She said.

Pony got red, so did Johnny. The rest of the guys burst out laughing. I rolled my eyes and said,

“Remind me to have a little talk with Evie next time I see her.” I said.

“Why do I need a tongue technic?” She asked.

“You don’t.” I told her patting her shoulder, “Trust me, ignore that one and focus on the French revolution.”

She nodded meekly and turned back to her notes.

“I still don’t like him!” Two-bit hissed.

“Oh shut up!” I said and left ripping my jean jacket off the back of the couch and stomping down the street.

Keith was off today. I knew he’d be home, so I figured I’d pay him a visit. Maybe talk.

He lived in the middle class area of town. It was a long walk, but I never minded stuff like this. I calmed down and started to enjoy the scenery. This neighbourhood was a lot nicer then ours, but not as nice as some of the houses that we’ve TP’d before in the Soc neighbourhood.

I stopped behind a tree when I saw his drive way. He was there. So was a girl.

We walked her to this nice looking corvet. She seemed real friendly, then it hit me like a tone of bricks. She leaned up and kissed his lips. He held her there.

I wasn’t effected by this in any way. It stung a little to know I was being cheated, but then rage replaced it. No one, two-times TomKat Johnes and gets away with it.

She had curly blond hair that stopped about her shoulder blades. She was tall, curvy, wore high heels, a decent length skirt and matching blouse-cardigen thing. She must have been middle class. She didn’t look rich enough to be a Soc.

I heard her giggle, then she got into her car, kissed him again and drove off.

I waited a few minutes before I walked up to his door.

I knocked and he answered.

“Hi, Kat. What are you doing here?” He asked slightly thrown.

I shrugged acting sad, “My friends kept puttin’ me down ’bout datin’ you. I couldn’t take it no more so I decided to come over here and spend some time with someone who actually cares.”

“My door’s always open to you.” He said moving out of the way and letting me in.

“Thanks Keith, I knew I could count on you.” I brought him down to kiss him.

I had to force myself, I didn’t want to kiss him knowing that he made out with another girl.

“May I take your coat?” He asked.

I took it off and gave it to him. He hung it up on a coat rake and lead me into the living room.

“Nice place.” I said looking around and sitting on the couch.

“Thank you.” He said and sat down next to me putting his arm on the back of the couch.

I sighed.

“What’s wrong?” he asked.

“I just.” I started, “I feel like I’ve been cheated. I’ve known them almost as long as I’ve been alive. I figured they’d know by now I can take care of myself. I just feel so bad when I know they don’t feel they can trust me. It’s just. . . . . frustrating.”

“They’re stupid young men, Kat.” He said bringing me closer, “It’s in their nature to be protective of the people they hold dear. Especially women they’ve known. I’m not trying to suggest anything here, but, Kat this mostly only happens when they think of something as their’s.”

“I know.” I told him leaning on him more, “It’s just hard to grasp, knowing then for this long. And growin’ up with them, and they ain’t ever had a problem with they guys I dated before.”

“Perhaps it’s just the fact they don’t like the idea of you dating someone they aren’t accustomed to yet.” he said picking his word carefully.

“Maybe.” I squeaked.

The phone rang, he kissed the corner of my mouth and stood up.

“Excuse me as I get that.” He said and left the room.

The second he left I went straight to the other phone, next to it was a phone/address book.

I flipped it open and looked at all the numbers of girls. There were seven. One was mine, one was his psychologist’s, one was his mother’s, and there were four others. I read each twice to make sure they were in my head.

I sat back on the couch, two second’s later he came out and sat next to me again.

“You’ll have to excuse that.” I said bringing me to him, “It was my mother, she wanted to know how I was doing.”

I nodded, and snuggled closer to him. I had a slight pain in my chest knowing he was cheating, but it was nothing I wasn’t used to.

Besides, I promised I wouldn’t fall in love. I would only ever serve a few men, my daddy, God, Jesus Christ, and my brothers if need becomes. Last time I checked, Keith wasn’t on it.

I knew what I had to do. And my only concern was about the other girls he was cheating on.

Keith’s pov.

Kat surprised me by coming over unannounced like that. I was glad Lilly left when she did.

I wasn’t afraid of what she’d do to me. But I was terrified about Kat.

We went out one night, some Socs were bugging us. She snapped and beat all four of them up. Then she acted like nothing ever happened.

She came in and we talked a little, then the phone rang. I left her to answer it,

“Hi honey!” It was Amilia.

“Hi sweetheart.” I told her, “What is it?”

“I was just calling to double check if we were on for that movie Friday night?” She asked giggling.

I chuckled lightly, “Of course, I’ll pick you up about seven.”

“I’ll be ready.” He giggled again, “You aren’t gonna bail on me again are you?” She pouted.

“Of course not.” I told her sincerely, “I had a client the last few times, this time, I’m all yours.”

“Promise?” She asked using a begging voice I could never say no to.

“I promise.” I told her.

“Kay! Bye bye.” She giggled again.

“I’ll talk to you later.” I said and waited for her to hang up.

When she did I put my receiver down and went back into the living room.

Kat was still siting there looking sad.

I said next to her and told her it was my mother. I knew she believed me.

She stayed and talked a little more before she had to leave. I offered to drive her home, but declined. She said needed the exercise as it was.

I let her go. I was just thinking one thing, her ass did look mighty fine in those jeans of her’s.

TomKat’s pov.

I smoked a cigaret as I walked back home. He was a sleaze ball. He wasn’t just two-timing, but five-timing!

I slammed the door shut as I came in the house. All the heads turned to me.

“What’s wrong?” Peperonnii asked.

I was cursing under my breath so the kids wouldn’t hear. My brothers knew by my face not ask any more, but they still did.

“TomKat.” Junior barked and motioned for me to come over.

I stood next to him and he gently pulled me into his lap, almost like a father would his daughter.

“What’s wrong?” He asked.

“Don’t you guys worry about it.” I told them, “I’m gonna fix this for myself. Just no one use the phone for the next little while.”

“Why?” He asked raising an eyebrow.

“Reasons.” I said.

“I have a few calls I need to make too, Kat.” Buddy said, “How long do you think you’ll be?”

“A half hour maybe, that work?” I asked.

He sighed but nodded.

I smiled got up and kissed his cheek, “You guys are the best.” I told them.

“I’ll be back down when I’m done.” I called hurrying up to my room.

“Dinner’s almost ready!” Stacey yelled after me.

“Keep some warm for me please!” I called and slammed my door behind me.

I sat on my bed and picked up the phone that was on my bedside table.

I dialed the first number, this one was someone named Annabelle.

 

When I was done I put the phone down and went back down stairs.

“Phone’s yours Buddy!” I said.

“Plate’s in the oven.” Jane told me.

“Thank you.” I said pulled it out.

I sat down and said my grace before eating.

“So what was with the phone usage?” Maddog asked clearing his plate.

“Personal stuff.” I said eating more chicken.

They rolled their eyes they knew I wasn’t gonna spill anything so they let me be.

I was just hoping all of them would come Saturday.

Leave a Reply

