Is She Really What They Say?( A Taps Story)

Summer session was in full swing. We were training almost all day. The odd time there’d be a night training session.

As of right now we had a few days free of training.

Me and the guys had plans to go around town and hang out. I was working in the kitchen for the morning, I always did as request of the general. He said he never minded having anyone as strong and determined as I, but he did suggest I pick up a few ‘woman skills’, as he calls them, when I can.

The kitchen staff was actually quite nice and excepting of me from the beginning. I had fun, and they’d let me make dinner for everyone some nights.

No one other than Alex knew about it though. But after a little while I told Shawn too. I had him promise not to tell anyone. Someone found out it’s just one more reason why I shouldn’t be here. One more thing for them to comment on about me being girl. I hated it with a passion, but Shawn actually liked me more for it.

He really is a strange one that boy. Then again I am too. I guess we make a pretty good pair together.

I told them I’d meet them at the park at ten hundred hours.

I was running a little late. I spilt some batter so I had to clean it up and start again.

I was running down the street trying to make it on time. We were going to decide what to do when I got there.

I saw them sitting on one of the benches.

“Hey! Sorry I’m late!” I said as I stopped next to them and caught my breath.

“Right on time.” Brain said checking his watch.

“So what are we going to do?” J.C. asked.

We all thought for a moment.

“We could go to the arcade.” Alex suggested.

“No,” Rusty said, “Me and Shawn got into a disagreement with some of the townies that hang around there a lot. Not the best place.”

We nodded in agreement. This place belonged to the civilians, not us. We were borrowing it for a while until we were excepted into the army, navy, air force, and marines. We all knew that.

“What about the skating place?” Eddy brought up.

“I pissed off the owner a while ago.” Shawn said.

“Can’t go anywhere with you.” Alex mumbled.

Shawn did a nice thing and pretended not to hear him for my sake. I glared at Alex a little before coming up with something.

“How about the ice cream parlor?” I suggested, “We can have milkshakes and

listen to the music on the juke box.”

“That sounds good.” Brain told me.

The rest nodded in agreement.

We headed over, talking about this and that. Not holding one particular conversation very long.

We came in laughing about a joke I just told. We grabbed a both and ordered milkshakes, still talking.

“You two always get the same.” Bug stated as we started slurping on our think drinks, “Why?”

Alex and I looked at each other from across the table for a second, then shrugged.

“Great minds think a like.” We said at the same time.

“You’re both crazy is what you are.” Rusty told us.

“How you figure that?” I asked going back to my chocolate and vanilla drink.

“You’ve been taking on guys that have the potential to kill you, Christina.” J.C. started.

“And, Alex has the nerve to fight with Shawn, and he can hold it with you.” Ed told me.

I shrugged, “You should of seen some of the stuff we did before we came here.”

Alex laughed, “Good times.”

“Ain’t about to deny that, but we were trouble.” I commented.

“Chrisa, that’s an understatement and you know it.” He corrected.

“Why don’t you two ever talk about the stuff you got into before?” Brain asked.

We both awkwardly sipped our shakes not answering.

“We’re waiting.” Shawn cooed almost evilly to us, he was sitting next to me. At this moment his hand was lightly on my knee.

I stopped and looked at him, “We don’t talk about it ’cause before I didn’t know you guys well enough. And we wont know because you’d kill Alex if you knew half the stuff we did.” I then turned my attention back to my drink. It was huge and I barely made a dent in it.

“Forget half the stuff, he finds out ten things we did.” Alex told me giving me that playful look, “He’ll explode.”

I giggled and nodded in agreement with that. We did a lot of crazy things before this. Even before we were at this point right now. He found out about any of them, any of the more embarrassing, humiliating, messy things. One bad thing, Shawn’s just. . . . . . . . . . . protective and slightly possessive.

“And what were some of these things?” Rusty pressed wanting either to see Alex get killed, or Shawn’s head explode.

“Stuff.” I said.

“like?” He pressed more.

“No of your business, quite asking.” Alex snapped.

J.C. gasped and joking said, “Did you two marry when you were little?-gasp- Is that what you don’t want Shawn to know? That you two kissed and are secretly together?”

