Rain in the Forest Part 8

“Come on, Jub, I need your help.” Trevor asked his friend as they were training.

“No way, Trev.” He said, “I’ve heard all the stories about that girl, I don’t want her wear my nuts around her neck like jewelry.”

“You’ve heard all the stories?” He asked.

He nodded, wondering where his friend was going with this.

“So then, you know?” He asked.

“Know what?” Jub asked.

“About her.” He said.

“What about her?”

“Her body.” He sounded out like it was almost forbidden to talk about.

He froze remembering that tale.

“Wouldn’t it be amazing to see it up close?” He asked, “She’s probably still weak right now. And if we catch her bathing, well then, wouldn’t she be alone? Venerable? Wouldn’t it be great to slide in the lake with her and touch that skin? Or are you gonna be queer on me?”

Jub sighed knowing he’d either never hear the end of this, or never live it down not going.

“I’m in.” He said, “But if we get caught, it’s your fault.”

“Deal.” he said and they shook hands.

“Tomorrow at dawn we leave, and hopefully we’re back before sunset.” He said.

In a field somewhere in the forest, Crysalys and Keshil stood waiting to spar are agreed.

Keshil jumped first, knowing she wouldn’t. Using her fore arm she pushed him off and then went straight for the neck. he knew that and then twisted his body making it impossible for her from this angel. She flipped back and watched and he landed expertly. Neither side was about to give, Crysalys moved first, going to his right. This slightly threw him off, she knew he was right handed, and that one second of him being off was all she needed. Her whip cracked and went around his ankle, pulling him down, she landed on top of him, her feet on either elbow to stop him from blocking her. Her hand went down to his throught. He chalked slightly, that’s all she needed.

Crysalys was off him in a second wrapping up her whip.

Keshil sat up and caught his breath. He was wrong about her, he figured since he was her teacher she wouldn’t go full force, but he was wrong. That little girl was better than he thought.

“That was great, Crys.” Myrth said congratulating her.

She shrugged, it was nothing special.

“Mama.” She called to her mother who was walking over.

“What’s wrong?” She asked.

“My eye’s getting blurry.” She said.

Lilly placed her hand over her eye again and began to heal.

“A lot of the time this is going to be mucus that the eye produces, but because it’s been injured to such a degree it’ll produce more than is necessary. I know it’ll hurt, but you’ll need to move the skin around your eye when it happens, it’ll help.” She told her.

Crysalys nodded.

“I’ll keep doing this once a week, only because I’m never too sure when it comes to eyes.” She admitted.

“I just wasn’t sure what was going on.” She said.

“I gotta tell you, Crysalys,” Keshil said coming over to her, “That has to be the shortest battle I’ve been in.”

She shrugged.

“I’d say you’re well past master level.” He told her.

“Can I be honest, Keshil?” She asked.

“Of course.” He told her.

“I wasn’t using my full strength.” She said looking down, “I didn’t want to hurt you.”

Everyone stood there amazed by the little girl.

“I’d hate to see what you do to someone you want to hurt.” He laughed.

“They’d be dead faster then it takes to grab a whip.” She said.

“Well then, I’m glad you don’t want to kill me.” He said.

The wind blew the other way as the smile on her face faded. She pulled out her whip and sent it out to the woods, a cry of pain came from the spot she sent the whip too. She pulled it back towards her, on the end of the whip was a young man who looked like he didn’t belong.

She kept pulling him towards her, as he tried to get away.

“NO!” He screamed when he got to her.

Crysalys picked him up with one hand.

“Who are you?” She asked sweetly, so sweetly that it took the man a minute to realize he was being held up by a little girl only about a third of his height.

“Who? Me?” He asked.

“I don’t think I’m looking at anyone else when I asked.” She said.

“I-I-I am Gabe.” He said apprehensively.

“You don’t look like you belong in the forest, where are you from?” She asked.

“The city not too far from here.” He said wondering just what she was up to.

She nodded, “What the hell are you doing out here if you’re the enemy to us?” She hissed.

