Flowers(A Laxus Dreyar Two Shot Part 2)

Seven long years had passed since not only Camilia had passed, but Natsu and the others disappeared.

The guild was in ruin and in a large dept to Orge, a new guild in Marigold that had taken over. Hardly anyone remained in Fairy tail after the mysterious disappearance of their nakama.

It was quiet in the guild, everyone was in their own thoughts as the doors flew open wide.

“We’ve come to collect this month’s payment.” One of the Orge grunts cackled as he entered the hall with his team.

“We don’t have it this month.” Macao told him, “No good jobs have come in lately, we’ll pay double next month. I promise.”

The leader clicked his tounge to the roof of his mouth in thought, “That’s not what we agreed on.”

“There isn’t much else I can do.” Macao told him sadly, “Please tell your guild master that I will pay double next month.”

“No can do.” He snarled, “These were the terms we agreed upon.”

“We never would have accepted if we knew how high the interest would have been.” Wakaba stepped in.

“Well then,” The leader started, “We’ll just have to kill a little time!”

Just as he was about to knock over the nearest table, he mysteriously fell face first onto the floor.

“What the hell!?” He howled.

Through the opened door a small figure covered in a dark brown cloak stepped through the door way and stood before everyone.

“Who the hell are you?!” He snapped.

The figure didn’t flinch, it didn’t look up either.

“I believe that should be my question.” It retorted. The voice was familiar to all of Fairy Tail, yet it somehow wasn’t. And it was impossible to tell if the person was male or female by their voice.

“Who do you think you are barging in on a business meeting?!” He demanded.

“And what meeting would that be?” It asked calmly.

The leader smirked, “Fairy Tail went down hill seven years ago.” He told the figure, “Everyone in Fior knows that.”

“I’m not exactly from Fior.” It told them.

His smirk faltered slightly, “Fairy Tail began to fail, we intervened and helped them out. And now they have a debt to repay. And they can’t this month, so we’re gonna take what we can!”

The rest of his team cheered, but before they could move a single muscle they were all tossed around by an unseen force.

The figure stepped into the hall after all the grunts had fallen to the floor. It opened it’s cloak enough to alow a hand out, then reached down and grabbed the leader of the team by the neck and hauled it up.

It’s grip was that of near death, the leader wiggled and attempted to struggle from it’s grasp, but it was no use. His face was beginning to turn blue.

“I’m going to make this clear.” It snarled at the leader, “If you, your team mates, or anyone from Orge ever touch anyone from this guild again, I will not hesitate to kill you.”

And with that he was dropped to the floor, along with a sack that the figure was carrying under it’s cloak.

“How much does Fairy Tail still owe your guild?” It asked calmly.

“H-huh?” The leader asked just barely gaining his breath back.

“Did I stutter?!” I demanded, “How much, does Fairy Tail still owe!?”

“2 million jewels.” He said apprehensively.

The figure knelt down next to the sack and opened it. It carefully counted out 2 million jewels and tossed the bundles to the leader.

“Now get out of my sight.” It hissed.

The Orge grunts hurriedly picked p the jewels and ran out of the guild as fast as they could.

Everyone who was present in Fairy Tail paused and looked at the cloaked figure. First wondering who he was, and second, why he payed their debt for them.

“This really did go down hill.” It said at last, “I was hoping that the rumors weren’t going to be true when I got back. I guess Natsu and the other’s really did disappear then, huh?”

No one spoke for a long time, then Macao spoke up.

“Who are you?” He asked apprehensively, “Why did you pay the debt? And how do you know about our nakama?”

There was a small pause.

“They were my nakama at one point too, Macao.” It said softly, “I payed the debt because, well, I am a member of Fairy Tail. So why shouldn’t I pitch in to help the guild out? And as for who I am, well.”

The figure stopped right there and allowed the cloak to fall to the ground.

The figure they had assumed to be a man was a woman. She had short, pixie cut dark purple hair, and bright golden eyes lined to be dark.

Everyone was completely still staring at the girl before them. They were all sure that she had died all those years ago.

