What If It Was Real? Part 2

I pulled another knife from my belt and readied it in my hand, after a moment of concentration I let the blade fly out my hand. It missed the center of the target by about a half-inch. I grimaced to myself.

I had been practicing for about four days straight. I had improved greatly from my first try, but I still wasn’t good enough.

I sighed as I walked forward to collect the knives wedged into the target on the main mast. Mykhayla and I had officially joined the Kidd Pirates. Kidd had kinda put up with, Mykhayla for the time being. He had realised early on that she wasn’t the most mature person in the world. And consequently that made him hate her a lot.

Killer had taught me how to throw knives. Mykhayla almost took her hand off when he tried to teach her, so it was kinda unofficially decided that she would be a deck hand, and I would actually learn to fight. I took to it pretty quick to.

“You’ve improved a lot.” Killer said coming up behind me.

“I’m still not good enough.” I told him, putting all my knives back into their holsters.

“Don’t be too hard on yourself. You’ve done a lot better than anyone could have guessed you could.” He told me, “You’ve been training all morning. Why not take a break for right now?”

He phrased it like a question but I knew it was an order.

I nodded, “I’ll continue more later.” I said more to myself than to him.

He nodded at me, “Now go relax.”

I nodded and made my way towards the back of the ship. I always liked leaning against the wall and looking out over the shimmering sea.

However, my plan was crushed with a loud shout being audible through out the entire ship.

“What the hell do you think you’re doing, wench!?” Kidd yelled at Mykhayla.

The said blond looked from the mop to our captain, back to the mop she had in hand, “Mopping.” She told him, like it was the most obvious thing in the world. Which, to be fair, it kinda was.

“You aren’t doing it right!” He yelled at her.

“I’m pushing around a stick with material on one end of it that has been soaked in soapy water. How am I doing it wrong?” She asked him.

“You’re supposed to move it in a counter-clockwise motion! Not clockwise!” He yelled at her.

“I’ve always mopped clockwise, I don’t see the problem.” She told him.

“Well I do!” Kidd yelled back.

“What’s the problem?” Mykhayla asked him.

“You’re doing it wrong!” He told her.

“Say’s who?” She asked.

“Me! Now do it right!” He scorned.

“Okay.” She told him and looked away from the argument to continue what she was doing. Mopping in a clockwise direction.

“You’re doing it wrong!” Kidd yelled again.

“What’s the problem!?” She yelled back.

“You’re not going in a counter-clockwise direction!” He told her, “That’s how you’re supposed to mop! Otherwise it doesn’t get as clean!”

“It’s plenty clean!” She yelled at him.

“No it’s not, now do it right!” He told her.

“Fine!” She yelled back and started going in a counter-clockwise motion.

Kidd had a satisfied smirk on his face as he walked away from, Mykhayla. However, the second the red-head was out of her sight, she went back to mopping in the clockwise direction.

I sighed to myself and continued on to the rear of the ship. I reached the middle of the wall and slid down it until I was in a sitting position.

I leaned my head back onto the wood, and listened to the waves lap up against the sides of the ship. It was peaceful. I think I was almost at the point where I could sleep when I heard the guy in the look out tower tell all of us that there was a ship coming up over the horizon.

I sighed and reluctantly pushed myself off the wall to go back around to the front of the deck.

“Mykhayla, get below deck!” I called to her as everyone else was getting ready for the battle that was undoubtably going to happen.

“No.” She told me firmly, “I’m not leaving until this is done!”

“I can’t protect you if you’re in the heat of battle.”I told her.

“Torri, I don’t know if you should be in this either.” Killer told me coming up to the two of us, “You’re good, but I don’t think you’re good enough just yet.”

I shook my head, “Practice is practice, Killer. The only way I’m actually going to get any better is if I experience this in real life, besides I’ll have all you watching my back.”

I heard him smirk as he nodded and then he left us.

“Go below deck!”

“Can I finish what I started first?” She whined, “I spent twenty minutes arguing my point with, Kidd!”

I sighed, “Do the rear of the ship, and if anything happens, scream.” I told her.

“Okay!” She said and smiled before taking off to the opposite end of the deck.

I sighed and trekked over to where the main crew was.

Kidd gave me a side glance as I approached them.

“You’re good enough to fight this time around?” He asked me.

“We’ll never know unless I try.” I told him with a shrug.

He growled lightly, but didn’t say anything.

