If I Can’t Protect You(A Yu Yu Hakusho Hiei One-Shot)

In the heat of battle I heard the owf tell the onna to watch out. I glanced out of the corner of my eye to see her push Yukina out of the way and take something in her stomach.

I watched with wide eyes as two demons came and took her away.

I quickly finished off all the low level demons and met back up with Yusuke and them.

“I’m so sorry.” Yukina said on the verge of tears, “I should have been watching, I shouldn’t have let her get hit and taken, I’m sorry.”

“Quite your complaining.” I told her.

“Hey, don’t talk to my girl like that shorty!” The owf yelled.

“She’s being completely irrational.” I told him, “The onna’s strong enough to take care of herself, we don’t need to rush off and save her like a normal human.”

“He has a good point.” The fox backed me up, “If we rush in without a good plan then, Ayame-chan could get hurt in the process. For now we should think of what to do and assume that she’ll be alright.”

“Why do you think she’d be alright, Kurama-san?” Yukina asked him.

He smiled, “It’s quiet simple actually, they shot the tranquilizer at you knowing that Ayame was the closet and was more than willing to take it for you, Yukina-chan. That knocked her out and they took her being quiet careful about her body. I’d assume that who ever’s behind this want’s, Ayame-chan’s body in tact. They wont hurt her just yet.”

I hated what the fox was saying, if they weren’t going to hurt my onna yet, when were they and what were they going to do.

I thankful for her though, saving Yukina like that. I also knew she wasn’t going to die that easy. But I was mad at her for allowing herself to get captured that easily.

“I think I know how we can find her!” The owf suggested.

“How Kuwrabara?” Kurama asked.

He grinned stupidly, “With, Hiei and the red string connecting them.”

I narrowed my eyes at him, just because he was stupid enough to believe in the crap didn’t mean he had to aswell.

“What the hell are you talking about?” I demanded.

He looked at me like it was the most obvious thing in the world, “The red string that connects two lovers, duh. I used it to find, Yukina, you can use it to find Ayame.”

I sighed, I never should have let her announce that we were together in the first place. Ever since then everyone had been asking about us and teasing. But never once had that lop sided grin on her face even wavered.

“I’m not sure it’s the same for them as it is for you two.” The fox told him.

“I kept one of the hunch men alive,” I told them pointing to a half dead demon that layed limp against the trunk of a tree, “He can tell us where they’re heading with her.

“You know I seriously thought that you’d be cutting and killing everything in your sight until you found her.” Yusuke told me.

“I can keep a better head then you can.” I told him and picked up the demon by the scruff of his neck.

“Tell us where they took the onna.” I told him.

He said nothing but turned his head away. I gritted my teeth silently before pointing my sword in his face.

“I can make this painful for you if you don’t cooperate.” I hissed.

“That’s what I expected.” Yusuke said more to himself than anyone else.

“Shouldn’t we have a plan?” Botan asked.

“With this slew?” The fox said, “We can make one but who’ll follow it?”

She sighed knowingly.

“Th-there’s a mansion, a-about five miles west.” He stammered out, “They took her there.”

“And what do they plan to do?” I snarled.

He swallowed, “Our m-master. H-h-h-heeee wanted the most beautiful dancer around for his birthday.”

I threw him to the ground and started off west.

“A beautiful dancer for his birthday?” Yusuke asked, “Then why Ayame?”

“Not a beautiful woman tha dances.” The fox told him, “A dancer that dances beautifully. And if we’re going by around here, that’s Ayame.”

What was coming out of his mouth was really starting to bug me. My onna was beautiful, the most in the land, they were just to blind and stupid to see it. And her dancing abilities even more beautiful.

“Beauty’s in the eye of the beholder, Hiei.” The fox told me.

True enough, but I continued to stalk on quickening my pace. I wanted her back as soon as possible. Never would I be able to admit this out loud, but I missed having my onna at my side.

Ayame’s pov.

I blinked a couple of times upon waking up. I looked around, no longer was I in the forest with everyone else in the heat of battle. Right now I was sitting on a large bed in a room, full of beautiful furniture. On the end of the bed where I layed was:

Red Ayame top

Red Ayame Bottoms

I looked at it dumbly. Why was red always a sexy colour? I asked myself. I didn’t look good in red, I looked better in purple, or blue, or black. Anything but red!

