TomKat Johnes(A The Outsiders Love Story Chapter 14)

I stood outside the dairy queen waiting for them. I told them to meet me here at eleven.

I looked up and down the streets waiting to see one of them. I wasn’t eager. I was worried. They were good girls, and this was fair turf.

I heard a horn honk, there they were.

“Hey Kat.” Amilia said as she pulled up.

“Hey.” I said and stomped out the cigaret I was smoking, “You girls ready?”

“Why wouldn’t we be?” Tootsie giggled.

“I hang out with some rough guys.” I told them.

It was Saturday the following week. They met my brothers already, and I met their parents. The gang were all busy when I asked, and this was the only other time that they were all available.

“I think we can handle them.” Sally smirked.

“Ever heard a Dallas Winston?” I asked.

“Who hasn’t?” Lilly said.

“He’s one of ’em.” I told them, “Good buddy to have.”

They looked shocked for a second but shrugged it off.

Tootsie squished over the middle of the front seat as I plopped in.

I gave Amilia the directions and we talked and laughed the entire way.

“Are you sure this is it?” Sally asked as we pulled in front of the Curtis house. I could hear the guys inside, I couldn’t tell if they were wrestling or arguing.

I nodded, “If you don’t think you can handle it you can always stay here. Fair warning, worse greasers lerk these streets day and night.”

I climbed out followed by Lilly, Amilia, Sally, and Tootsie followed.

I glided up the steps with them following me. I paused at the door and turned.

“Be warned,” I told them, “I have no idea what’s going on in there.”

They all gulped and I threw open the door.

I stepped in and looked around. Steve was wrestling with Soda, Two-bit was glued to the tv trying to see over the two, Pony was reading, Johnny was talking with Dally who was smoking a cigaret, Darry was sitting in his chair reading the paper, Evie and Christine were here and they were talking.

“All right you greasers!” I called, everything stopped and they all stared at me with intent, “I want you to meet some new friends of mine, be nice.”

I moved and they all awkwardly shuffled through the door after me.

I smiled, “These are my friends.” I told the girls, “That’s Steve, Sodapop, Ponyboy, Darrel, who we call Darry, Johnny, Two-bit, Dally, and over there and Evie, Steve’s girlfriend, and Christine, Two-bit’s little sister. Darry, Pony, and Soda are all brothers.”

“It’s nice to meet you.” Amilia squeaked. The rest nodded.

“And guys, these are,”  I pulled Sally over to me, “This one’s Sally. You better keep your perverted hands off her Two-bit.” I let her go Lilly and I embraced, “This one’s Lilly, and boy is she a catch.” Letting her go, Amilia and I hugged, “This one’s Amilia and trust me she’s way too good for any of you.” Finally Tootsie and I hugged like best friends, “This one’s Tootsie, her real name’s Annabelle but she don’t like it, so call ‘er as she likes.”

“Good to know you finally brought some more girls home.” Evie exclaimed standing up and coming over, “Hi.”

“Hi.”

“Does this mean you brought them back for the guys?” Christine asked.

I shook my head, “We have and agreement of no guys for a while.”

“Well it’s very nice to met you girls.” Darry said, “It’s rare to find a girl Kat likes enough to bring over.”

“Whaddya mean keep my hands off?” Two-bit asked standing up and towering over me.

“I mean because you’r such a blond skirt chaser, you’re gonna keep you’r chocolate cake cover, beer holding, itchy, perverted hands off her. All of ’em actually.” I told him, “That goes for you guys too. especially you Dal.”

The look I gave them they all knew.

“Nice to meet you all.” Soda said smiling happily.

Lilly smiled shyly and was about to start a conversation, but Sally butted in.

“Hi.”

“Don’t we have an agreement?” Amilia asked.

“Don’t worry.” I yelled going into the kitchen, “Soda’s safe enough. Keep away from Dally though.”

“Hey.”

I giggled lightly to myself as I pulled out a beer. I opened it with my teeth and when I walked back out to the living room they were all sitting around talking.

“So what’s up with you and ‘Mr Perfect’?” Steve asked.

I took a sip before casually saying, “Look around.”

All the guys looked at me weird, the girls shifted uneasy.

“What cha talkin’ ’bout?” Johnny asked knowing I wasn’t gonna explode on him.

“Everyone has their imperfections.” I started, “Some have ones that make relationships impossible. We broke up, and the reason why is with what I just brought in.”

Their eyes all widened. Evie and Christine’s jaws dropped.

“He wasn’t perfect by a long shot.” I said pressing the bottle to my lips again.

“I’m gonna kill him!” Dally barked heading to the door, Steve, Soda, and Two-bit following.

“Too late he left town.” Amilia said softly.

They froze.

“We all broke up with him last week. I kept it quiet ’cause I knew what you guys would do.” I told them.

“He wasn’t good for you to begin with.” Pony said.

I nodded, “Nice change a pass though.” I told him.

They sat down again.

“So you girls are all friends now?” Soda asked looking around.

We nodded.

“We found a lot of common interest in a lot of stuff.” Tootsie said.

“But you ain’t got no problem with us being greasers?” Two-bit asked.

They shook their heads.

“You’re nice enough so far.” Tootsie said.

“Yeah, I know I don’t know how many guys that are complete asses, and they’re supposed to be the good ones.” Lilly said.

“Soc.” Dally said.

“Me and Amilia anyways.” Lilly said almost ashamed as she looked down at the floor.

“The rest of us are middle class.” Sally said.

Soda, Steve, Two-bit, and Pony rushed to the door.

“I don’t see it, do you guys?” Pony asked.

“Nope, nothing yet.” Soda said.

“Maybe it’s a joke.” Two-bit said rather seriously.

“Or maybe it’s cookin’ up and is gonna be extreme.” Steve pondered.

“What the hell are you guys doing?” I asked, “And more importantly, why has Ponyboy replaced me in this?”

“Never.” Steve, Soda, and Two-bit said looking back answering my questions in reverse.

“What are you doing?” I asked rolling my eyes.

“Waitin’ on the apocalypse.” Pony said staring out the door.

“Why?” I think we all asked.

“Since when do you bring Socs home?” Steve asked.

I raised an eyebrow, “Since I found some that ain’t like the rest, one’s that are just like us.”

Soda slammed the door.

“Ain’t no difference between us boys.” I said, “Only thing is up bringin’. They got what they wanted, we gotta work for it. All it is.”

The sat back down, and we all talked more. I figured something out during this time. And I know exactly what to do.

Leave a Reply