The ship grew closer and closer. As it did so I began to get really anxious. Killer placed a calming hand on my shoulder and I nodded to him. I guess he knew I needed this.

The ships grew close together and the others boarded us.

I took a deep breath and pulled two knives from the holster that went over my left shoulder and connected at my belt.

I knew how to throw them, but I was also good at fighting hand to hand with them.

I gathered my thoughts and threw one at a pirate that was coming at me, I got him in the neck. I grabbed a second knife and moved swiftly as a large guy charged at me. I went under the giant hammer that he was about to smash onto me, I slashed open his wrist, and slashed again at the back of his knee, and again on his jugular vein.

“You’re doing it wrong, baka!” We all paused to hear the familiar voice, saying a very familiar phrase.

“I’m doing it my way!” She yelled back, “And there is nothing wrong with it! I’ve always done it clockwise.”

“You’re supposed to go counter-clockwise, wench!” He yelled at her.

“Of all times.” I heard Killer curse under his breath.

I sighed, but perked when I heard a third voice in the mix.

“She’s not doing it wrong, you moron. You’re supposed to go clockwise!”

“You’re both utter and complete morons, it’s counter-clockwise! Everybody knows that!”

“Pfft, no! It’s always been clockwise, moron. An idiot knows that! Listen to this guy, he knows what he’s talking about!”

“You’re on my crew! You listen to me and what I say! And I say you don’t know anything! And it’s counter-clockwise!”

“Moron! Clockwise, that’s how it’s supposed to go. Most people are right-handed, making it easier for them to go clockwise, so it doesn’t matter!!”

“It does to me you. . .

Kidd let out an unrepeatable string of curses and insults to the opposing captain. I had just about enough of it. I took a tight hold on my knife in my right hand, and approached the scene before me. As they were too busy to notice me, I placed my left hand on his shoulder, he looked behind him just as I plunged my blade hilt deep into his spinal cord.

Blood formed around him mouth before I pushed him off my blade, only to fall forward in front of both my captain and Mykhayla, who stared at the body with wide eyes. I sheathed my knife, kicked the bucket over, ripped the mop out of Mykhayla’s hands and broke the handle against my shin before tossing it on top of the corpse. I then pulled her by the hand towards the door.

“Clean up this mess.” I called back to the guys, who quickly got over their shock and killed the remaining crew. Meanwhile I pulled my blonde counterpart down stairs and hallways to get to our room. I pushed her inside and slammed the door behind me.

“Do you always have to fight with him?” I demanded from her.

“He started it!” She defended.

“And you couldn’t have just agreed?” I asked.

“I always do it my way.” she told me.

I sighed, “You’re an idiot.” I told her.

“And you just killed someone!” She exclaimed.

“Actually, I killed three people, and did you just realize that!?” I asked her crossing my arms over my chest.

“Maybe.”

I sighed and said nothing more as I opened the door and slammed it behind me, before marching back up to the deck to help getting loot and cleaning up the deck.

—-

“I like broccoli!” Mykhayla shouted at the top of her lungs.

Everyone on deck instantly turned their heads to face the blond who had just yelled.

“You like vegetables?” Wire asked her, stunned.

“Yeah.” She said obviously, “I don’t want to eat charred meat all the time. No offence, Heat. I still love you.”

The blue haired man sweat dropped, and I facepalmed.

Kidd just rubbed his temple, “All I told you was that I’m letting you two get some new clothes.” Kidd hissed, “My crew is starting to get distracted with the blonde wench in the sundress.”

“Oh.” Mykhayla said and stopped her mini spazz session, “Okay.”

“And if neither of you really like to eat charred meat all the time, then you two can cook. The rule on my ship is if you make food, you make it for the entire crew. Got it?” He told us.

“Well, at least we’ll have some variety.” I said.

Kidd just rolled his eyes and tossed me a small bag of money.

I grinned at, Mykhayla and she grinned back, “Can we get ice cream while we’re there?” She asked me.

“We’ll see.” I told her, “For right now let’s go.”

I pulled her towards the door to go down to the cargo loading room, and then onto the dock we’d just arrived at.

I still held her hand, because I knew she was going off after she caught a glance of something shiny.

I pulled her into the nearest clothing store.

“Ohh, I want jeans!” She said to me and took off into the direction of the jeans.

The place was well-lit, there were racks and racks and shelves piled high with cloths.

“I like this sweater!” Mykhayla sang as she picked up the article.

I smiled to myself, “Get what you want.” I told her, “If I were in the dress, I would want the exact same thing.”

