Rain in the Forest Part 10

It had been a year since Crysalys and Trevor had first met. Not a word form either of them since then.

Trevor was still bound in the dungeons picturing his future wife.

Crysalys was roaming the forests by herself, other times with Silver, Romona, and Scar. She was looking for either Trevor or Jub incase they were lost. Slowly though her trust in them was fading, she began to wonder if they even remembered her at all. And if the things they told her about wanting the same things as she did was the truth. They could have used it against her. They knew where she went to bathe often, they could use it to kill her.

At this point, she didn’t care so long as she could talk to him again.

Trevor wasn’t budging with his father either, he didn’t want the war, but he wanted to leave to see her. He couldn’t stop thinking about her, just wondering if she still thought about him.

He was deep in a daydream when his father came to the cell and cleared his throught gaining the attention of both boys.

“I have a proposition for you two.” He said.

“We do not accept.” Trevor hissed.

“You don’t even know what it is yet.” Joseph told him.

“Don’t need to know.” Trevor told him, “I know you want us to hunt her down and kill her.”

“Oh nothing like that.” He told her, “However I do want to meet her.”

“Not a chance.” Trevor hissed.

“Son, your mother is worried sick about you down here.” He told him, “Jub’s parents think he’s dead. I will allow both of you your freedom, on one condition.”

“What’s that?” He asked.

“You need to go back out to the forest, find the beast princess, and tell her I’d love to meet with her about the trues.” He told them, “Tell her I would have gotten to her sooner, but there were so many people in the town who weren’t sure about wanting to be at peace after so long with them. Tell her to meet me in my office in the town day after tomorrow. There we will talk about the trues of the two sides.”

“What if she doesn’t believe us?” Jub asked.

“Then you convince her.” He snarled.

“And if she doesn’t show even if we do tell her?” Trevor asked.

“Well then, I’ll kill both of you.” He said.

Jub and Trevor both bit there lip. She wasn’t going to willingly walk into an obviuse trap like that. But she would be willing to meet with him.

“You don’t have to answer me yet.” Joseph said, “I’ll leave you down here tonight, I’ll come back in the morning and you’ll give me your answer.”

And he left.

“Trevor.” Jub said, “I think we both know what we have to do.”

Trevor didn’t want to admit it, but it was the only way to see her after a year. And to him that was far too long.

“Yeah.” He said, “We have no choice in that option. But, we do have a choice with what we tell her.”

Jub smiled knowing exactly what he meant.

In the forest, night was about to set in, everyone was heading back to the cave. All except for Crysalys.

She was tired of running, tired of hiding when the sun was down. She was going to take out a year of emotions on the rangers that were patrolling.

She had her axe, her whip, and a sword.

They started coming in from the town, she knew better then to use a frontal attack. She waited and stalked her prey until they split off into small groups of one or two.

She took those who were alone out first.

Cracking her whip through the air landing it tight around their necks and dragging them towards her where she was ready with her axe and lopped off their heads.

When she was finished with each of those who were alone, she started with those in partners.

Using her whip she expertly knocked their weapons out of their hands, hitting their wrists to they couldn’t pick up another one. She then ran at them, axe in one hand sword in the other.

One by one all the rangers began to fall. She had gotten all of them.

She finally let a sigh leave her darkening lips.

She thought this would be a challenge, but it wasn’t.

She wrapped up her whip and stuck it back in her belt, her sword went back in it’s holster, and her axe went back over her shoulder, held by her hand.

She slowly walked back to the cave.

When she got in the cave everyone stared at her.

“Crysalys.” Myrth said, “You’re covered and reek of blood, what happened?”

She dropped her weapons and threw her clock off sitting in front of the fire, next to Myrth.

“I killed them.” She said softly.

No one seemed overly surprised, but wondered who she was talking about.

“Who do you mean?” Colis asked handing her a cloth.

“The rangers.” She said, “I’m tired of hiding in the cave at night afraid of them finding our place.”

“What about the trues?” Issa asked.

“It’s been over a year.” She said staring into the flames, “I don’t think they’re coming back.”

“They have to.” Myrth said.

“Why do they have to?” She asked, “We threatened to kill them.”

“They don’t want the war.” He told her, “And you heard Jub, Trevor wanted to marry you.”

“And if he found a better girl out there?” She asked.

“Who’s better then a beast master?” Colis asked.

“Bards are always really pretty.” She said.

“They’ll come back.” Myrth told her.

“And if they don’t?” She asked.