“Gomena.” she finally said, “I know what you all must be thinking. But Seven years ago I had to fake my death. My father’s associates and my brothers would have hunted me and everyone down if they knew I was still alive. And I couldn’t let that happen. So I requested a favor from master. I went into hiding, and took a large quest for when after I recovered enough.”

“Camilia,” Macao said softly like he was about to approach a scared animal, “You were dead, we were at the funeral.”

“and how many of you saw my body?” She asked raising a good point.

“Only the master.” Dorry said keeping a large piece of meat in his mouth as he spoke.

“Exactly.” she said, “Look, I know what I put you through was inexcusable, but it had to be done. I would rather see you guys shed tears then see you dead, and have it be my fault. And now that I’m back, I would like to start making it up to you.” She paused and looked to all of them, “If you will still alow me to be part of the guild, master Macao.”

He hadn’t even need to open his mouth to reply, the dog pile of a hug she had received from everyone was enough for her to know.

Tears streamed from her honey eyes as she embraced everyone.

“Arigoto, mena.” she choked out.

–days later–

“The place looks great, Camilia.” Bisca said as she looked around the hall.

“Arigoto.” the purple haired girl sighed, “I’ve been trying.”

“You’ve been doing a good job.” Alzack said coming up behind his wife, “How would you feel about coming with us to see if we can find the others?”

Camilia instantly stopped, her lips formed a thin line, and her eyes went down. Bisca elbowed Alzack in the stomach and he instantly regretted asking.

Out of everyone those lost in the island were probably the ones taking her death the hardest. And then they’d find out that she was in hiding these past seven years. It would be a long ride back to Marigold.

“No thank you.” Camilia finally said turning back to them and smiling brightly, “I think I’ll stay behind and keep things together here while everyone’s gone.”

“Good idea.” He said, “We’ll be back in a few days. hopefully with the others.”

Camilia nodded and watched as they left.

A part of her wished that everyone was alright, but another part, that more realistic part, told her that no matter how hard she wished, it had been seven years, the odds of them being alive were very slim.

She sighed to herself and grabbed her tool belt before climbing up the ladder. She thought it best to keep those ideas out of her mind, and remain content with whatever the end result may be. But she couldn’t dwell on those thoughts for too long, after all, she had a roof she had to fix.

—-

“You didn’t want to go with them, Romeo?” Macao asked his son, whom had his nose in a book at the moment.

“No.” Romeo replied as he closed his book and placed it in front of him on the table, “It’s been seven years, it’s best if we don’t get our hopes up about something like this, especially because it’s just a tip.”

“He has point.” Camilia put in, “We have no idea what happened to them.”

Everyone let out a deep sigh. While they al missed the main part of the guild, with almost everyone else out looking for them, the place seemed that much more empty.

The doors to the guild soon burst open. Out of habit Camilia placed her right hand on the shieth of her sword, ready to draw with her left. But that reaction was soon dropped when she saw the familiar faces of her nakama.

“We’re back!” Natsu called into the hall.

Romeo’s face broke out into a large smile as he started to cry in happiness.

“So young!” Nab yelled.

“They haven’t aged at all!” Laki cried.

Camilia placed her hand over her mouth in an attempt to stop herself from crying out. And while that helped, it didn’t do anything to stop the tears from falling down her face.

The first one to notice the girl was non other than her make shift older sister.

“C-camilia?” Erza asked softly, as if scared that if she spoke her name too loudly then the image that was in front of her would disappear forever.

The girl nodded, without removing her hand from her face.

The two girls lunged for each other and wrapped each other in a tight embrace as they sobbed.

“How did?” Erza questioned but couldn’t bring herself to speak more than that.

“Gomena.” Camilia cried into Erza’s shoulder, “I shouldn’t have, but I didn’t have any other choice.”

“You can tell us later.” Freed told her as he grabbed the girl from Erza’s arms, anime tears falling down his cheeks, “We’ve all missed you.”

Camilia returned the ruins mage’s hug instantly. And she was glad. She was glad that everyone was finally home, where they should be. Well, almost everyone one.

“So that’s what you went through the past seven years.” Levy was the first to speak after Master explained what happened to them on Tenrou, and Camilia about her story.

“It’s nothing compared to what you guys have been though.” She said embracing Lisanna tighter, “You literally missed seven years of your life.”

