No Way Out(A HTTYD Love Story Part 10)

“You fucking bastard!” Ruff yelled at her brother when she saw the pictures of the infamous prison.

“I know, I am lucky.” Tuff said with a snort.

“I knew I should have gone.” She muttered.

“We both should head over there, next day we have off.” Astrid told her with a sigh as she looked over the pictures they took of the places there. Carstella made sure to get a few of the many boutiques there were to show the girls.

“I’m off Saturday!” Ruff said and shot up, her eyes a light.

“I’ll see what I can do about it.” Astrid told her with a sigh.

“You guys have to cheer up.” Snotlout told them, “It’s not the end of the world.”

“No, but it will be soon.” Ruff said as she looked at her phone, “I gotta go, see you later.”

“Bye!” They all said together.

“Don’t you have to get to work too?” Astrid asked Tuff and Snotlout.

“I don’t wanna!” Tuff wined like a two year old, “The boss lady’s having a meeting and miss perfectionist is going to bring up something about me to get me fired, I’d rather not go.”

“You have to.” Carstella told him, “Didn’t you have a wonderful idea on paper you wanted to make real?”

“Oh yeah.” He said more to himself than anyone else, then sighed, “Fine! Let’s go Snotlout.”

Snotlout groaned but pushed himself up and out the door with Tuff.

“So what are you working on now?” Astrid asked as they were the only ones left in the diner, minus Gobber who was in the kitchen doing dishes.

“A new book of short stories.” Carstella said, “For this one I’m thinking of drifting more into mythology than I have before.”

“Why not just stay with true crime?” Astrid asked as she cocked her head to the side.

“Haven’t felt like it.” Carstella told her, “Recently I’ve felt like I was living in a dream, like I could wake up at any moment and I would be back in the mafia’s grip. And I want to milk this for all it’s worth.”

“Fair enough.” Astrid said as she threw the last picture on the table, “Any ideas what’s next after that?”

Carstella shrugged, “I have a couple small ideas but I’m gonna wait and nurse them before I put anything to paper.”

“Can you at least give me an idea?” Astrid asked leaning across the table in awe.

“I’m thinking, thinking,” She stressed, “About dragons.”

“Dragons?” Astrid asked to make sure.

“Dragons and dragon riders.” Carstella told her.

“That could either be your best seller or a complete bomb.” Astrid told her leaning back and crossing her arms over her chest.

Carstella shrugged, “That’s why it’s a nursing thought. Plans for today?”

Astrid shrugged, “I’m on call today, so until that happens I was thinking of going to the gym. Want to come?”

Carstella shook her head, “Thank you anyway, but I was going to go to the library, see what they have under greek mythology, maybe even roman.”

Astrid nodded, “Meet up later?”

“Of course.” Carstella told her.

“See you then.” Astrid said and left the brunette alone at the table.

Carstella finished her water, gathered up the pictures on the table, put them in her messenger bag, left money on the counter and left the diner alone.

“Almost.” Carstella breathed out as she stretched up as far as she could. Her fingers brushed the spine of the book she wanted, only to snap back to her regular size for need of breath.

She looked back and forth wondering where the latter was when she needed it. She’d found the first three books she wanted, but this one was just stubborn.

One more time. She thought and stretched herself up again. The book came into her hand as she felt a presence behind her. Carstella went back on her feet right, and turned her head to see behind her. Her red eyes met with green ones.

The last person she’d ever expected to be in a library was standing behind her and had gotten the book she had been struggling with the past few minutes in a few seconds.

“Dagur.” She said and turned around fully.

“Carstella.” He nodded back.

“How have you been?” She asked suddenly feeling really uncomfortable.

“Alright.” He said, “You?”

“Alright.” She nodded.

Awkward pause.

“So, you’re into mythology?” Dagur asked.

“Yeah.” Carstella said with a half laugh finally having something to fill the silence, “I’m working on another book of short stories, and this time I want it to be completely fantasy themed. So I came here to do a little research.”

“Cool.” Dagur said with a genuine smile, “Anything in particular?”

“Nothing for sure yet.” Carstella said and bent down to pick up the other books she’d gotten earlier, “I’m thinking of scrapping a couple of them, but I can’t be sure until I’m done with these.”