“Then they don’t and we know exactly what they meant when they said they wanted peace too.” Colis said, “So shut up about it, and smile.”

“I don’t want to.” She hissed.

“Fine then be a bitch.” He told her.

She didn’t reply which scared everyone. She just sat there staring into the flames of the fire. Silver, Romona, and Scar were wondering what was wrong with her. But they knew better then to ask.

That night, Cryslays slept in her chambers , not Myrth. This really set everyone off. Crysalys had been sleeping in the same chambers as Myrth since she was two and he was four. And ever since then they’d been inseparable.

The next morning when Joseph went back down to the dungeons to get the answer from the boys, they had already figured out what they were going to tell her.

“What’s you decision?” He asked.

“We’ll do it.” Trevor said, “But we can’t make any promises.”

He grinned knowing he’d won.

“Just let her know that she’ll be perfectly safe.” He said, “She will be.”

The prison guard went in and unchained them.

Each rubbed their wrists from how long they’d been in there for.

Both of them were brought up to the head’s house for a feast and to see their families before they left.

Trevor was overjoyed to see his little sisters after so long. They had grown up so much in a year. His mother looked older, but she was still as beautiful.

Jub was brought into tight hugs by his mother, father, and three older brothers.

They all sat down to eat, and talk. And when it came time for them to leave, their mother’s and siblings complained about it.

“It’s their mission.” Joseph told them, “They need to do it.”

Trevor and Jub headed back out to the forest to see if they could find Crysalys.

They came to that clearing with the lake where they had first met them, and almost like deyjah vue they were there again. And Crysalys was bathing in the lake again.

Trevor’s eyes glistened as he watched the girl who hadn’t left his mind once in over a year scrub in the lake he had first watched her.

“I still can’t believe you did that.” Myrth said sitting on the edge of the lake.

Trevor and Jub crouched down to see if they could hear.

“I was angry.” She replied.

“You still are.” He told her.

“It’s been over a year.” She said, “He said he’d look forward to talking to us again soon. And I don’t think over a year is soon.”

“Maybe something happened with his father.” Colis said, “My father told me that the head’s of the town were always very self centered, and wouldn’t hear anything from anyone unless he wanted to believe it.”

“I bet that’s what he was taught too.” Myrth said.

“I believed him.” Crysalys mumbled to herself. She didn’t want to admit it, but she couldn’t have killed Trevor if she wanted to. When she saw him for the first time, her heart seemed to stop. And then when Jub said he wanted to marry her, she was surprised, and the similar views, she couldn’t get over him. But she was extremely angry with herself for falling for such a thing.

Trevor had heard what she said. He was hurt. He was hurt because he had hurt her. He didn’t want that. And he was debating running down there and scooping her up in a hug, but he knew he couldn’t do that.

“You were bit, weren’t you?” Colis asked her.

“Non of your business.” She snarled at him.

“Oh, Myrth, she was bit.” He said, “Crysalys is in love, Crysalys is in love, Crysalys is in love.”

“Keep saying that, Colis and this lake will be your grave.” She threatned.

He backed off knowing she would hold that threat.

“I’m clean now.” She said.

They nodded and turned around so she could get out.

Trevor couldn’t believe what he heard. If she was in love they were just talking about them. Could it be that she’s in love with him?

“Crys,” Myrth said,”It’s one guy. There are plenty others. Right now he’s probably working on bringing peace with you, but is interested in a different girl.”

“I thought you were supposed to be my friend!” She yelled to him, “Way to make me feel better!”

And with that she took off completely dressed.

“Crysalys.” He yelled running after her, Colis at his heels, Silver, Romona, and Scar in toe.

Trevor couldn’t believe jut what he put her through. She didn’t deserve that. He needed to apologise, and fast.

They tried to follow as best they could, but after about five or so minutes of running, two, very large beast masters jumped down from trees blocking their paths.

They both swallowed as sacks were placed over their heads, and they were knocked out.

Crysalys was in her chambers just sitting and thinking. She didn’t want to come out.

“Crysalys.” He mother called from the other side of her animal pelt wall, “We have two intruders. Everyone’s waiting for you.”

She sighed. Crysalys didn’t want to see anyone. But she had a duty. She got up and slipped out of her chamber.

She walked slowly to where everyone was crowding around two young men. She took her place on the rock, sitting Indian style, elbows an each knee, fingers knotted together covering my mouth.

All that we were waiting for was them to wake up.

When they began to stir, Crysalys motioned for the sacks to be removed.

Each of them blinked a couple of times before everything came into focus.

