No Way Out(A HTTYD Love Story Part 4)

This story is set in modern day time, with no dragons(sorry), and for Tuffnut and an OC I came up with. If you don’t like this character don’t be going reading.

“How long is she going to be gone for?” Ruff asked when Stoik told them at Gobber’s one morning that Carstella had to leave for a while.

“About a week, I think she said.” Gobber said from the kitchen where he was making breakfast for the group again.

“Why did she come and then leave suddenly?” Snolout asked annoyed.

“I thought she would have told you all why.” Stoik said to them.

They all looked at each other then shook their heads.

Stoik sighed and pinched the bridge of his nose, “If she didn’t want to tell you, then you wont know until she comes back then. And then she can tell you.”

“But-

Fishlegs was cut off by the door being thrown open and Dagur and his gang of goons waltzing in like they owned the place.

“Hello, Dagur.” Stoik said trying to be polite, “What may I get for you and your friends today?”

“They’ll all take the short stacks,” Dagur said motioning to his aunteroge, “I’ll have two breakfast burritos, side of bacon.”

Gobber whistled, “Who’s the lucky lady you’re going to be beefing up for today?” he asked as he came out of the kitchen to give the the other group their orders.

“When she returns, I will be treating Miss. Carstella out to a lovely evening.” Dagur told the room with a dangerous smirk on his lips, “I can’t wait.”

“Dagur.” Stoik called to the young man to gain his attention, “I would be careful with her, she isn’t exactly like the other girls you’re used to, or-

“Oh I know!” Dagur cut him off, “She’s so much more pretty, and polite! And have you seen her eyes?”

“Dagur!” Stoik said again this time in his most authoritative voice, “Carstella is here to heal, and my niece will do just that. You aren’t to touch her.”

“Hate to break it to you, Stoik.” Dagur started and got right up in the other red head’s face, “But she’s already accepted my invitation. When she get’s back, I’m showing her a good time. Like it or not.”

Stoik looked like he was about to wring Dagur’s neck, or rip him a new, but his cell phone went off. And when he answered it, there was an emergency that needed his attending to, right away.

Stoik left grumbling, and as soon as the door slammed shut behind him, Ruff spoke up.

“And here I thought Car actually had taste. I guess not.” She said before turning her attention back to her food.

Dagur was about to shout something at her when Gobber stepped in, “Was that order for here or to go?”

“Go.” Dagur growled, and the second he got his food stormed out, his gang not to far behind.

“I can’t believe she would agree to that slime!” Astrid shouted, “And after we warned her!”

“We don’t know her reasoning.” Hiccup told his girlfriend in an attempt to calm her down, “We should all know just how Dagur is when he finds something he wants. And Carstella, wanting to not produce more violence than necessary agreed. It’s probably not going to go past the first date.”

“Do you know what Dagur does on the first date, most of the time?” Ruff asked the brunette from across the table.

He swallowed, Ruff had, at one point, been a victim of Dagur, back when he actually had charm, she would say. But he shook his head.

“If he really wants it, he’ll take it.” She said, still glaring at him.

“It?” Fishlegs asked scared of the blonde in front of him.

“Sex.” She stated bluntly and crossed her arms over her chest, “First date is all he needs, uses roofies on the girls he doesn’t think he can score with on his own.”

“We can always crash the date.” Tuff suggested, “Like we did that barmitsfa! That was a blast.”

“Tuff does have a point.” Hiccup said again to the unsure girls, “We are pretty good when it comes to stalking people.”

“I can’t believe you just said that.” Astrid said.

“Neither can I.” Hiccup admitted.

“So how does it look?”

“There’s most likely going to be a faint scar at your hair line by your eye, but it should make a full recovery.” The doctor said as he wrapped up Carstella’s left eye again.

“So tell me.” The doctor said as he reached for medical tape, “What kind of person let’s a six year old get a tattoo on their eye?”

“My late father.” She replied without batting an eye.

“I’ve seen a lot of crazy things.” The doctor said as he stepped back to admire the work he did, “But in all my years, that has to take the cake.”

Carstella shrugged, “Guess that’s why I’m removing it.” She said.