The large door opened and I reached for a knife in my boot, only to realise not only were my boots gone, but I was chained to the bed.

“So you’re up.” A man about thirty or so said as he walked in with several other men. Two were body guards, one was carrying a tray, and the last was actually a girl in a maids outfit.

“Where am I and who the hell are you?” I demanded in my roughest voice(I was mistaken for a boy a lot because of my rougher vocal cords).

“I’m Jogi Lee.” He said showing me his crooked, yellowed, and slightly rotting teeth, “And you my dear are in my humble home.”

“What am I doing here?” I snarled.

“You’re my birthday present.” He told me, “And tonight you’re gonna dance.”

I spat on him and hissed, “I only dance for people I like.”

He stepped closer and closer toward the bed, “Then we can skip the dancing, and go straight to my birthday present from you.”

I eyed him coolly.

“I get to kick you in the groin?” I asked.

His right hand, rough, cold, hard, collided with my left cheek.

“Watch yourself girlie.” He told me, “You’re in no position to be ding stuff like that. I could kill you at any moment.”

“Beats lookin’ at your ugly mug.” I told him, only to receive a few more slaps.

“Sakura.”He snarled, “Fix her up and make her look nice for tonight. Like it or not she’s dancing, and like or love it you’ll be in my bed tonight.”

I narrowed my eyes and spat, “I’ll kill you before you can even touch me.”

He hit me again and left with the three men leaving the girl.

“You shouldn’t talk like that to Jogi-sama like that.” She told me as she put ice on my face where he hit me.

“Don’t worry about me.” I told her, “I’ll carry out my promises to him.”

She didn’t say anything she just kept doing what she was supposed to. But there was no way I was ever going to be in that outfit.

Hiei’s pov.

Call it a feeling, but I was pretty sure that someone just hit my onna.

I clenched my fists and headed on with an even faster pace.

“Hiei, slow down, we have time.” The fox called after me.

“He’s touching her, I can feel it.” I hissed.

For the past little while I’ve been trying using my jagan eye to find her without the rest knowing. I managed to locate her spirit power length. It was easy because I was so accustomed to it.

I couldn’t locate her exact location, but I knew she was in a house, surrounded by demons, and there was a pervert in there who hit her.

Human or not, I was going to kill him.

Ayame’s pov.

I sat in the fetal position on the bed staring at the door. I knew there was something outside it, I just didn’t know what.

The girl left a little while ago to tell her boss that I refused to put on the outfit.

That gave me time to think.

I tried focusing my spirit power to break the chains, but I couldn’t. Found out the chains sucked out any and all spirit power I had if I tried to use it.

I growled in annoyance. For once I actually wished someone would save me.

The door opened and in stepped Jogi, his body guards and a demon.

“Change her.” He ordered to the demon.

I had really good eyes when it came to watching this that were fast. The demon never even moved. And without warning I felt my back and arms didn’t have anything on them. I glanced down to find myself in that red outfit, and my cloths laying where the costume had been.

“What the hell is this!?” I demanded and started flailing my arms around keeping my knees against my chest, “I watched his every move! How the hell did that happen!?”

“I can change things as I please.” The demon told me,”If I so wanted to I could strip you of your cloths, your hair, your life and you wouldn’t even know until it’s too late.”

“I hate demons like you.” I told him, “So weak you need to have someone who’s rich and powerful make you think he owns you. And you do what he says because you think he does too. You can’t think for yourself, so you do as he wants thinking that’s what you want. But that’s not true is it?”

“Master said I could watch you dance, and that’s what I want.” He hissed back.

“Get in line, no one in this house is ever going to see me dance.” I snarled.

“Sir!” another guy in a tux said bursting through the door, “The west wall has been infiltrated.”

“How many?” He asked.

“Six.” he said, “Two are women, three are average middle school boys, and the last appears to be a demon.”

“I’m getting out of here! You’re gonna die!” I sang to him.