Crysalys dropped her hands to her lap seeing the faces of the intruders.

“What the hell took you so long?” She asked quietly.

Trevor smiled at her, but then it faded when he realized he was tied up and she wasn’t happy.

“I’m sorry.” He told her, “I am so sorry, Crysalys. But I tried to tell my father what we found out. He locked both of us up in the dungeons. If I could have gotten to you I would have, and I am so sorry. I can’t tell you how much I want you to forgive me right now.”

“Untie them.” She said.

Everyone stared at her like she was insane.

“Untie them.” She repeated.

Myrth did the honours.

Trevor lunged forward and picked up her hands.

“I’m so sorry. You don’t realize it.” He said and kissed her knuckle, “I’m sorry.”

“He locked you up?” She asked.

He nodded, “I’m sorry.”

“Stop apologising and look at me.” She told him.

He looked up at her face. And he got lost in her beauty. Her one pale eye, her darker eye that her dark brown bangs hid, the skin around her eyes were darkening like she was wearing eye make up, her lips were too. She looked older then maybe eleven. But he loved her.

She reached forward and hugged him close to her. He returned it after a moment of surprise.

“I missed you.” She whispered.

“Not a day went by I didn’t think of you.” He whispered back so no one could hear.

They pulled apart and smiled at each other.

“So your father wont meet with me?” she asked.

He shook his head, “He sent us back in the forest to tell you that he was too busy and everyone wasn’t sure if they wanted to have peace after this long. And he wanted to meet with you tomorrow in his office to talk about it. But the truth was he was going to kill you.”

She nodded unfazed.

“I wouldn’t of gone into the town as it was.” She said.

He grinned, “I know.”

“So he wants to meet me to kill me, huh?” She asked.

“I think he’s still shaken up about that letter you sent.” He said.

She nodded, “I need you to deliver a message to him for me.” She said.

“Anything.” He told her.

“I will meet with him.” She said, “However, not in the town. I will meet him on the edge of the forest where your fields meet out thicket. I will not be alone, and he shouldn’t be either.”

“I really hope you know what you’re about to get yourself into.” He said.

“I do, don’t worry.” She said.

“There’s something I’ve been meaning to ask, and I’m not trying to be rude.” He said, “How old are you?”

“Almost twelve.” She said.

He whistled.

“What about you?” She asked.

“Just turned fourteen.” He told her.

“Can you deliver the message?” She asked.

He nodded, “Don’t worry about it.”

She smiled.

“I just ask we’re not knocked out like that again.” He laughed.

She nodded, “These two will only recive the sack over the head and limbs tied until they’re in the cave.” She told them, “They can be trusted. But not fully.”

“And we understand that.” He said and moved back, “It’s still good to see you, Crysalys.”

She smiled, “There’s just one catch to this to make sure they’ll actually meet us at dawn.” She said.

“Go for it.” Jub said.

“We’re going to hold onto Trevor, and Jub’s going to go back to the town and tell the head that we wont give him back until he meets us.” She explained, “I think that’s sounds accurate.”

Everyone agreed.

“So, let me get this straight.” Jub said, “I’m going to be tied up and have a sack put over my head, then be left somewhere in the woods and try to get back to town on my own. And when I get to town I’m supposed to tell the head that his son is kidnapped and they wont give him back until we meet with you where the fields meet the forest at dawn tomorrow?”

“You seem to be missing a couple of things here.” Crysalys told him, “You will be tied up as it’s easier to carry someone like that, you won’t be left somewhere in the forest, but near the town, and you will return on your own. You will tell the head that we have his son, and we will give him back only if he and whomever he wants to come and meet with me at the edge of the forest where it meets your fields. I won’t be alone either.”

He nodded, “And you promise I’m going to be alright.” He said.

She nodded, “I was going to send, Colis and Myrth to bring you to the edge of the forest as it was.”

He sighed knowing he’d be okay.

“Are you sure this plan of yours is going to work, Crysalys?” Garther asked.

“Well,”She admitted, “I know the head only has one son, I know the position of head is passed down from generation to generation, I know it’s only boys who can gain the title, and I know that he really wants to meet me to size me up. So if he doesn’t show we head into town and talk to him by force. But let’s see where this gets us.”

They nodded.

Jub had his hands tied behind his back, his feet bound together, and a sack put over his head.

“Remember what you need to tell him?” She asked.

He nodded.

“Tell me.” She said.

“You have Trevor.” He started, “If we want him back then we’ll have to come to where the fields meet the edge of the forest, and the head will have to talk to you about a trues at dawn tomorrow.”