“And you spent seven dead, Cami-chan.” Lisanna told her best friend.

“But we’re both back now, neh, Li-chan?” She smiled.

“I say we celebrate not only our return, but Camilia’s aswell!” Master yelled, everyone cheered in agreement.

Booze were brought out, food wa prepared, and fights broke out. It was once again the Fairy Tail that everyone had grown to love and call home.

“Neh, Cami-chan, I almost forgot.” Lisanna called to her best friend as they finally let go of each other.

“What is it Li-chan?” Camilia asked, but her eyes were stuck on the brawl happening before them, she couldn’t help but smile.

“Laxus-san came to Tenrou and helped us out. He’s back in Marigold too. But I don’t know if master will end his suspension or not yet.” She said the last bit more to herself than to Camilia, but at the sound of the lightning dragon slyer’s name, Camilia’s heart sank from it’s soaring spot.

It’s not only that, but the second the rest of the guild heard Lisanna speak Laxus’ name to Camilia, almost everything froze.

“Soka?” Camilia said after a few moments of silence, “I hope he’s doing well then.”

“Is something wrong, Cami-chan?” Lisanna asked.

Camilia shook her head, “It’s nothing you should consern yourself with.” She assured her friend.

Lisanna looked at Camilia skeptykly for a moment before nodding in understanding.

The entire guild took a breath as Camilia changed the subject to Lisanna’s lime in Edolas.

Two days after everyone had returned from Tenrou and things had begun to fall into the regular pattern of things. It was raining very hard. Most people stayed inside in an attempt to stay dry.

But there was one person who did not. This person was walking along the edge of the forest with nothing for cover but the trees and a dark brown cloak that covered them completely.

This person seemed to be walking without a purpose, or at least that would be what it looked like to someone who saw them. But in fact they were walking with a purpose. And it became apparent when a small house came into sight, and they walked up to the door of said house.

They raised their fist to the door and knocked several times before waiting. Moments later the door was opened.

A large, muscular, blond man with a lightning bolt shaped scar on his right eye looked very surprised when he looked down at his unexpected company.

He didn’t say a word as he stared down at the small figure before him.

“Do you have a few minutes to spair?” Camilia aked softly, “I just wanna talk, if it’s okay.”

Her words brought Laxus out of his trance. His surprised looked turned to a frown as he moved away from the door.

“Get your ars in here before you catch a cold!” He barked. Camilia slipped in and pushed her hood off revealing her pixie cut purple hair and yellow eyes to her old friend, “I get you like the rain, but you’re cold blooded for heaven’s sake!”

He went on grumbling to himself as he walked back into the kitchen.

Camilia hung her soaking cloak up on an empty hook, and slipper her boots off before stepping onto the hard wood floor.

“Wait in the living room.” Laxus told her as she stepped into the kitchen. She nodded, even though he couldn’t see her, and did as she was told.

Camilia settled herself on the far end of the sofa, waiting patiently for the blond to finish what he was doing.

As she waited she looked around the room.

It was small. In the center of the room there was a dark maple coffee table on top of a fuzzy black rug. In front of it was the black leather sofa she was sitting on. Opposite to the sofa were two identical leather easy chairs on either side of a small brick fire place. The walls were painted a spring like green, that was several shades lighter than the green muscle shirt she had on. On the wall opposite to that of the door leading to the kitchen, the wall was lined with book shelves. there was only enough room for the two doors on that wall. One was a bathroom, she knew because the door was opened. The other door she assumed to be Laxus’ bedroom. Camilia knew he didn’t like people looking into his room, so he had a habit of closing the door all the time.

Camilia slowly raised from her spot on the sofa and walked over to one of the book shelves. One of the shelves on the case closest to the wall with the fireplace had nothing on it but pictures.

She smiled remembering so many of these. She had never known Laxus to be nostalgic. There was a picture of him and the thunder god tribe, one of him when he was younger with his grandfather, one of the entire guild, and then se couldn’t help but alow a smile to grace her lips as she saw the last one.

It was of her and Laxus, the day after she had gained the title of S rank mage. She had been so proud, and Lisanna was with her all through out her own exam. Laxus was the first one to congradulate her when they returned to Marigold.

