Some Things Never Change(A Crow Hogan One-Shot)

I sat lonely on that swing watching all the other kids run and play in the play ground. I wanted nothing more than to join them, but I doubted that any of them would want the burden of me as a friend. Just as I thought that I felt the swing rush forward and myself go up high. I squealed a little at the suddenness of it all and hurriedly made myself stop. In front of me was a boy with orange hair and brown eyes laughing. “You’re weird.” I pouted and as he laughed again I run up to him and pushed him down. “Jerk!” I yelled. “Sorry about him.” I head behind me. I turned around and saw three boys, one was a blond, one had almost white hair, and the other had really spiky black hair with different colours in it. He had been the one who spoke. I stuffed my hands in my pockets and shrugged as I looked at the ground. Only to need to brace myself as I was shoved from behind. I turned instantly and punched the kid who underducked me out. “Hey, what was that for!?” He yelled. “You started it!” I countered, “Don’t you know how to treat a girl?” All of them seemed to freeze. “Martha said your name was Mark.” The blond spoke up. “Marc,” I said, “Short for Marcey.” Realization dawned on all of them. The one with the almost white hair stepped forward, “I’m Kalin, this is Yusei, Jack, and you’ve already kinda met Crow.” I nodded. “You pack a good punch!” Crow said jumping up, “Teach me sometime?” I stared at the boy a moment then smiled, “Sure.”

And thus began the most complicated friendship this world has ever seen, EVER.

My name is Marcey, I’ve been friends with Yusei and the gang since I was little. I grew up in the stailite before my father got transferred to New Domino City and I had to leave them all behind. Believe me I tried. But I did eventually come back. Not like I wanted, but I did.

I got thrown in the Satilite almost immediately after I got out of the hospital. Yeah, I was in there a while. It was my and my twin sister’s thirteenth birthday. We were at the top of a very tall building and she pushed me off. I somehow survived, but the left side of my body is a mess of scars, about half my bones on that side are replacements aswell. You could say I’ve never been complete since that accident.

I love dueling, my deck consists of all dark attribute cards.

And once again this is probably the most messed up ‘love’ story there is.

“Blah, blah blah blah blah.”

That was all I was hearing coming out Crow’s mouth as I was working on a new program for our new duel runner. He wouldn’t admit it, neither would Jack, but I was a lot better than the three of them when it came to these kinds of things.

“Are you even listening to me?” He asked finally realizing I was probably zoned out.

“No, I’m paying attention.” I lied not even looking back as I thought about how to increase the speed without losing control of steering.

“No, Marc, you most defiantly are not.” He growled.

“You’re absolutely right.” I told him, “Nor do I care.”

He sighed loudly before walking up behind me and placing a hand on my shoulder. I tensed a little because it was my left one, and he didn’t know about the bones thing. He was more than perfectly aware of me being in the hospital for such a long time and why. But I kept all of them ignorant to my critical condition, and lack of real support in my body.

“What do you want for your birthday?” He asked.

I was taken back slightly, Crow asking me what I wanted? That was like asking the sun the go out for a while.

“This program to be done.” I told him.

“No really.” He said.

“Crow, I got all I want.” I told him.

“Liar!” He spat.

“How do you figure?” I asked realizing there was a way.

“Here we are barely making ends meat, and you say you have everything you want?” He asked.

It was my turn to sigh, I turned around in my chair to face him.

“I have a steady job, I have a roof over my head, I have a duel runner, I have everyone out of stailite, and I have friends that got my back.” I told him, “If I have anything else that I want, I am the greediest person to walk the earth.”

And with that I turned back around to my program.

“What about revenge with your sister?” He asked almost in a whisper.

I completely froze. Why would he even joke about that? There were a few moments of silence between us before I went back to typing and said,

“Revenge is for the weak. Besides, I hold no grudge over what happened.”

“You’re crazy, you know that!” He yelled.

“No, I don’t. Tell me how, Crow.” I said getting mad myself.

“She throws you off a building at your thirteenth birthday, and you don’t hold a grudge against her for it!? What the hell is wrong with you?”

I stood up and clenched my fists tight trying to stop myself from killing him.

“I went through enough pain then, when it happened.” I hissed, “What happened, happened, Crow. I can’t change that. And if you really want to get me something, don’t just do me a favor.” I took a deep breath before saying, “Leave what I want to leave about my life in the past, in the past!”

And before he could say anything else I was gone, running past Yusei as he came in.

Crow’s pov.

I blew it. I thought. And here I just wanted to help her. Why do I always end up messing things up with her?

“What happened?” Yusei asked as he walked down the stairs to me, “She’s never that angry, even with you.”

“I kinda brought something up I shouldn’t have.” I admitted, “Think she’ll stay mad long?”

“Depends.” He said.

“It was about her sister throwing her off the building.” I told him.