She nodded satisfied.

“Enfisise that he won’t be able to get his only son back if he doesn’t meet with me.” She told him.

He nodded.

“Are you sure it’s safe?” He asked.

“Trust me.” She told him, “We have more reason to be apprehensive about meeting men with weapons that shoot fire.”

He sighed, “When ever you guys are ready.” He said.

Colis picked him up and threw him over his shoulder. He and Myrth headed out of the cave and down to the forest towards the edge of the forest.

Crysalys brought Trevor to the fire with her mother and Issa.

“So this is the young gunner, huh?” She asked looking him over.

He nodded, “Yes, ma’am.” He said, “It’s very nice to meet you.”

“You as well Trevor.” She said, “I’m Lilly, and this is Issa.”

“It’s very nice to meet both of you.” He said and sat down.

Scar crawled into Crysalys’ lap.

“You have a pet bear?” He asked.

She looked at him weird and shook her head.

“Silver, Romona, and Scar are my partners.” She told him, “That’s part of being a beast master.”

“I’ve always been fascinated with the history of beast mastery, but we’ve never had any materials on it.” He admitted.

“If you did I would assume you couldn’t read it.” She told him.

“How come?” He asked.

“All history of beast masters is chronicled in Claws.”She told him, “Claws is our language, every trade has one of their own. For example, necromancy uses Latin.”

“Really?” He asked.

She nodded.

“We’ve only ever used English.” He told her.

“Because that is you’re trade’s language.” She told him, “A bard uses French. A healer uses Cry. Black mages need several.”

“What are they?” He asked.

“Latin for one, then there’s Soomain, Key, and German.” She said, “Rangers use Heithen. For brawlers it’s Italian. Warriors use Iskait. I think the language for an alchemist is Chinese. I know for guardians it’s Hisanic. And for thiefs, it’ll always depend on where in the world they are.”

“You know so much.” He told her.

“When my eye was healing and I couldn’t do very much, I would sit and listen to the elders.” She told him, “They shared their years of wisdom with me. I don’t think I even got half of what they could say. But they knew all that and much more. I enjoyed listening to them.”

He nodded, “I wanted to be a guardian.” Trevor told her.

“But you’re a gunner.” She said, “You can tell by your dress.”

He nodded, “My father convinced me to become a gunner. I really wanted to be a guardian though.”

She nodded and looked into the fire. Maybe she did get bit.

“Can I ask you something?” He asked her.

“Go for it.” She told him.

“How come your lips, nails, and the skin around your eyes are turning black?” He asked.

She shrugged, “They say that’s what happens when she becomes a true beast princess.”

“Those rangers excelled it.” Lilly scolded.

“I was angry and tired of living in the cave after the sun goes down.” She hissed.

“Watch your tounge.” She retorted.

“Sorry.” She mumbled.

“What are rangers doing out here?” Trevor asked.

“Patrolling.” She said, “Your father sent them out to look for the cave where we are. To try and find me. Apparently he’s afraid of me.”

He nodded, “He always said he wasn’t. But the way he acted when I told him I met you but didn’t kill you, it was like his eyes were telling me that if I couldn’t no one could.”

“Maybe that’s why he had you.” She said, “Each of us is born with a destiny.”

“You think I might have been born to kill you?” He asked discussed.

She shook her head, “But that’s what your father thinks you were born for.” She said, “What you truly were born to do can only be told in time.”

“You know what you were born for.” He said.

She nodded, “Only because not a day goes by that someone doesn’t.”

“He should be talking to the head about now.” Myrth said coming towards them along with Colis.

She nodded, “Thank you.”

“Don’t mention it.” They said.

It was true what they said, as soon as they entered the cave Jub had entered the head’s office and was telling him everything.

“We were kidnapped.” He told him, “We delivered the message, but she wouldn’t except under those terms.”

“What was her counter offer?” He asked annoyed.

“You and whoever you want to accompany you, she suggest you don’t come alone because she’s not going to be either, to where the fields meet the forest at dawn tomorrow. If you don’t then you aren’t ever going to get Trevor back.” He told him, “She just wanted to talk about a trues between beast masters and gunners, but the reason why she kept Trevor was because she needed something to make you want to come.”

“And you can assure me all we will do is talk?” He asked.

“That’s what she said.” He told him, “I’m just repeating it.”

He nodded.

Joseph needed his son back, and the only way he could do that is if he went to see the beast princess at dawn tomorrow.

He sighed, the least he could do is hear her out.

 

Leave a Reply

