Rain in the Forest Part 15

Each side had much time to rest from the war. Both decided to let the other make the first move.

Crysalys and Trevor met at the hidden tree every time it rained to share their love once again. Yet neither could shake the feeling that what they were doing was wrong. They had family and friends that were counting on them while they were fooling around.

Neither thought anything bad would happen other then they got caught by one side or the other, then they could explain and the fighting could end.

Until one day when Crysalys was training with Myrth and Colis. They were testing their skills against one another, making sure they were sharp.

In the middle of her attack, Crysalys dropped her sword and was forced to her knees chalking up the contents of her stomach.

Myrth kneeled next to her and rubbed her back hopping it would help.

When she was done, he and Colis helped her up and brought her to Lilly.

“I think she’s sick.” Myrth said as they sat her down next to her mother, “She threw up in the middle of training.”

Lilly placed down what she was weaving and turned to her daughter.

She wasn’t pale, she wasn’t warmer than usual. Her eyes were white, she was well hydrated.

“Did you eat something strange in the forest?” She asked.

“I’m not an idiot mama.” She said, “All I ate was that lamb mutton.”

She nodded, Lilly knew her daughter ate a lot but never anything more then a little breakfast and a lot at dinner. It was usual for most people though.

“Anything unusual happen?” She asked.

She shook her head.

“And you just threw up today?” She asked.

Crysalys nodded.

“Lay down.” She ordered.

Crysalys obeyed layed down putting her hands behind her head.

Lilly pressed down on various parts of her daughter’s stomach hoping to find something.

“Are you sure you’ve been eating enough?” She asked and let her sit up.

Crysalys nodded, “I just haven’t been getting very much sleep lately.”

She looked at her daughter surprised. It was one of the main animal instincts anyone had. Eating, sleeping, and of course sex. But she knew her daughter, she would never, or would she?

“I’m going to ask you something, and I want you to answer honestly.” She said.

Crysalys nodded not really caring what the question was.

“Have you accepted any one as your husband yet?” She asked.

She shook her head, “I’m waiting ’til after the war.”

“Would you tell me if you were doing something forbidden with someone that you didn’t want me to know about?” She asked.

Crysalys was taken back. What kind of question was that? She hadn’t exactly accepted anyone as her husband yet, Trevor it would happen after the war. But what they did wasn’t forbidden if they were going to be together, was it?

“Of course.” She said.

“Are you?” She asked.

Crysalys sighed, “Ma, this is probably my body telling me I have to spend less time worrying about what’s going on around me and getting a good night’s sleep. You know I’d never do anything with anyone until I’ve married them.”

Lilly look content with that answer, “I just wanted to make sure.” She said, “Sometimes pregnancy can be confused for a multitude of things, and if not known about it can put both the child and the mother in quite a predicament. I don’t want you hurt.”

She nodded, “It’s probably lack of sleep.”

Lilly nodded, “I’ll make tea for you before you go to bed, it’ll help.”

“Thanks ma.” She said.

They decided to finish up their training for the day and go for a walk.

Trevor was being harassed in the head’s office for not finding a wife yet.

“If you don’t find one soon then our family will lose power.” Joseph said calmly. He had learned yelling isn’t the best way to get through to his son.

“I have found a girl, father.” He said, “I’m just waiting until after the war to marry her.”

“Why are you waiting?” He asked.

“She doesn’t want to have children with this still going on, and frankly neither do I.” He almost snapped.

“But if you’re killed-

“If I am killed during this war, I want her to know I love her, I wanted to marry her, and that if we did have children that we both don’t want any of them growing up like we did, being forced to hate the others.”

“Are you still talking about peace?” He demanded, “The beast princess put her mark on you. She’s going to kill you if you don’t kill her first.”

“You don’t know her father.” Trevor almost yelled, “Neither do I. But what she spoke when we were young it still rings in my head like the bells on the church do. We need to put the past away, but the adults won’t let us. And my question is why?”

Joseph was taken back by what his son was saying.

“Is it too painful to admit that both sides were wrong and we can move on?” He asked, “When I’m head I’m going to make that peace with the beast masters, and no one can stop me.”