“Guess so.” The doctor mimicked, “Come back in three days, and well remove the. . . Which one was it you wanted removed second again?”

“The one on my thigh.” She said staring at him coldly.

He nodded, “We’ll remove it. But I want you to keep an eye on that eye of yours. If anything goes wrong you come back and we’ll figure it out.”

Carstella nodded and got up off the bed.

“Thank you again doctor.” She said with a smile before leaving.

—–

“It’s been almost a month since she left.” Snotlout said as they walked towards the diner, “Do you guys think she’s ever going to come back?”

“I’m sure she will.” Hiccup assured his cousin, “She just had to leave for some reason, but she said she liked it here. So she’s bound to be, right?”

They all entered quietly.

“It should all be in order, take care of her Stoik.” Gobber said as he slid a paper bag across the counter.

“Thank you Gobber.”

“Dad?” Hiccup questioned, the big man instantly whipped around to see the group standing behind him.

“Son, what is it?” He questioned.

“What’s going on?”

Stoik raised an eyebrow at his son, “She hasn’t told you then?”

“Who told us what?” Ruff asked confused for the rest of the group.

“Carstella had returned three days ago.” Stoik said, “I was just about to go see her.”

“We’re coming too!” All of them yelled.

Stoik sighed knowing they would, one way or another.

“Alright.” He said and grabbed the paper bag from the counter, “Let’s go.”

And they all headed off to see the girl who’s been MIA the past month.

Carstella heard her apartment beeper go off from where she lay in her bedroom playing video games. She had hauled it all in when she found out she had to have a lot of bed rest for the next week. She put her game on pause and went over to her door. She turned on the video camera to see who was there.

She saw Stoik, whom she was expecting. And the large group of people she had come to know as her friends.

Without even pressing the intercom, she unlocked the door for them. She didn’t want to hide her life any longer, and if it meant them running away, so be it.

And she went to put tea on.

Stoik was waiting patiently for Carstella to call down, but instead he heard the beep signaling that the front door was unlocked and opened it. This made him slightly apprehensive, knowing Carstella would always call first.

But non the less he made his way up, along with the others.

When they reached the door, he knocked knowing she had the locks all done up if she was in there.

A moment passed and he heard the undoing of locks, and then the door swung open to reveal Carstella with her hair down, and in her pajamas with a small smile on her face.

“Come in.” She said and moved to the side opening the door all the way for them all to enter.

When they all came in she closed and locked one lock on the door.

“Have you been doing well?” Stoik asked as he put the bag on the counter.

“Yes.” She said and turned around, “I’ve just been lazing around playing video games, and I have been eating and resting right.”

“So, where have you been the past little while?” Astrid asked the brunette, as she was the only one not distracted, completely, by the bandages over her left eye.

“Getting tattoos removed.” Carstella said simply, “I have tea ready for you all in the living room if you’d like.”

“Splended idea!” Stoik said and herded the group onto the sofas.

When they were all seated, Carstella took a seat next to Hiccup on the love seat.

“I understand if you’ve been frustrated with me for not being here.” She began, “But I came for the sake of starting my life over. And I couldn’t do that right away. I had too many scars to just ignore.”

“But these were tattoos.” Fishlegs said nervously, “Not scars.”

Carstella nodded, “To you, to me they were nothing but painful memories that I couldn’t move on from. And if I’m ever tracked down by anyone who was under my father or another part of the mafia, not only would they kill me, but they would make sure to kill all those I hold dear first.”

“But there are places to get tattoos removed here.” Hiccup chimed in, “Why did you have to leave the state?”

“They would know.” Carstella said, “I did my research, and if you flash a badge in the removal centers here anyone can get a hold of anything they want. I had to leave so in case it did happen, it would throw them off my trail for at least a little while.”

“Now why were you gone a month?” Ruff asked, “It doesn’t take that long for tattoo removal no matter how many you have, even I know that.”

“There were a couple of complications, and then they wanted to take time in between each procedure to make sure there wouldn’t be any permanent scaring.”

“Complications?” Hiccup repeated worried.

Carstella moved a hand to reach up and touch the bandages over her left eye.

