I watched him from across the class room. He wouldn’t notice me.

I kept staring at him, his brown hair, eyes to match, amazing personality. I truly think I loved him.

We were decent friends, in the same classes, talked a lot, he could always make me laugh.

There was just two things that stopped us from being together:

1.) He’d never see me as anything other than a friend.

2.) He has a girlfriend.

The bell rang and I was the last one to leave for lunch. 

“Hey, Molly.” Nick said coming up to me with his girlfriend, Alice.

I smiled at him, “Hey, Nick. What’s up?” I asked as we walked.

“You wanna eat lunch with us?” He asked me. My other friends weren’t here today, I guess he felt sorry for me.

I smiled, “Sure.”

“We’re heading to A&W.” Alice told me.

I nodded. She was a nice enough girl, but the only reasons why I didn’t like her was because she had Nick and she was loud. I don’t really like loud people.

We walked together and talked a lot about random things. Well mostly it was Nick and Alice who talked I just rolled my eyes and walked with them.

“So, we still on for tonight?” Alice asked.

“What’s tonight?” I asked confused.

Nick smiled apologetically, “Uh, couple stuff you know.”

I looked at him like I could believe him, “I thought you were going to teach me how to play ‘Call of Duty’ tonight?” I reminded him.

He smiled again, “Can we do that another time?”

I nodded. His girlfriend and guy friends always came before me. 

We ate lunch and walked back to school. I had the rest of the classes with Nick, so we walked together. 

The last two periods flew by in a matter of minutes for me. Maybe it was because I was moving so slowly.

I had a pretty good idea of what Nick and Alice were going to do tonight.

“I’m not gonna get mad,” I told Nick as we started towards our lockers, “But I wanna know why you wanna reschedule our C.O.D. night for, Alice.”

He looked around suspiciously the whispered to me, “She’s finally about to let me in her pants.”

I rolled my eyes. Of course. A horny teen aged boy. He can’t control himself can he.

I nodded, “Another time.” I told him.

“You’re the best, Moll.” He told me smiling.

I shrugged as Alice came up and gave him a hug and kiss.

“Hi.” She practically squealed.

“Hey.” He said back.

I held back rolling my eyes and tried to hold back my tears and a growl.

“Ready to go?” He asked her.

She nodded eagerly.

“Bye, Molly.” Nick said and left with Alice on his arm.

I stood there a while, not caring about anything around me.

But I was thinking, why doesn’t he see me like he sees her? I may not be the most attractive girl out there, but I think I have a pretty good personality. And that’s what matters, right? 

Why am I even wasting time on him? He’ll never see me as anything other than a friend. I think I may love him, and all I want is for him to see me as some one who can love him the best and the most out of anyone.

He should be holding me tonight. I should be in his arms. I should be letting him take away my virginity. I should be on his arm. I should be the one getting kisses from his lips. I should be the one who’s allowed to love him.

But I can’t. He’ll never look at me as anything more than a friend. 

I heard his foot steps fade into the empty hallway. And the door leading to the parking lot slam shut. As the bolt slid back into place, my heart broke completely. 

Leave a Reply