“If that’s what you want to do when you become head, no one can stop you.” Joseph told him, “But in order for you to become head the war either needs to end, or I have to die.”

“I’ll end this war father.” Trevor said, “But no more blood shed’s going to happen.”

“You can try son.” Joseph told him, “But the beast masters are savage and blood thirsty, you wont get through to them.”

“We’ll see.” He said and left the office.

Crysalys, Colis, and Myrth were laying in the grass with Scar, Romona, and Silver looking up at the clouds.

“I hate the rain.” Colis said noticing some storm clouds moving in.

“I like it.” Crysalys said.

“How can you?” he asked her.

She shrugged, “It’s pretty, and makes a nice sound. And when it’s stopped the world looks so still. It’s nice. How come you don’t like it?”

It was Colis’s turn to shrug, “You can’t do anything in it, and too much can kill you.”

“What’s your opinion on rain Myrth?” She asked him.

“It’s alright.” He said, “I like to watch it fall, but I’d prefer it to be sunny.”

“What about the snow?” She asked turning over onto her stomach, “I love it, the only down side it I can barely see Silver when we’re running around.”

“It’s too cold for my liking.” Myrth said.

“I like training in it.” Colis said, “More of a challenge.”

“You like all weather, don’t you?” Myrth asked her joining her on his stomach.

She shook her head, “I can’t stand thunder showers, or lightning.”

“I can get a lot of power drawn from that.” He said.

“I don’t mind thunder, but I don’t like lightning.” Colis said.

“That’s ’cause you’re always wearing metal and have a high risk of getting struck.” Myrth said.

“So what?” He hissed, “At least I’m not afraid of snakes.”

“One bit me when I was little,” He defended, “I have a good reason.”

Crysalys stayed back and let them work it out their selves. She left them there and went to the hidden tree where she knew Trevor would meet her soon.

And he did, as soon as the first few drops of rain hit, Trevor headed into the forest to the hidden tree.

He hit the trick that Crysalys had showed him, and there she was, sitting with her back to the entrance. He eased in and closed the passage behind him. She turned and smiled at him.

He smiled down and took her in his arms in a tight embrace as they started kissing.

She pushed off his vest and shirt and felt his abs as she always did. Trevor wasn’t one of the more built men she had come across, but she loved the way his chest and stomach felt under her touch.

Trevor pulled the knot that held her top closed to show her full chest. He pushed it off her shoulders and continued to cares her body.

Just after they knelt down in their kiss, the passage opened. Both looked up in fear to see a shocked Myrth and a furious Colis.

“So this is where you go when it rains.” Myrth said sounding hurt.

“You said you knew.” She said, “I thought that meant you understood.”

“When I said I know, I meant I thought that you were sitting up in the trees staring at the moon like you’re so found of. I never thought you’d be whoring around.”

Her nails dug into Trevor, and it was apparent to everyone that her temper was done.

She lunged at her best friend and tackled him to the ground knocking his staff far out of reach. They wrestled around on the wet grass sliding and unable to get any good traction. Trevor and Colis watched them go at it.

“Don’t you think we should break them up?” Trevor asked Colis.

“Naw.” He said as a reply, “They’ll cool off soon enough, why don’t you put your shirt back on.”

He did as was told, or so he thought. And soon enough both returned to the hidden tree to talk about what was going on.

They waited until Crysalys had her shirt tied up tightly before anyone said anything.

“How’d you find us?” She asked.

“You gotta love Silver.” Myrth said, “We might not have a thing with animals but we bribed him with liver to follow your sent.”

“I never go in a straight path.” She said.

“That’s why it took so long.” Colis said, “He kept getting confused because your sent wast criss crossing.”

Everyone was silent for a while.

“I wasn’t whoring around.” Crysalys finally said, “I’ve made up my mind, as soon as the war’s over I’m marrying Trevor.”

Trevor was ecstatic to hear that.

“No one will let you, I hope you know.” Myrth said.

“After the war both sides will be at peace.” Trevor said for the first time, “I’ll be head of the town after that and the first thing I do is bring peace to both sides, then I’ll marry Crysalys.”

“I just don’t  want the war.” She said quietly.

“I know.” Myrth said, “You know if it were anyone else who found you two, you’d be dead.”