“I see.” Dagur said, “Must be hard being short and trying to find books.”

Carstella shoved him, “I’m not short, you’re just really tall.”

“Exactly.” He said with a smirk, Carstella now realized his one hand was blocking her into the corner, “And I was thinking, because we were interrupted last time, would you like to go out with me again?”

Carstella shifted again, “Wow.” Was all she could say, “Uh, geeze, Dagur. Um, I don’t really know how to say this other than, I’m kinda dealing with a couple things right now. And I don’t really think that’s the best idea for either of us. I mean, some other guys just found out where I lived, and if they found us while we were out and hurt you I don’t know what I would do. It- it’s just not a good time for me right now.”

“Oh.” Dagur said in realization and pulled back, “No worries! Thinking about it, I’m pretty busy right now too, busy, busy, busy, bee I am. Maybe in a couple of months we could get back together or something.”

“Or something.” Carstella echoed.

“Alright, see you around then.” Dagur said and turned on his heel and left the scene as soon as he could.

Carstella finally let herself breath and relax. She felt bad for lying to him but it was in part the truth.

Carstella hurried to the check out, and when she was done with that she left quickly.

—-

Carstella was in her office in her apartment reading the books she’d gotten earlier that day. When her cell phone started vibrating. She jumped in her chair from the noise, and started digging through papers and books to try to find it, and she did, under her note book.

She opened it to read the text message she got from Tuff.

“Hey, r u busy?”

“No.”

“Do u hav time 2 come ovr 2 my place?”

“Hard day?”

“Very.”

“Be over soon.”

“K”

Carstella closed her phone and set the book in her lap down in her desk. She stood up and stretched, cracking several joints in the process. She hadn’t realized just how long she had been sitting there reading for.

She put her phone and wallet back in her pockets and yawned as she exited the room. Noticing the time, Carstella pulled on a back and dark grey striped hoodie and laced up her combats. She made sure all the lights were off and grabbed her keys before heading out.

Tuff was laying on his bed in his room thumbing through a fashion magazine when he heard the buzzer to the apartment go off.

“I got it!” Ruff yelled at him as she was in the living room watching some stupid t.v. show he didn’t care about.

He waited a few minutes and then he heard the door open and close.

“His room’s over there.” He heard Ruff say and a muffled ‘thank you’. He knew exactly who was here.

Tuff tossed the magazine away as he heard a knock at his door.

“Come in.” He said.

The door opened and closed quietly, he looked from the ceiling to the brunette that just entered and smiled.He patted a place next to him on the bed. Carstella obliged.

“So how was the meeting?” She asked knowing he wanted to complain.

“Horrible!” He told her as he maneuvered his body so he was laying with his head in her lap, “I was put in charge of the ideas for the fall runway.”

“Isn’t that good?” Carstella asked as she slowly ran her fingers through his dreadlocks in an attempt to sooth him.

“It would be.” He told her and closed his eyes, “But someone wasn’t sure about putting that much responsibility on someone who’s always late for work because he wants to surf. She’s been on my case since I was an intern.”

“I think she’s jealous of your ability.” Carstella told him, “A lot of the time girls will do things like that to make themselves look better when they’re jealous of someone else, especially when they have something that they want.”

Tuff sighed focusing on her fingers for a moment, “Maybe, but that doesn’t giver her the excuse to bring up my personal life into the board room.”

“What did she do?” Carstella asked.

“She brought up the fact my parent’s were divorced, and that my dad left when I was little. Saying there is no way that someone with a loose woman as a mother could have any talent in the fashion world, that I was sloppy, and that if I did do this I was going to fuck it up and slander the company’s name.”

There was a pause to allow Tuff to calm down.

“For what it’s worth,” Carstella said softly, “I think you have a lot of talent, and that you’ll do a great job on the new fall designs.”

“Think so?”

“Know so.” Carstella said with a smile and then leaned down to place a soft kiss on the forehead.

Tuff let out a content sigh before say, “This is why I asked you to come over,” he told her, “Just being here can calm me down.”

 

Leave a Reply

