No Way Out(A HTTYD Love Story Part 5)

This story is set in modern day time, with no dragons(sorry), and is for Tuffnut and an OC I came up with. If you don’t like this character, don’t be going reading.

 

“Well that was a good work out!” Astrid said as they walked down the street, with nowhere in particular to go.

“So, what now?” Carstella asked the group.Ever since she returned she’d been closer to them, and had started wearing summer cloths, now that she didn’t have to hide anything.

“I kinda want to go to the Shopping Alley.”Snotlout said absent mindedly.

“To the Alley!” Ruff shouted and pointed to the direction in front of them.

“Um, Ruff?” Carstella said softly to the blonde, “If I recall correctly, the Shopping Alley is in this direction.” She pointed to her left.

“Oh yeah.”

Carstella and Tuff both sat on a bench in the alley relaxing as the others did their shopping. Tuff was munching on a hot dog, and Carstella had a soft drink in her hand.

“They’re a lively bunch.” Carstella said to herself out loud.

“Very.” Tuff grumbled.

“You don’t seem to like shopping very much, do you Tuff?” She asked the blonde.

“I don’t.” He admitted, “I only go shopping when I need to, and even then I try and resist it all I can. You don’t really seem to like it either.”

“Not unless I have the item I want to buy in my head.” She told him, “It seems like a waste of time to me otherwise.”

“What’s it a waste of time for?” Tuff asked curiously, his attention fully on the brunette beside him rather than the hot dog in his hand.

“Training, writing, something productive.” She said with a shrug.

“I guess your dad kinda installed that thought process in you, didn’t he?”

Carstella just nodded and said nothing as she took a sip from the paper cup in her hands. Tuff didn’t want to touch on a sensitive subject in a public area, so he didn’t press anymore. He finished his hot dog in silence.

He was about to say something to Carstella, about how she shouldn’t feel ashamed of her past, or where she came from, or what she did because she’s starting over, but he was interupted by an all too familiar voice.

“Carstella, it’s good to see you again.”

The said girl looked up to meet gaze with the green eyes of Dagur.

“Hello, Dagur.” She said calmly.

“I was beginning to wonder when you would get back.” Dagur said with a small laugh.

“I’m sorry,” She told him with a small smile, “There were a few delays that kept me back, I only arrived last night.”

“If you don’t mind me asking, where did you run off to for so long?” Dagur inquired politely.

“Chicago.” She told him, “There was a seminar going on about publications, and then my publishing agent wanted to talk to me. It was draining, but I haven’t forgotten what I promised before I left.”

“Oh, that?” Dagur said as if he’d completely forgotten about their ‘planned’ date, “Are you free this Friday?”

Carstella thought for a moment, “I don’t believe I’m doing anything that evening.”

“Great!” Dagur said a little too excited, “I’ll meet you at the corner of Zipple and Nadder at about, six?”

Carstella smiled, “I’ll be there.”

“See ya’ then, I guess.” Dagur said as he back away and then turned suddenly before leaving quickly.

“You’re seriously giving him a chance?” Tuff growled from the other side of the bench.

Carstella shrugged before replying, “Everyone deserves a chance, Tuff.”

“He had many chances.” Tuff defended.

“But not with me.” She said calmly, “And I was lucky enough for a second chance.”

Tuff couldn’t say anything against that, so he just slumped back against the bench muttering to himself about how Dagur wasn’t as deserving of a second chance as Carstella was willing to give.

“And if he tries anything.” Astrid growled as she paced in Carstella’s kitchen, raising her voice so the brunette in the bathroom could hear her.

“I can handle myself, Astrid.” Carstella called to the blonde from the bathroom, “But thank you for your concern.”

“We’ll just be a phone call away if you do need us.” Ruff called to the brunette, “And we’ll all be happy to beat the snot out of him for you!”

“Yeah!” Snotlout and Tuff joined in.

“Thank you,” Carstella said, stepping out of the bathroom, “But I can handle myself.”

Fishlegs’ and Tuff’s jaws dropped again, Carstella stood there in her everyday combat boots, destroyed, light blue, boyfriend style jeans, a slightly faded, black band t-shirt with an unbuttoned, red, plaid button down over top, and her hair was down. Her dark brown locks where cut chopping and slightly uneven, but it complemented her tomboy personality and rough around the edges look she would be pulling off tonight.