“We know.” Trevor said.

“And,” He said turning his attention fully towards Crysalys, “I hope you realized because of whatever it is you wanna call it, you could very well be pregnant as we speak.”

She rolled her eyes, “Myrth pregnancy happens after about two to three weeks before it’s set in.”

“And how long have you two been doing this?” He asked.

“Two and a half weeks on and off.” Trevor said.

“You’re pregnant, and you’ll have to face your ma, and the cave, and the town.” He said.

“Yeah.” She said, “But if I’m pregnant with a gunner’s baby that I willingly took wouldn’t that mean that old peace treaty is in effect?”

“What treaty?” Colis asked.

“A few hundred years ago when the fighting started.” She said, “The beast princess and the son of the head were to be promised to marry at birth, and when a healthy child was born there’d be true peace. But it was stopped when the girl turned up near death.”

“And you two think you can change all that?” Myrth asked.

They nodded.

“We can’t keep fighting forever, Myrth.”She told him, “It’s only a matter of time before both sides realize and come to peace.”

“And I’ll make that peace if that’s what you want.” Trevor told her, “It’s best for everyone.”

“You can’t tell anyone.” Crysalys said, “Either of you, no one. Don’t even talk about it.”

“What about when, Lilly finds out you’re pregnant?” Myrth asked.

“Hopefully,” She said, “We’ll have peace by then.”

“And if not?” He asked.

She shrugged, “I’ll tell them the truth and see what they do.”

“Kill you and the child.” Colis said.

“For what?” She asked, “Attempt to bring peace to land again using my own tactics? You seem to keep forgetting they need me.”

“You’re doing multiple forbidden things, Crysa.” Myrth said, “Even if you say you aren’t, this is considered whoring around because you aren’t married, you’re out after dark without anyone knowing where you are, and you’re socializing with a gunner. The only other thing you can do is kill one of your own, and I think we all know you aren’t going to do that if your life depends on it.”

“I’m gonna figure this out, Myrth.” She said to him, “I just need a little time.”

“Time for what?” He exclaimed, “Time to explain to both sides that you’ve been doing unspeakable things with each other in hopes of peace? Time to tell your mother that you’ve done something she would rather die than have you of done? Time to speak to the elders and tell them all you have done?”

“Would you shut up and let me finish?” She snarled, instantly he shut up.

“I need a little time, to figure everything out.” She admitted, “How we’re going to go about telling both sides, how mama’s gonna feel, what everyone’s gonna think. I just need a little time to figure it all out on my own.”

“Why do you keep saying, ‘you’, ‘alone’, ‘my own’?” Trevor asked, “I’m in this just as much as you are.”

“Can you get pregnant?” She asked.

“No.” He said shyly.

“Then shut up, I’ll figure it out for the both of us.” She said, “I just need you to focus on getting the title as head from your father as soon as you can.”

“I can do that.” He said.

“What do you want us to do?” Colis asked her.

“Keep your traps shut about what you know.” She nearly hissed, “Anyone hears anything about what we’ve been doing, they’re going after Trevor first, then I could die. And if that happens I guaranty both of you, I ain’t goin’ down alone.”

“Need us to cover for you on anything?” Myrth asked.

“If anyone asks you two if you know what I was doing those rainy nights, I was training to be my absolute best. And that’s it.” She told them, “If they ask you where I’m training say you don’t know. If they ask how you know, tell them I told you in case anything happened. If they wanna know why, tell them smell, hearing, and general senses are lessened in the rain and I’m trying to sharpen them. And if they ask why I don’t have a partner with me, tell them it was something I need to do on my own.”

“What are you gonna do?” Trevor asked.

“Take long walks.” She said, “They help. I’ll figure it out. But I know it’ll be a hell of a lot easier to get it done after you get the title.”

“I’ll do what I can.” Trevor said.

“Need anything else don’t hesitate to ask.” Colis told her.

“Thanks.” She said to everyone.

The four in the hidden tree where the start of something larger then they could ever come to know. If they had any idea what they were about to encounter they might have stopped, or maybe not. It wouldn’t never be known, for they didn’t know until they came across it all.

 

Leave a Reply