He was taken a back, not a moment ago she was a sweet little girl, now she was a monster.

“I will say nothing.” He told her.

She dropped him and turned to Myrth.

Using telepathy she spoke, “I want you and Colis to head back to the cave.” Gabe took this opportunity to escape, Crysalys noticed form the corner of her eye and stepped on the whip, he yelped, “Tell them all to hide, I’m gonna bring an outsider in and question him. Anyone who doesn’t want their face to be recognised needs to hide. I don’t want any kids or healers around, warriors, beast masters, thiefs, black mages, necromancers. No healers or kids. As soon as you’re their I want you two to hide two. I’m gonna question him.”

He replied, “I’ll agree to everything except for hiding. We’re in this together, Crysalys.”

She nodded, “But only you.”

He smiled.

“Come on, Colis.” He said.

“What, why?” He demanded.

“I’ll explain on the way, come one.” He said.

“Not until you tell me.” He said crossing his arms.

“Hey, Colis,” Crysalys said, “Unless you go with Myrth you’ll be my new punching bag, now go.”

They took off towards the cave, Crysalys picked Gabe up again.

“Anyone, got a sack or something?” She asked around.

“Here ya’ go.” Awkie said and smiled.

“Thanks.” She said.

“W-w-w-what are you gonna do with that?” Gabe questioned.

She smiled, “You’ll see.” She said.

And for Gabe, everything went black after that.

Crysalys had the sack secured, she used the whip to hog tie him, she had already knocked him out. She found a few things she had learned while training to be a healer useful, things like pressure points, and the places on the body where if you hit can kill instantly. Things like that.

When she was done she stood up straight and cracked her back.

“I’m gonna tell all of you exactly what I told Myrth.” She said, “And he’s gonna tell the rest of us.”

Back in the town, things were about the same.

“Are you really going to leave?” Star and Chime asked their big brother together, they had a habit of doing that.

“It’s only going to be for one day.” He told them kissing each on the forehead, “I should be back in time for dinner.”

“And if you’re not?” They asked.

“Then feel free to do anything, except for tell mom and or dad, alright. I can’t have him knowing.” He told them.

“What’s so special about this girl?” Chime asked.

“Yeah, why can’t you go and see any girl in the town?” Star asked.

“And take us with you.” They said.

He smiled, he really did love them.

“Because, this isn’t just any girl.” He told them, “This is supposed to be the girl I need to fight against to bring peace to this land. I need to know what she looks like, so then when we’re older and we fight I know who to look out for.”

They pouted.

“What if she’s so pretty you forget about us?” They asked.

He smiled and hugged them.

“I could never forget about you two.” He said, “You’re my baby sisters, and forever I’ll love you. You’re my little girls, and believe me she could never be as beautiful as you will be one day.”

“What are we now?” They asked.

“Way too adorable to be real!” Trevor said and started tickling them. Each squealed in delight.

Things weren’t quite as happy back in the forest.

Gabe sat on the rock floor, hands bound behind his back, sack over his head. He slowly woke up.

When he was awake enough, Crysalys motioned for the sack to be removed.

Gabe blinked a couple times, taking in his surroundings, only to take in such large amounts of fear.

The first thing he saw was two different coloured eyes, then the true hate on Crysalys’ face. All the men and Black mages around her with similar expressions. Crysalys herself sat on a rock across from him, Indian style, elbows on each knee, fingers knotted together tightly covering her mouth.

Myrth was right next to her. And only the most intimidating of the beast masters, necromancers, black mages, thiefs, and warriors.

“Did you have a nice nap?” Crysalys asked Gabe.

He started at her with fear.

“You won’t get away with this.” He hissed at her, “The head of the town, he wont stand for this! He’ll send an entire army out here to look for me. And you will sorry for ever harming me.”

“Noe, now.” She said calmly, “I simply asked you if you enjoyed you nap. No need to start throwing threats around. I simply would like to ask you a few questions. But I could risk you seeing where we live, and how to get here. Now, how did you enjoy your nap?”