She was smiling so big at the camera, her hands were folded infront of her, and she noticed the small blush she had over her cheeks. She recalled how shy she used to be. Laxus on the other hand was standing tall next to her, arms crossed, head phones on, and he mostly wore his I’m-so-board look, but she could easily see the faint smile on his face in the photo.

“I made you some tea.” Laxus said as he came out the kitchen two steaming mugs in his hands.

Camilia turned away from the pictures and smiled.

She took a seat next to Laxus and thanked him he passed her, her mug.

She took a small sip of the hot liquid to both warm and compose herself. When she pulled the mug away from her mouth, she couldn’t help but smile one again. Laxus had remembered how she liked her tea. No milk, no sugar, but two tea spoons of honey.

she carefully placed her mug on the coffee table before her, laced her fingers together her lap, and pressed her lips together into a thin line.

She could feel Laxus’ gaze on her out of the corner of his eye.

“I’m sorry.” Was the first thing she let him hear, “What I did and what I said that day, it wasn’t right, and I regret it. And I know that I can’t blame it on my anger at the time, or my need to save everyone. I don’t care if you forgive me or not, but I would like you to know that I’m sorry for it. And not a day went by since you were expelled that I haven’t thought back to what happened, and I hadn’t wished it different.”

“You think my expulsion was your fault?” Laxus asked her.

Camilia finailly looked up at Laxus, her eyes told all the truth, she nodded, “I told master that you deserved the worst punishment possible, because you hurt our nakama, and almost blew up the town.”

Laxus placed his mug on the table, then threw his left arm over the back of the couch to talk to her better.

Camilia got what he was trying to do. She pulled her right leg up onto the couch and turned her back to the armrest.

“Even if you didn’t say that, I still would have gotten expelled.” He told her, “I’m actually glad you were there.”

She gave him a confused look.

He smiled softly, “You acted fast and did what your instincts told you.” He told her, “You put everyone asleep so they wouldn’t partake in it, you freed the girls, and knocked some sence into me. I never should have even thought of trying what I did.”

“Why did you?” Camilia asked without thinking, “It’s been bugging me for a while. I understood your plan and execution, but I never got your motive.”

Laxus’ smile turned into a scowl.

“I was out on a job.” He started, “The guys and I had just finished up and were gonna head home the following morning. I was a bar, I over heard a whole bunch of drunks talking about guilds. Fairy Tail came up. They said it had to be the weakest most pathetic guild in Fior, and they didn’t understand why the king just didn’t close them down. I guess I wanted drunks like that to talk highly about- What the hell are you laughing at!?”

Camilia was giggling softly at what was being said.

“Gomena.” She giggled, before she calmed enough to talk normally, “You actually cared enough about what some random strangers in a bar with nothing better to do than rip on everyone and everything’s opinions? Laxus, I’m disappointed with you. The Laxus I know would never care about what anyone he didn’t care about said about himself, his nakama, or the guild.”

“It wasn’t the first time I heard it though.” He defended.

She smirked at him, “And I believe it, but you need to understand those people are everywhere, and they’re made to critique everything, even if it’s good. Fairy Tail is strong, and more importantly it’s home. But I guess I don’t have to tell you that, do I?”

“No. No you don’t.” Laxus said, “And if you can forgive me and sturdiness, I forgive you.”

Camilia beamed up at him, “I forgave you the second I realized I-uh, I had to leave.” She became slightly nervous thinking he’d see through her attempted cover up.

“Then I guess we’re forgiven then, huh?” He smiled leaning forward to be more at her eye level. Camilia smiled again.

“Mind if I ask you a question now?” Laxus inquired.

Camilia rolled her eyes but then nodded as she picked her mug up and held it to her lips.

“Why did you have to leave?” He asked.

Camilia’s smile fell as she lowered the cup to her lap.