“This one basically encased my entire eye, the surgical removal was a little more complicated than they thought because of how old it was. And a few days after I got it removed, my eye started bothering me a lot. I went back and I needed surgery to repair it.”

“You almost lost your sight?” Astrid exclaimed.

Carstella shook her head, “No. I never would have lost my sight,”Astrid relaxed bit at that, “I would have lost my entire eye if they hadn’t acted fast.” Everyone was on edge, “But the surgeons worked fast. There was a small amount of ink from the tattoo that leaked into my eye that caused the irritation. They managed to scrap it off without anymore further problems. But they wanted to wait a little a while before continuing. I would be almost completely unsedated for the rest, and they didn’t want anymore excitement messing with my recovery. That’s why it took so long.”

There was a moment of silence, Carstella wanted it all to sink in for them before she continued.

“Now that they’re removed, if I ever run into anyone from any mafia they won’t have any kind of physical evidence against me.”

“What about things from your father?” Astrid said, “They can compare D.N.A., can’t they?”

Carstella shook her head again, “My father was almost completely incinerated in the accident, and after that I honoured his wished and had him cremated before spreading the ashes over the snow. They’ll have nothing on me.”

“What about finger prints?” Tuff asked out of the blue.

Carstella smiled and held her hands out in front of her, palms up to show a lack of detail.

“I burned them off right after I gained access to my father’s money.” She told them, “I needed them until that point.”

“You burned them off yourself?” Fishlegs asked somewhere between awe and disgust.

“Yes.”

“How?” Ruff asked the brunette.

“Hot cast iron skillet.” Carstella replied with a shrug.

Everyone remained silent at that, now knowing she wasn’t exactly exaggerating with her life story.

“If there’s anything you would like to know about me, ask.” Carstella said as she brought her hands back to her lap, “I would like to consider you guys my friends, and I don’t want to hide anything from my friends.”

“Why’d you agree to going out with Dagur?”

“How exactly did you escape?”

“Who exactly are you running from in the mafia?”

“Does all this mean you’re going to stay, like forever?”

Carstella sighed, “I escaped by gaining access to my father’s bank account. I then payed off all the people that he was in debt to, transferred the remaining money into my own personal account. From there, as I was taking care of funeral preparations and selling and burning possessions in the house I contacted Stoik in an attempt to see if I could at least lay low here until I could find a permanent home where no one would find me.”

“Where would you have gone if not here?”

“Australia or Japan probably.” She said with a shrug, “After he convinced me to make this place my home I layed low in Madagascar for about three months letting some things blow over and my money transfer to a completely safe account that no one else would know of. Then I came here, and I’m still escaping.”

“Isn’t there some rule in the mafia along the lines of ‘once you’re in you’re in for life’?” Snotlout asked.

“Close but no cigar.” Carstella told her cousin, “Once you’re in, you can’t get out. But let’s see what I can do before we resort back to that saying.And I’m running from any and everyone in the mafia. My father didn’t have the best relationships with anyone, now that he’s gone everything he’s done is reflected onto me, and because I ran away they’re going to be hunting me down because of what I know. And as long as I can keep you guys safe, even with me here, I plan to keep living here. As long as you want me to.”

“Of course we want you to!” All except Stoik practically shouted and jumped up.

“It hasn’t been the same without you around the past little while.” Snotlout finally admitted to his cousin.

Carstella smiled, “Then I guess I’m staying.”

They all cheered, but then they stopped and looked at the brunette on the love seat.

“So, why did you agree to go out with Dagur, after we warned you about him?” Astrid asked with her hands on her hips.

Carstella knew she wasn’t going to be able to get away from this question.

“That day when I met him on the beach he tried following me home, and then a few days later he did it successfully.” Carstella admitted, “I didn’t really have a choice in the matter, as it was either I agree or I would have to get arrested for ‘assault’.”

“Typical Dagur.” Hiccup said and fell back on the couch.

“I agreed that we would go out when I got back.” She admitted, “But I was going to wait until this was all healed up before trying to meet up with him again.”

“Car, I think we need to talk about your future date choices.” Astrid said as she fell back on the couch, glaring at her friend, with her arms crossed over her chest.

Leave a Reply