Yusei sighed and placed a hand on my shoulder, “You shouldn’t bring such things up anymore, Crow.” He told me, “Marcey has moved on from the anger and hate she felt about it, and has grown to accept just what her sister did to her. Marcey isn’t one to hang on to the past like any of us. She thinks about it just long enough to realize why it happened, and how she can benefit from it. But then she let’s it go and looks at tomorrow.”

“She just looks so sad all the time, Yus.” I told him, “I don’t like seeing her like that.”

“Non of us do.” He told me, “But what I can tell you is that Marc is no longer forcing a smile for us, but she’s found herself in true happiness.”

“In all this, how?” I asked.

“You know she’s never liked her family, or extravagant things.”

“So?”

“So, look around.” He told me, “Marcey’s happy here because we’re here, her friends. And that’s really all anyone needs to get by.”

I nodded, “So how do you think I can make it up to her?” I asked him.

Yusei thought for a moment then smiled and said, “I have an idea.”

Normal pov.

It was almost midnight when I came in. All the lights were off, and the soft snoring of the guys filled the house.

Slowly and quietly I crept upstairs to go to bed.

Sliding past everyone’s rooms I though I was home free, until I hit the squeak in the floor. I mentally cussed myself for always hitting it, and quickly looked over my shoulder. Nothing, the snoring hadn’t even lightened up a little.

I breathed a soft sigh of relief and went straight to my room making sure to shut the door quietly.

I turned on the light, and there were no surprises anywhere. So, I slipped out of my boots, pants, jacket and tight shirt, and slipped into sweat pants and a baggy t-shirt.

After that I turned out the light and crawled into bed.

The next morning I woke up to the screaming of my alarm in my ear. I smashed it down and stretched as I sat up.

A soft knock came to my door, followed by the smooth voice of Yusei Fudo.

“Marcey, are you in there?” He questioned.

“Yeah, come on in.” I told him and sat indian style instead of on my knees.

He slid in quietly and closed the door silently before walking over and sitting on the edge of the bed.

“What’s up?” I asked.

“It’s about last night.” He said.

I rubbed my face and said, “I’d like to forget about that if you don’t mind.”

He nodded, “I’m here just to let you know, Crow’s sorry for bringing it up. I don’t think he fully understands.”

I shrugged and looked away.

“Why don’t you get dressed and come down stairs.” He offered, “Jack picked up bread on his way home so we were going to have toast.”

“Still have raspberry jam?” I asked.

He nodded, and I smiled.

“I’ll be down in a few.”

All of today, Crow was unusually quiet. It was strange. Nice, but strange, as Crow Hogan was anything but quiet. I was sitting on the roof staring up at the stars. I had gotten my wish, no one remembered my birthday. I wasn’t tourchered by constant reminders through out the day.

I heard noise from behind me and turned to see Crow sitting down next to me.

“Thought you didn’t like heights.” I said.

“I don’t, but you’re here.” He said.

I stared at him out of the corner of my eye, then shrugged it off. We just sat there for a while watching the stars.

I tensed slightly when I felt his hand press against mine, but I didn’t pull away.

I guess there’s something I haven’t told you just yet. I kinda have this crush on one of my friends. That one is, Crow. And if you would replace crush with am madly, deeply, truly, crazily in love with, you’d be accurate.

“I’m really sorry about yesterday, Marc.” He said quietly.

“Let’s just forget about that, okay.” He looked at me surprised, “I shouldn’t have snapped at you either.”

“Let’s forget about it then.” He said and smiled, I smiled back and we sat there for a while longer, holding hands and watching he stars.

I heard a light beeping, like a watch or alarm or something. I looked at Crow and he pressed a button on his watch.

“It’s officially midnight.” He said and looked at me with a bright smile, “Meaning it’s the day after your birthday.”

I looked at him a little confused.

“Meaning, this isn’t a birthday present!” He said shoving something wrapped in navy blue paper in my hands.

“Crow, you didn’t have-

“I wanted to, now open it.” He told me.

I sighed lightly and carefully undid the paper. I was surprised, to say the least, at what I saw, It was a beautiful necklace with three black bird feathers as the pendant.

“It’s beautiful.” I said, eyeing it.

“It’s not real silver.” He admitted.

I took it out of the box and examined it closer, “You’re right.” I said.

He winced as if I would hit him.

“It’s better.”

I looked at him with soft eyes and a gentle smile, he smiled back at me. I put the necklace on and rested my head against his shoulder.

“Thank you.” I whispered.

Crow hesitated a moment before wrapping an arm around my shoulder and resting his head on mine.

“You’re welcome, my dark princess.” He whispered back.

I could only smile more to myself as he said that. And we sat there for a few moments more enjoying each other’s company and the stars above. . . . . Before it was all ruined.

“Can we get down from here now?”

“Way to ruin the moment, wimp!” I snapped.

“Excuse for hating heights!”

“You love birds and you hate heights, realize how controversial that is!”

No one’s pov.

From their bedrooms, Yusei and Jack smiled to themselves. You two were on talking terms again, and maybe they wouldn’t hate each other as much anymore. As much.

Leave a Reply