“I’m not answering anything!” He yelled.

Silver ran and barked at him, he screamed like a little girl and fell backwards trying to get away. Silver’s chain ended about a foot short of where he sat.

“Silver.” She said calmly.

He whimpered and cowered back.

She motioned for two of the warriors to pick him up. They did and sat him right.

“Alright, Gab.” Crysalys said purposely getting his name wrong, “I’m trying to be nice here. The head of the town can send in a million armies to look for you, but when you think about, we could still kill you, and all of them without a smidge of remorse. Basically what I’m saying is, if I didn’t think you’d be any use, I’d of killed you by now.”

She paused and let that sink into his skull for a moment.

“Now, look, I’ll give you the choice, we can do this the easy way, or we can do this the hard way.” She moved her hand away from her face so they were resting in her lap, “What’s the choice?”

“What do you want?” He asked like he was about to cry.

“Just to ask you a few questions, if you answer honestly, I’ll let you go.” She told him.

“And if I lie?” He inquired.

“It’s simple really,”She explained, “I’ll kill you.”

He gasped, no one here looked like they joking.

“What do you wanna know?” He asked.

“How did you sleep?” She asked.

“It was alright.” He replied.

“What does this town you speak of look like?” She asked him.

He looked at her wondering if what she was asking had any relevance.

“Like any big town, I guess.” He said, “A lot of buildings, tall. In the center of town there’s the town hall. It’s kinda like a church. Got a big clock on it, rings every hour.”

“What are buildings, churches, and clocks?” She asked.

It occurred to Gabe that she had never been very far out of the forest if at all.

“A building it something really tall, made out of stone or bricks, wood too. You can have rooms in there, which people can live in, or you can have shops. A shops a place you go to buy things like food, and cloths.” He told her.

“What does to buy mean?” She asked.

“To get in exchange for money.” He said, “And before you ask, money is what we use for trade. For example, an apple it worth this much money.”

She nodded.

“A church is a place where people go to worship God.” He told her.

“How is God, and how do you worship him?” She asked.

“God is this person up in the sky, above the clouds, up in a place called heaven. We worship him by praying to him, following the rules he made and thanking him for sending his only son down to earth to die for our sins.” He told her.

She nodded.

“And a clock is something that we use to tell time.” He told her.

She nodded.

“So what were you doing up here?” She asked sounding sweet, “I though people from the town had to stay in the town, and we had to stay in the forest.”

He shook his head, “We used to be able to come and go as we please, I think we still can. But hey, things happen.”

She nodded already knowing the history of why they were fighting.

“What are you doing here?” She asked again.

He sighed, realizing he had to tell her, she might be young but it occurred to him everyone followed her, so if she didn’t fully understand then he should be save.

“He head send me up here to look for some girl.” He explained.

“Did a girl from the town run away?” She asked.

He shook his head, “No, nothing like that.” He told her, “It’s this little beast princess, bitch. He say’s she’s back, but I don’t believe it. If she hasn’t been around for a million or so years why would she be back now? And besides she’s probably ancient.”

He laughed to himself, though he did not see Crysalys put her up to stop everyone from going over and ripping him limb from limb.

“How is this head person?” She asked him.

“He runs the town.” He told her, “He’s in charge of everything. It’s been in his family from the beginning. His son’s been obsessed with finding out about this girl, so he sent out a few hunters and stuff to look for her. In short I was until I came across that fight. Geeze, you sure can move for a little girl.”

She shrugged a thank you.

“So how old is this head’s son?” She asked.

“I think he just turned twelve.” He told her, “Yeah, I’d say so. he’s about at that age too. Only thing on his mind is girls. Maybe that’s why he’s so fascinated.”

“What do you mean?” She asked.

“Oh, I thought since it was you history you knew.” He said, she shook her head, “Anyway, this beast princess girl, she’s supposed to be the most beautiful girl ever. Supposed to have a large chest.” He face turned slightly red as he said that, “Maybe this beast princess of yours is the figure that haunts our heir’s dreams?”