“Wow.” Astrid said as the brunette stepped into the kitchen, “You clean up really well.”

“Thank you.” Carstella said politely with a smile.

Ruff glared at her brother and roughly closed his jaw with her free hand, Snotlout on the other hand punched Fishlegs in the face to get him to stop staring at his cousin. Which resulted in a mini fight between them all.

Carstella smiled at the disturbance, she’d grown very used to this kind of thing.

Hiccup walked over to his cousin, taking her attention from the rest of the group.

“You look good.” He told her with a genuine smile as he placed his hands gently on her shoulders.

“Thank you, Hiccup.” She said in response.

“And you’re sure you want to go through with this?” he asked.

Carstella nodded, “I promised.” She told him, “Besides, everyone deserves a chance.”

Hiccup sighed, “Alright.” He brought her into a hug, “Don’t let him take advantage of you.”

“I wont.” She said as she returned the hug.

“Promise?” He asked teasingly.

“Promise.” She said.

“Okay.” He said pulling away, “You don’t want to be late.”

Carstella nodded.

—-

“Dagur?” Carstella called to the figure leaning against the street sign where she was supposed to meet him.

The said person jumped, and turned to face the girl.

“Hey.” He said with a smirk trying to play it cool and lean on one hand against the pole he was just leaning on, but failed at it as he missed and ended up toppling to the ground.

“Are you alright?” Carstella asked concerned.

“Fine!” Dagur said fast as he jumped up, “Just fine.” he paused for a moment to think before leaning forward towards the shorter girl and grinning.

“You know, we actually met the exact same way.” He told her, “Me getting in an accident, you asking if I’m okay, and in the end I’m completely fine.”

Carstella nodded, “It is.”

“That’s what I really like about you, Carstella.” Dagur said, “You’re always so kind.”

“Ah, thank you.” She said looking at the ground. If only he knew, she thought.

“And you have very pretty eyes.” Dagur said as he used his thumb and pointer finger to maneuver her chin so she was looking at him again.

“Shouldn’t we get going?” Carstella asked emotionally.

“Right!” Dagur said jumping back suddenly, “This way.”

Carstella started walking in the direction he was pointing, and Dagur scrambled to catch up with her and started talking about the randomest things ever.

“So, what about you?” Dagur asked while in the restaurant, he made reservations for, after their food came. Until then he’d been talking, telling Carstella about himself.

“What about me?”She asked as she cocked her head to the side.

“Hobbies, interests, things like that!” Dagur encouraged.

“I don’t really know where to start.” She told him with a shrug.

“Well, what kind of genre do you write?” Dagur asked as a starter.

“I don’t really have a preference for it.” She admitted, “I’ve written short stories across all genres, basically. But novels of my own tend to circulate around horror, adventure, crime, mysteries. Those kind of things.”

Dagur held onto every word she spoke.

“And what are some of your favorite books or genres?” Dagur asked.

“Anything by Stephen King.” She answered instantly, “I really like Edgar Allen Poe too, I really like reading folk lore and true ghost events.”

“What’s you’re favorite book by Stephen King?”

Carstella shrugged, “I guess I don’t really have one. With all he’s written, it’s hard to choose just one.”

“Who got you into those kinda books?” Dagur asked, “Your mom, dad, friend?”

“More like, interest from situation.” Carstella said, “I came across it while I was young in a book store, I liked it and asked if I could get it. My father didn’t seem to have a problem with it.”

“Where is your dad anyway?” Dagur asked out of the blue, “You seem just a little to young to be able to move out here on your own. And I don’t think any good father would let you, either.”

Carstella shifted in her seat awkwardly, “My father, died in a car accident about a year ago.” She told him, “My uncle Stoik has been helping to take care of my living arrangements since then.”

“I am so sorry.” He said feeling suddenly ashamed, “I never should have asked about it. I feel like such an idiot.”

“Dagur.” Carstella called to the red head, gaining his attention, “It’s alright. My father and I weren’t very close.”

“I’m sure your mother must have been heart broken though.” Dagur wanted to smack himself again for saying that, after what the red eyed girl said.

“My mother died shortly after I was born.” She told him looking down, “Maternal death.”

“I’m so sorry.” Dagur said again.

Carstella shook her head, “It’s alright, I never knew her.”

“Still.” Dagur said, feeling awful.

“Dagur.” Carstella called tot he red head, “It’s alright, you didn’t know. Now, can we talk about something else?”