He hit me again and snarled to his hunch men, “Hold them off, but make sure they come to ‘that’ room.”

“Sir, are you sure?” He asked.

“Don’t second guess me!” He said, “I’m taking the girl there.”

“Sir!” He sad and took off.

“Drug her.” he said to one of his body guards.

He approached me with a needle in hand, I struggled a little to get away, but the second I felt a small prick one my arm, everything went black again.

Hiei’s pov.

“Damn it where is she!?” Yusuke yelled.

“This would be easier if he had the string!” The owf yelled at me as we fought of many demons.

“I have something better, Baka!” I said slicing through eight at a time.

“You actually have her and we’re just wasting time?” He asked.

“His Jagan eye!” Kurama yelled for me.

“We’ll just stay here!” Botan yelled to us.

As of right now I couldn’t care less about either of them. I needed to know my onna was alright.

Yusuke kicked open a door, the rest of us behind him. My eyes went wide with what I saw.

Ayame’s pov.

When I woke up again, I was sitting on the ground in a new room, facing a set of doors, my long hair covering my chest, my shirt was gone, and my arms were up bound with chains that went up to the ceiling.

I nearly cried out in pain as something connected with my back. I looked out of the corner of my eye to see Jogi holding a whip in one hand. A lot of demons behind him.

He cracked the whip again and I bit my lip to stop from screaming, I bit hard enough to draw blood.

He was about to use it again when the door got kicked open.

My eyes went wide looking at them, they were just as shocked if not more. Hiei was a million miles past pissed.

I grinned sheepishly at them, but them cried out in pain as the whip hit me again.

“Baka like you can’t have a beauty like her.” He snarled.

I watched Hiei’s movements carefully, in a normal blink of the eye he unsheathed his sword, cut the chains that bound my hands and cut through about half of the demons behind me, not to mention cutting the whip into small useless pieces.

My arms instantly moved to my chest to cover it better as the chains were no longer on my wrists.

Something then floated down and landed on my head. I pulled it off careful not to expose my chest, it was Hiei’s cloak thing.

I looked back at him. He didn’t look at me.

“Cover yourself.” he told me, then looked at me out of the corner of his eye, “And for future reference, red isn’t your colour.”

I grinned at him and pressed it closer to my chest to cover myself. It was just his way of saying everything will be alright.

Jogi grabbed me by me hair and pulled me up, he pulled out a knife and held it to me.

“One false move and she’s dead.” He threatened.

Hiei didn’t blink, no one had moved from the door way.

“You know something, Jogi.” I told him, “You should never threaten a girl who can kick your ass.”

Before he could say anything I shot my leg up and kicked him in the jaw and sent him through, oh, I’d say about every wall in the house, and a good number of trees outside.

I smirked at my work and wrapped Hiei’s cloak around me better. The demons all ran away, along with the body guards and staff.

“That was easy.” Kuwrabara laughed.

“Ayame!” Yukina ran towards me, “Let me heal your back.”

I looked at her and smiled, letting her do what she needed to do.

“Well, he didn’t hit you too many times.” She smiled, “You’ll be fine.”

I smiled down at her, “Arigoto, Yukina.”

“You’re alright, Ayame-chan?” Kurama asked.

I nodded, “I’m not gonna be able to lay on my back for a while, but I’m fine.”

We shared a small laugh. I looked over and saw Hiei examining the floor where I once sat.

“What’s up with shorty?” I faintly heard Kuwrabara ask.

I walked over to him and wrapped my arms around him.

“It isn’t your fault.” I told him burying my face in his hair, “I shouldn’t have been so careless.”

“I was right there.” He told me clenching his fists, “I was right there and I couldn’t do anything about it.”

“No,” I said, “You could have. But you trusted me enough not to interfere with my fights. You knew I could handle this, and I did.”

“You shed blood.” He almost whispered sounding hurt.

“But you came along before I could spill anymore.” I told him, “Yukina said I’ll be fine. It’s just a matter of taking a couple pain killers tonight.”

He looked at me, and I saw something only I could see on his handsome features, concern and worry.

“Pain will fade, but you need to move on aswell.” I told him.

He sighed and grabbed my hand before pulling me out.