Crysalys, turned right to those who knew the legends of the beast princess the best.

“Am I really going to get big boobs when I’m older?” She asked.

“That’s usually what happens, yeah.” One said.

“Only according to the legend.” Garther said, “What?” He asked as she stared up at him with disbelief.

“How does that work?” She asked, “I can’t be an ultimate warrior and have water melons for a chest, can I?”

“What do you want me to say?” He asked her, “According to the legend, she’s a fierce fighter and is beautiful. You can’t please everybody. Now deal with it, you don’t have them now.”

“But I don’t want them ever.” She whined.

“Stop whining.” He told her, “You can’t choose your body.”

She sighed, “I have no choice in this do I?” She asked.

“You haven’t had a choice about anything since birth.” He told her.

“Not true.” She said, “I’ve had so many choices the thing is I just went with what I was told my destiny was.”

“Y-y-y-y-y-y-y-y-y-y-y-you’re the beast princess?” He asked almost screaming.

She nodded unfazed.

He fell back off the rock again.

“He fainted.” She pointed.

“No shit.” Myrth said and face palmed.

When Gabe woke up again, he sighed looking at the little girl who was the beast princess.

“I’m gonna let you go.” She said.

“R-really?” He asked.

“You’re not getting off that easy.” She told him, “I need you to deliver a message to the head of the family for me.”

“Oh, anything.” He said.

“I’ll give it to you after we have you cleared of the premises.” She said.

The sack went back over his head and he put out of it again. When he came too for the third time he was deep in the woods with Crysalys, Tia, Garther, and Myrth.

“Do it.” She said to Tia.

She took a handful of light purple coloured powder and blew it into his face. She then waved her hand in front of this face, and muttered a couple of words.

Crysalys nodded.

“You will take this message to the head of the town, you will not make any stops and you will not stop until you have handed it to him yourself. Everything you have seen and heard in the last two hours you will forever forget. Once this message is in the head’s hands, you may go.” She said handed him the scroll and snapped her fingers.

Gabe was up and heading towards the town.

“Crysalys.” Garther hissed as she tried to follow him to the edge of the forest.

“I wanna see what the town looks like.” She begged.

“Me two.” Myrth asked.

“Me three.” Tia said joining in.

Garther sighed but allowed the three to see the town for the first time. It was, just as they had imagined, it was as Gabe had described, it was beautiful.

Tall buildings made of stone, a large one in the middle with a white circle in the middle of a pillar.

It was beautiful.

“You’ve looked, let’s go back.” He hissed.

“Okay.” They said and left.

But for Crysalys just looking at it was not enough, she wanted to walk through it, see everything up close.

In the office of the head of the town Gabe delivered the message directly to him. When it left his hand the spell broke, but before he could say anything he was ushered out the door.

“What is it?” Trevor asked.

“A message from someone named, Crysalys?” He asked himself, “What the hell kind of name is that?”

“Read it, please.” Trevor begged.

He opened the scroll and began to read out loud, “Dear head of the town on the outskirts of our forest.” Both father and son rolled their eyes, “We have temporarily captured one of you henchmen, Gabe. He was most corporative, however, the information that he has given us troubles me. How is it you say that I’m a savage? The way I look out on you, it seems to me you are. It seems to me you also have what I am wrong as well. I’m yet to be a beautiful woman, with large breasts, or the strongest and fastest fighter alive. I will admit I have been told I am very smart, and for my age I am very strong and fast. However, that picture you have of me in your head, you need to get rid of it. I cannot have you thinking such foolish things of me. I will one day be a woman, but for right now, I’m younger than your son is. If you find me such a threat to your town and your people why don’t you cone and face me like a man. I may not be fully grown yet, but I have more than enough power to kick your sorry ass any day. The beast princess you never did expect.”

He crumpled up the letter and threw it to the other side of the room. This couldn’t end well for him.

Leave a Reply