“Yay!” She exclaimed and started going through everything.

I got a few more pairs of jeans, a couple of pairs of shorts, and a few shirts I thought was cool. Along with a hoodie, and a winter jacket. I knew I was going to need them eventually.

I sat down on a chair next to the changing room. I had everything I wanted and needed in a folded pile next to me, Mykhayla was trying everything on.

“What do you think about this?” She asked coming out in a dark purple dress that had a poofy skirt that came down to her knees, it jetted out and almost looked like a ballerina tutu, it had white tassels on the waist, a form-fitting top, the neck line was a turtle neck, a giant bow on the chest, and it had really ugly frills on either shoulder, but it was sleeveless.

“I think if you wear that, the entire crew would die laughing.” I told her holding back my chuckles.

“I knew it was ugly, but I couldn’t help but put it on.” She told me and smiled.

I sighed and waited for her to finish, when she was finally ready we went to market and got some fresh fruit and veggies.

“Think this’ll be enough for a month?” She asked me.

“I guess we’ll see.” I told her.

We pulled it all back to the ship and into the kitchen.

“So what are we gonna make tonight?” Mykhayla asked me when we finished putting everything away.

“Shepard’s pie.” I said after a moment of thought.

“Okay!” She yelled.

“You get a pan and pot out, I’ll grab the ingredients.” I told her.

She nodded and started poking around in the cupboards for the utensils.

“Uuuuhhh.” I heard Mykhayla question.

I raised an eyebrow as I looked over the door of the fridge.

The blonde was holding a cast iron frying pan and that spikes protruding out from the face of it, a pot that was in the shape of a bat, and a spoon that had a diameter equal to the length of my arm.

“Uhh.” I continued, “Are there any other’s?” I asked her feeling just as lost as she was.

She shook her head, “There’s a normal sized fork, a whisk that’s the size of my pinky, and bowls the size of my hand.”

I blinked at her a moment, “You have got to be kidding me.” I said.

She shook her head, “Look for yourself.”

“I believe you.” I told her, “But we spent everything on cloths and food, remember? And we can’t go back out for more supplies now because the shops are closed.”

She sighed, “Aww man, what now?” She whined.

“Look’s like we’re eating charred mean again.” I told and sighed myself.

I saw a light bulb go off her over her head.

“We can make squwers!” She yelled.

My eyes lit up, “Yes, with lots of vegetables!”

“Yes!” She squealed.

And so we set out to work, preparing tonight’s dinner.

“Heat!” Mykhayla yelled as we came up onto deck, trays in our hands.

The blue haired man, hesitantly turned his head to face us.

“We need our favorite grill, can you help us?” I asked him.

He sighed, but regardless he came over to us. After about five minutes all the squewers had been cooked to perfection.

“Dinner’s ready!” We called out to the crew.

Everyone ate without a complaint of what we made. Well almost everyone.

“I thought you two were tired of charred meat!” Kidd said as turned over a squewer in his hand.

“We would have made something different, but all the utensils in the kitchen are messed up!” I told him.

“What do you mean?” He yelled at me, “All that stuff is brand new, it’s never been used!”

“I think that’s the problem!” I hissed back, “You never used it, so you never knew just how bad the things are!”

“They are not bad!” He shouted back.

“Here they go again.” I heard Killer say.

“Mykhayla, go get the spoon and a bowl.” I told her, “There is something wrong with everything in that kitchen.”

“Aye, aye, Torri! I’m on it!” And with that she took off towards the kitchen.

“Is not!” He yelled at me.

“Is too!”I yelled back.

“Is not!”

“Here they are!” Mykhayla yelled as she emerged from the doorway.

“See.” I snarled at him, “That spoon will not fit in that bowl, we have a pot shaped like a bat, and don’t even get me started on the frying pan we saw in there.”

He paused a moment before swallowing and looking away, “I’ll give you more money for stuff tomorrow.”

I smiled, “Thank you, captain.”

—-

“That had to be the best thing I’ve ever eaten.” Kidd said with wide eyes as he’d just finished off the plate of shepherds pie that was infront of him.

I smirked to him and said, “And you seriously didn’t want to get new kitchen stuff.”

“How was I supposed to know you two could cook this well?” He snarled.

I smiled to myself but said nothing as I turned back into the kitchen. I turned the water on and started to fill up the sink as, Mykhayla brought in all the dishes from the table.