“Let’s go.” He said to the others.

“Did I miss something?” Kuwrabara asked.

“It’s one of those moments you have with Yukina.” I told him walking backwards, “It’s just a lot rarer with us.”

“Not really, the shrimp’s emotionless.” He said.

I started to giggle. Hiei may be a lot of things, but emotionless was not one of them.

That night I layed on my stomach, Zooroo asleep at my head. My brothers made me take at least thirty pills before sending me to bed when in truth I only really needed some aspirin.

I looked over to my window, and on the ledge sat Hiei.

I propped myself up on my elbows causing him to look at me. I motioned for him to come here and he did. I moved to my side to look at him.

“What happened today was not your fault.” I told him.

“Your brothers acted the opposite.” He nearly hissed.

I wrapped my arms around him forcing him to lay next to me.

“Those guys freak out when I get a paper cut.” I told him, “They’re my brothers, and while I can beat them all up in an instant, they think of me as fragile.”

He looked so sad as he caressed my cheek.

“You’re an older brother too, you look at, Yukina like a delicate flower, right?” I asked.

He nodded.

“It’s the same for them. Even if I came back unscathed, they make a big deal out of it.” I told him, “Don’t beat yourself up over it.”

“But I was there and I could have stopped it.” He told me.

I sighed before getting out of bed and grabbing something from my desk drawer. I flicked open the switch blade and poked my finger with it. A drop of blood fell to the floor.

I looked at him, “You could have stopped that, but you didn’t. And I’ll tell you way.” I put the blade back and sat next to him on my bed, “You trust me enough to know I can take care of myself, and you know something like that wouldn’t hurt me.”

“But a whip and chains are different.” He said sitting up.

I put my finger in my mouth and sucked for a minute before showing him the lack of blood flow.

“Things like these heal easy.” I told him, “But it’ll hurt longer if you keep thinking it’s your fault.”

“It is.” He nearly hissed.

I grabbed either side of his face and pressed it against mine in another mind-blowing kiss only he could ever give me. I pulled away way too soon for my liking but I was making a point and had him me right in the eye.

“Were you the one who used a tranquilizer on me?” I asked him.

“No.” he said softly.

“Did you chain my unconscious form to a bed in a strange room?” I asked.

“No.”

“Did you magically change me from my jeans and hoodie to that dancer’s costume?” I asked.

“He what?.” He demanded staring me dead in the eye.

“Did you?” I demanded using my height to my advantage to make him answer me.

“No.” He said looking away.

I made him look at me, “Did you then order one of your henchmen to knock me out again, bring me to a different room, remove my shirt and bind me in such a way I might as well a slave?”

“No.” He closed his eyes and then opened them up looking at me straight.

“Did you bring a whip down on my back three times, before you saved me?” I asked.

“How can I save you if I’m hurting you?” He asked.

I smirked and crossed my arms.

I gave him a moment to think, then a rare smile crossed his lips before he carefully brought me int his chest and we layed down.

I rested my head on his chest, and he placed a hand on my back where we both knew I wasn’t hurt, he guided me with him as he layed on his back, I was on my stomach.

I traced the muscles on his torso as he stroked my hair, according to him it always smelled like strawberries. Makes sence because of my shampoo.

Slowly but surely I began to fall asleep to his demon heart beat.

Hiei’s pov.

I stared down at my onna. I knew she was asleep by know, I just watched her peaceful face in the moon light.

She was right though. I couldn’t protect her from everything. No matter how hard I tried. I never could. I couldn’t protect her from getting the scar on her tail bone, I couldn’t stop Taguro from ripping a hole in her stomach in the champion ships, and I couldn’t protect her today from a human.

I tightened my grip on her. If I can’t protect her,then do I have the right to call her mine in the first place?

I lightly kissed her head and stared up at the ceiling. I don’t think I do. But if I were to ever tell her this, she would say the exact opposite. I will trust her to do things herself. I know she can.

But I also knew that if I am to protect her, I can’t let her out of my sight. The only time I can protect her is when she’s with me. And if I can’t, I have absolutely no reason to call her mine at all.

Leave a Reply

