What If It Were Real? (Part 4)

In the deepest part of the ocean there was an unknown light coming from the inside of a bubble at the bottom of the ocean. I stood on the deck of the ship surrounded by another bubble. Looking past the layer separating the Fishman’s island I saw things that only existed in fairy tales. Mermaids, mermen, and fish people. They had a fully functioning society thousands of miles beneath the water’s surface.

“Oh it’s so pretty!” Mykhayla said from beside me on deck, she looked at it in utter awe, after about ten seconds she turned on her heel and started back into the ship, “Okay, I’m board now.”

I just sighed as I waited for us to dock, despite the rumors of problems that human pirates have caused on this island we weren’t stopped or even given any trouble when we docked.

“Mykhayla!”I yelled when I jumped off the deck and onto the land, “Come on! Let’s go look around!”

“Okay!” She yelled and ran out to meet me, “But we’re getting candy first.”

“Maybe.” I told her, “Be good until then.”

“Fine.”She pouted.

I smiled to myself.

“Heat!” Kidd yelled to the tall man, “You’re babysitting these two today!”

“Yes sir.” He said slightly depressed knowing what might transpire.

Mykhayla was bouncing up and down because she could spend the entire day with Heat, bothering him. I sighed knowing some of the things she would probably do to try and get to his hair.

“It’s okay, Heat.” Killer said coming up behind the taller man, “I’ll go with them.”

“Thank you.” Heat said to Killer before running off after the captain.

“So where do you two want to go?” Killer asked as we started walking.

“Candy store!” Mykhayla shouted.

“Later.” I told her, “Just to look around town.”

She pouted again, but made no complaints towards it.

~~Hours later~~

We returned to the ship at about sunset, we hadn’t really gotten anything at all, but I needed a few more knives.

“That was eventful.” Killer said when we got back.

“I’d say.”I said to him. We had a lot of fun just walking around town and seeing the beauty that is the island.

“I’m happy.” Mykhayla said with a smile on her face.

“I know you are,” I half laughed, “You got your candy.”

She just giggled and ran off to our room to put all our things away.

“So,” I started to Killer, “Do you think I should start dinner now, or do you think the crew will be eating out at a bar tonight?”

“Probably a bar, if I know my captain.” He told me, “We can try and find them if you want.”

I shook my head, “I’ll make dinner for us tonight. They can have dinner there. So what would you like for dinner?”

“Ambergar!” Mykhayla yelled as she came back to where we were standing.

“Are ambergars okay with you Killer?” I asked the first mate.

“They’re fine, thank you.”

I smiled and headed up to the kitchen to start.

—The next day—

“Almost done.” I told Mykhayla as we brought the second last crate to the kitchen.

“Yay!” She sang.

We both turned to get the last one but stopped when we saw Killer in the doorway with the last crate.

“I figured I’d help you two out.” He said sheepishly.

“Thanks Killer.”I told him as he set it down on the floor.

“Least I can do to say thanks for last night’s meal.” He said and rubbed the back of his head.

“We’re the cooks on this ship, Killer.” I told him, “It’s our job to feed you guys.”

“Still.” He told me.

“Whatever.”I said and shrugged him off, “Can you go tell captain we’ve gotten all the supplies we’ll need for our voyage up?”

“Sure thing.” He said and left.

I turned around to start unpacking and putting away the food, only to see, Mykhayla standing there with a big smile on her face, hands right next to it in the shape of a heart.

I looked at her like she had sprouted a second head.

“What?” I questioned, not wanting to play a stupid game with her.

“Aww, you’re so cute together!” She gushed.

I raised an eyebrow, “What the hell are you talking about, woman?”

“Did you not you see that cute moment?” She asked, “He was so gushing for you!”

At this point I don’t know whether to smack her, walk away, or ignore her all together and carry on with our work.

I decided on the last one. I rolled my eyes and pushed past her to put it all away.

“I think you’re just hiding your embarrassment!” She sang.

“Go bother Kidd.” I hissed at her.

“But I wanna help!” She whined.

“Then shut up.” I snapped.

“Fine.” She pouted again.

–Two Hours Later–

“We’re heading off!” Kidd yelled at the crew, “Prepare to move on, and move to the New World.”

The bubble blew up around us again, and we moved forward to the surface. The ocean from underneath was still probably the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen. And then we reached the surface.

The boat went straight up, almost causing me to lose my balance, then evened out perfectly as the bubble popped. We were back at the surface. I took a deep breath in of the fresh air. It was nice down there and all, but I felt a little trapped in there.

“Keep going forward!” Kidd yelled, and the crew pushed on to the next island we would come across.

–Later That Night–

I stood under a gazebo to stay out of the rain with the rest of the crew. Kidd was sitting on a crate reading the news paper.

The war had unfolded, Fire Fist Ace survived, along with Mugiwadano Luffy, and Whitebeard. Blackbeard escaped somehow, and Luffy returned to the war zone in order to pay respects to those who had fallen; and deliver a message to his crew.

Mykhayla whispered in my ear, “Wow, he’s actually reading something.”

I chuckled at her and rolled my eyes.

“What’s this about the ox bell?” He asked.

“Doesn’t that have something to do with new years?” I looked at Killer knowing he’d have an accurate answer.

He nodded, “The ox bell is rung every year on new years, eight times to signify the end of one year and another eight times to signify the start of the new coming year, hence the sixteen bells.”

“Mugiwada thinks he can take over for whitebeard, does he?” Kidd said to himself, “We’ll see who’ll reach one piece first.”

“You don’t know what’s waiting for you out there!” The captain to the crew we beat said breaking his concentration.

“What are you talking about?” Kidd asked as he got up from his seat and stalked over to them.

“This is an absolutely terrible place!” He told Kidd, “It’s nothing like you’d ever imagine. Please, let us go. All we want to do is go back to paradise!”

Kidd’s face twisted into a sinister snarl as he said, “You mean the first half of the grand line? If you aren’t prepared to die for your dream,” Metal objects began shaking and moving towards Kidd’s arm,”Then stay out of this sea!” And with that he viciously attacked the helpless crew with his metallic powers, and crucified them all.

“I’m coming for you next, Mugiwada!” He shouted and starting laughing maniacly.

“Wow, issues much.” Mykhayla said, making the captain stop dead in his thought and glare at her.

Leave a Reply