I almost chalked on my drink at that.

“What?” Me and Alex demanded at the same time.

“You heard me.” He teased.

Alex and I looked at each other for a few seconds, then, without warning, burst out laughing.

They looked at us like we were crazy.

“M-me and Alex. Y-You haha- have to be kidding!” I laughed.

“Not a chance in hell.” Alex continued.

We finally calmed down enough to talk properly.

I shook my head, “I ain’t ever been married, neither has he.”

“I don’t think I wanna for a while.” He said.

“Then what’s the stuff you don’t want me to know?” Shawn asked.

I looked at him and batted my eyes at him, “If I told you that then what would the point of keeping it from you be?”

He sighed, “Why do I try with you?” He asked himself.

” ‘Cause you love me, ‘member.” I told him.

“Right.” He said nodding and looking away.

“seriously,” Brain said more to me than Alex, “I just wanna know one thing, please.”

I hated to see a cadet beg. I glanced at Alex, his face showed he didn’t care as long as Shawn was as far away from him as possible.

I thought for a moment.

“We’ve shared the same the bed.” I said.

They all stopped, Shawn tensed up next to me.

“It’s nice when you’re seven or something, but we grew out of it after a year or so.” I told them thoughtfully, “Besides, when we had sleep overs we’d most likely be passed out on the couch watching a movie or something.”

They all looked disappointed, Shawn relaxed again when I told him about the age.

“Aww, that ain’t fun.” Eddy whined.

“He only said one.” I told them bringing the straw to my lips again.

“And you didn’t want me to know why?” Shawn asked.

I shrugged, “Figured you’d get all pissy with it again, try and take Alex out when I’m not around. Make some big deal about it, like how seven-year old’s sharing a bed translates to sex or something.”

The rest of the table laughed.

“I would not, I just want the truth.” He whispered in my ear.

I looked up at him and pressed my lips together. I leaned up and whispered in his ear,

“I’ll keep my secrets, you keep yours.”

He let out a frustrated sigh. I didn’t care. He didn’t need to know all of what we did.

“Come on Alex you next.” Rusty pressed, yet again.

“Why do you always press us about stuff?” He asked trying to change the subject, “There are plenty of brothers in the school you can press for stuff, why always us?”

“Because unlike all the brothers in this school,”He began, “The only one who’s a girl is Christina, and the only one in the school who’s close enough to her to call her brother is you. Now spill.”

“She skipped a grade and we got in detention a lot together. We beat up a bunch of kids that we didn’t like and ran around the forest near our town every summer. We’re best friends, what else is there you wanna know?” He asked annoyed.

“Wait.” J.C. said freezing to conversation, “You skipped a grade?” He asked me staring in disbelief.

I nodded,”I skipped kinder garden and went straight into first grade. I was in advanced programs because I refused to skip another grade. On the bright side, Alex and I raised all kinds of hell on the playground together.”

“So, instead of going on fifteen, you’re thirteen going on fourteen?” Brain asked.

I nodded, “Yeah, and you guys never knew the difference.”

They all turned to Shawn and said, “Pedophile.”

My jaw dropped, and he was looking for something to say. Alex was trying to burst out laughing.

“He’s a year older, that means nothing.” I told them, “A pedophile is an adult that takes an interest with children, and takes action upon it.”

“Still.” J.C. laughed.

I took the rest of my milkshake and dumped it on his head. I grabbed Shawn’s hand and stormed out of the parlor, dragging him behind me.

“Christina.” He said stopping me after we were a couple blocks away.

“What?” I asked timidly.

“That was awesome.” He said smiling, “Thanks for sticking up for me, like that.”

“Thanks for not dumping me after I told you the first time.” I said smiling.

He put his arm around my shoulders and we walked, presumably back to school.

“I love you, Christina.” He told me, “I’ll except you no matter what.”

I smiled and wrapped my arms around his waist.

“Thank you.” I said.

“Now, what’s some of this other stuff, I don’t need to know?” He asked as we walked.

I just sighed and rolled my eyes at him, he wasn’t about to drop this anytime soon.

 

Leave a Reply