“And that’s when I proved him wrong!” Dagur said with a laugh at the end of the story he’d just finished telling.

Carstella giggled lightly to let him know that she enjoyed the story and for him to keep going.

“You know Carstella,” Dagur started as they walked down the empty streets, “This entire night has been strange to me.”

“I’m sorry.” Carstella said suddenly, “I’m new to this whole dating thing, and I don’t really know what to do right yet. So if this evening has been awkward for you, I’m really sorry.”

“No! No! No!”Dagur said immediately, “Not like that.” He assured her.

Carstella looked deep in his eyes asking him to continue.

“It’s been strange, but a good kind of strange.” He told her, trying to find words, “You’re different, a good kind of different. I’m so used to girly girls, who are demanding, overly talkative, and full of themselves, shallow, and never seem to shut up. I’m so used to doing all the listening, and you completely changed my view on it all. You aren’t like all the other girls, Carstella, and I like it.”

When he finished Dagur felt suddenly brave and reached his hand out to grab Carstella’s.

Carstella stared dumbly at the intertwined hands together, not sure if Dagur was about to pull out a fighting move, or if this was an act of kindness she’d need to ask the girls about later. But after a moment of realizing that Dagur wasn’t about to hurt her in this gesture, she pulled her hand away from his and stuffed both her hands in her pockets.

“Sorry.” Dagur said when she pulled away.

“Don’t be.” She assured the red head, “I’m just not used to that kind of contact is all.”

“You call that contact?” Dagur scoffed.

“Yes.” Carstella replied plainly, “It’s a lack of distance between one person’s appendage and another’s, by definition, that is contact.”

“You must have been deprived you’re entire life to be uncomfortable with hand holding.” Dagur teased slightly.

“I don’t know how to react to it.” She said quietly, before something hit her, “Then what would you call ‘contact’?”

“Sex.” Dagur said with a dangerous smirk playing on his lips.

“I think you were exposed to too much at too young of an age.” Carstella said dryly.

“We could teach each other a lot.” Dagur said more to himself than to the brunette walking beside him.

Carstella shrugged and they walked together in silence.

“Stop me if you’ve heard this one.” Carstella said, eyes widening slightly by the sight of an all too familiar hood orniment rounding the corner of the block, “Follow my lead.”

Dagur opened his mouth to question when he came face to face with the brick wall of the building they were just next to, Carstella basically pinned between him and wall behind her. She was facing him, his arms on either side of her head boxing her in. He was hunched over, almost nose to nose with the red eyed girl. His face heated up when he realized just how close they actually were. His mind started racing, why was he feeling this now? How many girls had he been with before this, in much worse positions? There was just something about those eyes, no, about her.

Carstella let out a deep sigh of relief when she heard the car engine fade in the distance, she had subconsciously held her breath until they were gone.

How did they know I was here? She asked herself. It doesn’t matter,what matters now is telling Stoik and Spitelout.

“Okay.” Carstella said and pushed the, confused, red head away from her, “We need to get to Gobber’s,” She said to herself, before turning her attention to Dagur, “How far away from Gobber’s are we from here?”

Dagur was still confused when she spoke, not being able to process what just happened fast enough.

“Dagur.” Carstella called to the older boy.

“Sorry, what?” He asked snapping out of whatever he was in before.

“How far are we from Gobber’s?” She repeated.

“Three, four blocks.” He said with a shrug.

“Can you get us there without taking main road ways?”

“You mean back alleys?” He questioned.

Carstella nodded.

“Can you tell me why?” He asked, starting back to the alley they just passed.

“I’ll explain it later.” She said running a hand through her hair, “Right now we have to focus on getting to Gobber’s.”

Dagur shrugged and picked up the pace, Carstella never fell behind.

—-

“We’ll I’ve got my ax and I’ve got my mace, and I love my wife with the ugly face.” Gobber sang from the kitchen finishing dishes from the dinner rush hour.

“We’re closed!” He shouted to whoever was out front and just came through the doors.

“Makes it easier.” A female voice said.

Gobber looked out through the order window from the kitchen to the dinning area where Carstella and Dagur stood.

“What happened?” He asked coming around ready to give Dagur a what for.

“Long-ish story.” Carstella said, “Is the safe phone in the back?”

Gobber nodded, not wanting to say anything with the red head in the room.

