TomKat Johnes(A The Outsiders Love Story: Chapter 21)

Kat’s pov.

I was sitting in Evie’s room with all the girls. The guys were gonna pick us up here.

“What do you think of this?” Evie asked holding out a dress

“Can we please keep in mind two things?” I begged, “I’m catholic and I have no where near as large a chest as you do.”

She sighed and put it back.

“How ’bout this?” Christine asked showing something worse, much, much worse.

I face palmed, “Krissy, I’m catholic.”

“I have a catholic school girl’s uniform in here somewhere.” Evie said absent mindedly.

“And how is it I know exactly what you do with it, even though Steve doesn’t say a word about your sex life?” I droned.

“What do you think we should do to get your guy to notice you then?” She asked.

I thought for a second, “Sexy.”

“This is sexy.” She told me.

I rolled my eyes, “Sexy as in mysterious. As in I have something he wants, but he can’t have, so he’ll have to chase me for it.”

She thought for a second, then turned back to her overflowing closet.

“What’s your most prominent body feature?” She asked.

“My stomach.” I replied shortly.

They all looked at me like I was crazy. I lifted up my shirt to show a slim, muscular, well tones, for a skinny girl, stomach.

“How to you get that?” Evie asked me.

I shrugged, “I grew up with guys what do you expect?”

“I got it!” Evie said pulling out a beautiful dress.

I whistled.

“It’s too small for me now.” She said, “This was my best dress before my boobs came in. If it fits, all eyes will be on you tonight.”

“One way to find out, right?” I said taking it from her and going into her bathroom to change. Surprisingly, it actually fit like a sexy glove.

“Does it fit?” Evie asked.

“You tell me.” I said stepping out and into the gazes of five in aw girls.

“Well?” I asked.

“Get make up on this girl now.” Evie told them.

I had on so much make up when they were done I looked like a clown.

Lilly was in: 

Amilia was in: 

Sally was in: 

Tootsie was in: 

Evie was in: 

And thankfully, Christine was in: 

We were just finishing up hair and make up when the guys came in.

“Hey, We’re here!” Steve yelled up.

“We’ll be down in ten minutes!” Evie yelled back.

“Ten minutes?” I asked her, “We’re almost ready now.”

“First rule of dating, Kat,” Sally told me, “When a guy picks you up, you need to make him wait.”

I sighed and sat on the bed, but I didn’t argue.

“You’re gonna be the last to come down, kay?” Evie said to me.

I nodded. I was starting to feel like we were in a competition to see who could show the most skin while still wearing what’s classified as clothing. And next to Christine I was losing. For once I was happy about it.

Evie’s pov.

“Okay, here we come.” I said I started to walk down the stairs to them.

I knew Steve was in love all over again. I kissed him then turned around.

“I doubt you knew your date could look so good Ponyboy.” I said to him, “Come on down Krissy!”

She descended shyly, but lost it all when pony told her she looked pretty than a sunset. The kid was so sweet.

“Lilly!”

She was redder than when we messed up with her lipstick(Which is red), but was smiling so bright looking at nothing but Soda.

“You look amazing.” He said.

“Tootsie you’re next!”

She tried to come down as fast as she could but soon realised the dress was too tight for that. When she reached Johnny, the poor kid looked like he was going to have a heart attack. But boy was it cute.

“Amilia! Dally’s waiting!” I teased.

She came down blushing but held her head high. Only to blush more when Dally whistled.

“I’m gonna assume you like it.” She said.

“Naw, I love it.” He said wrapping an arm around her waist pulling her close.

“Sally!”

She came down beaming, we all knew the hard work was worth it when Two-bit’s jaw dropped clear to the floor. But he pulled her in for a kiss non the less.

“And you won’t believe what we managed to do with Kat.” I told them.

They all looked sceptical.

“Kat! It’s your turn!” We waited a minute.

“Kat! Come on!”

“Think she’s shy about?” Tootsie asked.

Soda shook his head, “You guys saw her all while gettin’ ready, and she knows it’s just us right now.”

I heard water running as a shower. My eyes went wide.