“My father came looking for me.” She said slowly, “I fought him, and sent everyone else in the guild away after Natsu burned my mark off. I managed to kill him. Then Grey froze me, because Levy had a way to reverse what had happened. I figured why not. It ended up working, but I knew if I stayed at the guild then his associates and my brothers would have come looking for me and the guild. So I faked my own death. went up to mountains for a while, layed low and trained. After about three years I went out on the quest master had given me before I left. Got a lot of money from it. But I also found out I was still being hunted. They didn’t all believe I was dead. Took a full year to complete the quest. And after that I went back into hiding for another three years. Because they never found any other evidence of me being alive, they assumed that I died along with Kimoto, and my nakama buried me. But I still need to be cautious.”

“That why your hair’s so short?” Laxus asked.

Camilia nodded, “Makes me a little less recognisable.”

“I like it short.” He told her, “It’s different.”

Camilia blushed and looked away, the only compliments she’d ever gotten from Laxus were about her power, and they were very subtle.

“So did you meet anyone while away?” Laxus suddenly asked casually as he sipped from his mug.

Camilia smiled, “Yes. Lot’s of people.” She told him, “The lady who took me in while I was in hiding was really nice, she made lots of sweets, and always cared for my injuries when I had them. But I didn’t like her daughter. She was really rude.”

He glared at her lightly, slightly annoyed by her changing the question.

“I meant a guy you didn’t want to leave.” He hissed.

Camilia smiled lightly and looked down.

“No.” She said quietly.

“After seven years, you have made zero progress in the dating world.” He sighed, “You’re hopeless.”

“Camilia took a sip of her tea before replying, “Maybe I was holding out these past seven years.” She said.

“Who on earth is worth holding out for seven years for?” He demanded.

Camilia shrugged, “True love is.”

Laxus looked at her sideways. She still hadn’t looked up from her tea.

“I got one more question for you.” He told her, Camilia looked up and met his gaze finally. Laxus got up and walked past her to go into one of the doors, before coming back out, and closing the door behind him. When he sat back down he held a flower in his hand, “You know all about the language of flowers. So you obviously know what this one means. I unfortunately don’t, and I wanted to know; why did you give it to me?”

“it’s a giloxa.” she stated gently taking it from his hand, with just a touch from her fingers the pressed flower came back to life, filling it with the some bright colour as before, “A giloxa represents love at first sight.”

“Bet you didn’t know it’s meaning when you first gave it to me, huh?” Laxus asked, almost hesitantly.

“No, I knew what it means.” She told him, “I find it funny though. I promised myself I would never give this flower to anyone. But then I met you.”

Laxus swallowed hard before saying, “What are you saying?”

Camilia downed the small amount left of her tea and placed the now empty cup on the coffee table.

“I love you, Laxus.” She said staring into his eyes, “I loved you since I first saw you all those years ago. It was actually you who made me so quiet and shy when I first came to Fairy Tail. I was so scared that I was going to say something stupid and look like an idiot. I love you, Laxus.” Camilia held the flower out to the blond and he took it, ” I don’t care if you don’t return my feelings. I told you how I feel. I have no regrets.”

“I have something to tell you too, Camilia.” Laxus said, eyes fixated on the flower in his hands.

“What is it, Laxus?” She asked.

At first Laxus didn’t say anything, he merely reached forward and gently tucked the giloxa behind Camilia’s ear before cupping her cheek in his massive hand.

“When I first saw you, I thought you were just another baka, like Natsu. But then when I looked into your eyes for the first time, I saw my life, like the future, and it was with you. And I still see it, but much further down the line.” He paused and ran his thumb over her delicate skin, “I love you too, Camilia.”

Neither needed anymore than what was said, they slowly leaned in, laxus moving down a little, and Camilia pushing herself up, untill they eventually meeting the middle. And whether it was magic, electricity, chemistry, or their true love, they don’t know. All they knew was that, that moment, their first kiss, it all felt right.

And that no matter how much Makarov, Natsu, or anyone in the guild may object or dislike what goes on between the two of them, they knew it was true.

After a few minutes they pulled away, Laxus’ smirk was so wide he was sure that his face might crack. Camilia was red and breathing slightly heavily. After a moment of catching their breaths, Camilia smiled and said:

“Maybe I could talk to Master to see if he’d end your expulsion.”

Laxus smiled and ran a hand through her silky purple hair, then pushed her head to meet his.

To others, what happened between Laxus and Camilia might be wrong, but to them, it felt so right.

Leave a Reply