“Safe phone?” He echoed.

“Explaining later.” Carstella called as she hurried to the back.

“What?” Dagur looked at Gobber for an answer, but the blonde man just turned off the front lights and brought the now completely confused red head to the kitchen.

Carstella was standing next to the phone, receiver in her hand muttering to herself.

“Pick up, pick up, pick up.”

Hello?” a tired voice on the other end answered.

“Uncle Spitelout?” Carstella asked just to make sure.

“Carstella, is everything okay?” He asked concerned for his niece.

“Can you come down to Gobber’s as soon as you can?” She asked, “It’s better I explain in person.”

“Alright,”  He told her, “But call Stoik too, he’ll be pissed if he finds out you didn’t contact him too.”

“Was just about to?” She told him, “Be careful coming over.”

“I will.” He assured her before hanging up.

Carstella pressed down the button under the receiver before dialing another number.

This call picked up much sooner than the first one.

“Carstella?” Stoik asked on the other end.

“Yeah.”She said to the man, “Can you come down to Gobber’s? I need to tell you something.”

“Did you already contact Spitelout?”

“Yes.” She assured him, “He’s on his way now.”

“I’ll be there soon.” Stoik told her, “Just hang on until I get there.”

“Will do.” She said.

“See you in a few.”  He told her.

“Bye.” Carstella said before setting the receiver down on the body.

“They’ll be here in a few.” Carstella said to the men behind her.

“Can someone please tell me what’s going on?” Dagur almost freaked out.

“Not yet.” Carstella said with a sigh.

Dagur was about to reply with a comment back but Gobber stopped him.

“You’ll get your answers in due time.” He told him, “Right now isn’t that time.”

Dagur sighed and leaned against the wall behind him as he crossed his arms over his chest.

“Alright,” Stoik said as he entered the back way with Spitelout into the kitchen of the Diner.

Carstella looked up from the mug of tea Gobber just handed her where she sat at her uncles. She didn’t say anything as she set the mug on the counter next to her and all but ran up and pulled both of the large men into a hug.

“I swear,” Carstella said shakily, “I ever knew he was going to show up looking for me. If I did I never would have come here, I swear.”

“Calm down girl.” Stoik said as he put a hand on the girl’s shoulder and pulled her back to look her in the eye, “Know what’s going on.”

Carstella took a deep breath to compose herself before speaking, “Alvin Outcast.” She said slowly, “While Dagur and I were walking back from the restaurant, a car started coming around the corner, I immediately recognized the hood ornament. It’s unmistakable. He’s looking for someone, and that someone’s here, and he knows it. How he got that information, I don’t know but I’m sorry. I never would have come if I knew.”

“You didn’t know.” Stoik said as he gently placed a hand on the girl’s head to calm her down, “Non of us did. But you did the right thing coming here to tell us.”

“Do you think they could have tracked you from Chicago?” Spitelout asked.

Carstella shook her head, “Fake address, if they followed it they should be about half way around the world right now.”

“Why would he be after you?” Spitelout asked.

“Spitelout we’ve gone over this.” Stoik turned his attention to his brother-in-law, “Haven’t we?”

“I meant, that would make him go after you more.” He defended.

Carstella took another deep breath and thought, “I remember something about some kind of agreement that would put us at a truce, or at least that’s what I heard when I came into the dinning room that night, he was sitting in the guest of honour seat so there must have been something like that going on.”

“Okay.” Stoik said calmly, “You need to find out what that was, do you still have all the paper work that your father ever had?”

Carstella nodded, “I scanned all of the paper and put them on an external hard drive and burned the rest.”

“What if you burned the agreement?” Gobber asked not sure about why she would have done that.

Carstella shook her head furiously, “I scanned everything, receipts, documents, transfers, contracts, scrap pieces of paper. Any and everything that was in his office and I copied his hard drive. I have to have it somewhere, I even added to some of them, saying what the contract was for and with who and everything like that.”

“Then you have to find it.” Stoik told her, “That will tell us what’s going on and then we can help you. Alright?”

“Alright.” She said with a nod.

“Can someone PLEASE tell me what’s going on!?” Dagur finally snapped.

Carstella sighed and then turned to her nearly forgotten date, “That depends.” She said hesitantly.

“On what?” Dagur demanded.

“How good are you at keeping a secret?” Gobber finished.

 

Leave a Reply