After we finished with the clean up, Mykhayla went down to bed and I went outside to the deck.

The night was cool and it sent goosebumps all throughout my arms.

I went to the edge and looked at the waves lapping up against the side of the ship as it sailed to the next island. Since the war was over, we were heading back to Saboy and then from their we would go to Fishman island, and after that we were going to head to the new world.

All I heard was the waves. Almost everyone else was inside about to get ready for bed. The nights here were always peaceful.

I heard a creak of the floor behind me and turned to see two of underlings approaching me.

“Sorry, didn’t mean to frighten you.” One said.

“It’s okay.” I told them.

“Shouldn’t you be getting ready for bed?” The other asked me as they stood on either side of me.

“Not just yet.” I told them, “The night’s too pretty.”

They nodded, and we stood there for a while in silence.

We stood there in silence for a good ten or so minutes, I began to feel fatigue take over me. I stretched out and was about to wish the two good night and go down to my cabin. But the one who was on my right grabbed my arms and pinned then to my sides as the other one came closer to me.

Realization dawned on me of what was about to happen. I used the one who was holding me as support as I took the weight off my legs and kicked the one in front of me in the face, sending him backwards onto the deck. I tried to swing my right leg back to get the other one in the groin, but before I could do that he had me pinned down to the floor. Both my arms were pinned with his one hand, and the other was pressing my head to the deck.

I growled in minor pain, and struggled to try and free as the second one got up. He slowly stumbled towards me, and I kicked myself for having to resort to this after the training I had done.

“KIIIIDDD!!! YOUR CREW’S DISOBEYING YOUR ORDERS!!!!!!!!” I screamed at the top of my lungs.

“Bitch!” The one in front of me yelled and punched my left cheek, the one who was pinning me down let go of my head as he did that. I took the opportunity and sunk my teeth into his wrist, all the while struggling to get the other off me.

But before I knew it the one on top of me was gone and there was more force trying to get me to let go of the other one.

I opened my eyes, and that’s when I calmed down enough to really allow my ears to open again. I hadn’t realized I was in such a state until I came down.

I removed my canines from the flesh and spat out the blood that had flown into my mouth before sitting up. Killer kneeling next to me.

“Are you okay?” He asked me softly.

I nodded not really knowing what to say at the moment.

“I told every last one of you fuckers that the wenches were not to be touched!” Kidd yelled at them, “Why the hell did you go against my orders!”

“I get you share them with the main crew, captain,” One of them said.

“But come on, the rest of us want a chance with the whores as well.” The other said.

“They aren’t whores.” Kidd growled no longer yelling, but his tone made him a little scarier than before, “That brunette could be the key to finding One Piece first, and the only real way to keep her with us is to keep that stupid blonde on board too. And there for, neither were to be touched, but look at her now.”

They both swallowed and glanced over at me, I shot them a death glare, and if not for Killer keeping a hand on my shoulder I would have flown forward and killed them.

“There is a huge bruise on her face, and she had to call for me, you little…”

Kidd continued on calling the two of them everything that he could think of and things that made me question if he wasn’t a girl in a past life.

“Let’s get you back down to your cabin.” Killer said and pulled me away from the scene, into the cabin, down the stairs, and towards the main crew hallway.

We were about half way down the hall when cries of pain and pleas for forgiveness came echoing down to my ears.

“You don’t have to shield me from our captain, Killer.” I told him as he stopped outside my door.

He didn’t say anything, he was with me the other day when I killed three people of my own accord without any remorse what so ever.

He turned his head from me and scratched the back of his head.

“Good night, Killer.” I said to him when the cries died down and entered my room closing the door behind me.

Mykhayla looked over from her spot on the bed.

“What’s up?” She asked me sleepily.

“Not much.” I said and sat down on my side of the bed to take off my boots.

“You sure, you didn’t come down when you were finished with the dishes.” She said and rubbed her eyes.

“I wanted air.”I told her. I knew telling her what almost happened would have just make her freak out, and that’s not what I wanted to happen.

“Just go to sleep.” I ordered as I stood up and pulled my t-shirt over my head.

She half nodded and allowed her head to fall back in place on her pillow.

I threw my t-shirt to the side and stripped out of my jeans before pulling on pajama bottoms and a fresh t-shirt. I was surprised to learn a ship full of males who really have no skills in cooking, cleaning, or really taking care of themselves outside of battle did their laundry regularly; and regularly isn’t once month but rather once every five days.

Leave a Reply