“She is not!” I shreaked kicking off my heels running back up the steps.

She locked herself in the bathroom.

“What the hell do you think you’re doing?” I demanded.

Kat’s pov.

I heard Evie call the girls down one at a time. I knew all of them were shocked about how they looked, and how they loved them.

But I felt completely fake in it all. The girls all went out to the hall and I went into her bathroom. I pulled off the dress and started scrubbing the goop off my face. I could hear the girls being called down the hall, even some of what the guys said.

I turned on the shower and got all the bobbypins and stuff out of my hair. Then I ran it under the water.

That’s when I heard Evie shriek and run up the stairs.

“What the hell do you think you’re doing?” She demanded through the door.

I turned off the  water, pulled on my bra, grabbed a towel, and opened the door to a fuming Evie.

“I’m taking off all the fake stuff.” I told her.

“Fake?” She asked.

“I don’t like it.” I told her drying my hair, “It’s not my style. Besides, if the guy doesn’t like me for me, I’m not gonna change myself for him to like me. That’s not how I roll.”

She sighed and grabbed her blow dryer.

“At least let’s get of here sooner.” She said.

“Thanks.” I said.

“She looks the same to me.” Two-bit joked as we came down.

“Yeah, well believe it or not they actually got me in a dress, and make up, and all that shit. But I took it off.” I told them.

“Why? You looked so good.” Amilia told me.

I shrugged, “Guess I don’t like havin’ clown make up on my face.” I grinned.

They all laughed.

“But you’re gonna go the entire night with your hair down?” Pony asked.

I nodded, “Nice little change.”

We laughed again and headed out.

“Where is he?” Evie whispered to me when we got there.

“Closer than you think.” I whispered back.

“If you wore the dress, he’d be in love with you right now.” She hissed.

“If I wore the dress and he fell in love with me, he’d be in love with the dress on my body and the make up, not me.” I retorted.

She sighed and crossed her arms, but left me alone for the rest of the night.

I mostly spent it talking with some of the Shepards and Brumlys, I danced with a couple, on fast songs anyway.

I couldn’t slow dance to save my life. My brothers tried to teach me because mama had taught them and said I should have the skill to, but it never stuck. One of the few things anyway.

The wonder of you, by Elvis came on. One of my favorite songs.

“Hey, Kat?” It was Two-bit.

“Wanna dance?” He asked.

“Don’t you have Sally?” I asked though I desperately wanted to dance with him.

“She went to the bathroom with the girls and said I should probably keep you company.” He told me.

“I can’t slow dance.” I admitted.

“Neither can I.” He said taking my arm and leading onto the dance floor.

Oh how I dream of this. Him holding my waist again, pulling me close to him, my hands on his shoulders. The only thing that would make this better would be if he wasn’t with Sally. But I stayed close to him.

“Somethin’ wrong Kat?” He asked.

I shook my head.

“You’re layin’.” He said.

I shrugged, “I swear Two-bit, it’s nothin’, I just feel bad for ruinin’ their hard work is all. Don’t worry.”

“Okay.” He said, and pulled us apart and started spinning us as twist and shout by the Beatles came on.

We were laughing and giggling the entire time. This is how it should be, I thought, just him and me having fun. Like good old times.

Soon as the song ended we went back to the gang.

“Who is he, Kat?” Soda asked.

“Well you know how to beat around the bush.” Sally said, and instantly grabbed Two-bit back.

“Well, I think you know.” I told them, “That’s Two-bit.” I said pointing to him.

He laughed.

“Hahaha.” Steve said sarcastically, “The guy you gotta crush on.”

“You promised.” I hissed.

“We need to know.” Amilia said hiding behind Dally.

“Ya’ll can hide behind all ya’ll men, I can still whip ’em and they know it.” I told them.

“Who is he?” Steve said getting impatient.

“Non of your God damn business!” I yelled as someone tripped over the juke box cord so the entire restaurant heard what I said.

And I stalked out as fast as I could. I wasn’t going home though. I had to go to church, count on the rosary, and beg for forgiveness. I used His name as a curse. I should never do that.

 

Leave a Reply

