What If It Were Real?(Part 8)

“Sounds crazy.” I said after Killer had just finished telling me a story about the crew and the first half of the Grandline.

“It was.” He said and laughed.

There was a moment of silence between us as I gazed out to the ocean, I never could understand how Mykhayla could get tired of this sight.

“Uh, you’re hair looks really nice today by the way.” Killer complimented.

“Oh, thanks.” I said slightly startled he would say something like that out of the blue.

“Are you using a new shampoo or something?” He asked almost desperately.

I shook my head, “I never really do anything special with it.”I admitted, “Half the time I don’t brush it. If you’re looking for a new shampoo to try out ask Mykhayla, she’ll know.”

“Good idea.” He said after a second.

“I’ll catch you later,” I told him and stood up, “I need to get started on dinner.”

He nodded and I left.

Why would he say something like that so out of the blue? I thought to myself. My hair isn’t even that nice this morning, I haven’t washed it in three days.

I shrugged it off and continued inside.

“That girl is so thick I question how her visions actually get in there!”

I turned my head to see Mykhayla standing there with her hands on her hips glaring in the direction Torri just took off in.

“What are you talking about?” I asked her not wanting her to know I liked her friend.

“Dude,” She started, “We already have one person who is oblivious about their feelings, let’s not make that two. Okay, I don’t even know where to begin with that statement.”

“Is it that obvious?” I asked and winced, if she knew then Torri had to know.

“If Kidd knows, everybody knows!” She exclaimed, “But the only one who doesn’t know is the one who needs to know! Because she’s just that dense!”

“I don’t know what to do anymore.” I admitted, “I’ve tried everything from being nice and trying to care for her, to trying to protect her and make her laugh, I’ve tried complements hundreds if not thousands of times. What am I doing wrong? I mean if anyone knows Torri, it’s you. Right, Mykhayla?”

“I know Torri, but you can never actually know Torri. If you get me.” She told me.

“Then what should I do?” I asked, “If you have any suggestions, I’m open. Hit me!”

“Boy do I have suggestions!” She bragged, “I have plans from A to Z two times over and more on top of that. I’m thinking we need to take the subtile approach for this one.”

“Why don’t you just tell her?” Wire asked coming up to us, Heat not to far behind him.

“I’m afraid she’ll reject me.” I finally admitted, “You can run from anyone on the sea, but you can’t run from rejection, especially on your own ship.”

“True as it may be,” Mykhayla tried to assure, “Deep down I know there is a little piece of Torri that cares. You just have to get past all the junk, ice, fire, mean comments, and anger to find her heart.”

“And how do you suggest I start fighting my way there?” I asked her just waiting to hear what she was going to say next.

“First,” She said, “Plan A. A stands for: ask. Ask her how she feels right now, and then we can build off of that.”

“I’m not asking her!” I exclaimed and shot up, “No! What’s plan B?”

“B, it might not be a good idea right now.” She said nervously.

“What is it?” I asked anyway.

“Brainwashing.” She said almost too quiet for me to hear, “It’s a last resort, okay!”

“Plan C!?” I demanded.

“Cookies.” She said.

“Cookies?” I repeated.

“Yup cookies.”

“And what am I supposed to do?” I asked, “Make her a dozen chocolate chip cookies and she’s just going to return my feelings? No, what’s plan D?”

“Well firstly, she likes peanut butter cookies more than chocolate chip, and plan D is dance.” She said, “Ask her to dance.”

I felt my face grow unbelievably hot.

“Plan E.” I told her.

“Engagement!” She said happily.

The blonde was about to say something else before I cut her off.

“F, please. Plan F.” I almost yelled.

“Flowers.” She said unsure, “It’s a good idea, but because it’s Torri it could go either way.”

“Flowers?” I thought about it for a moment. That could work, if she doesn’t return my feelings then I can play it off as a dare or just as a symbol of friendship and they’re simple so I don’t have to worry about making her feel uneasy.

“I like it.” I said, “We’ll start with plan F then. The next time we dock I’ll get her some flowers and give them too her, it’ll at least give me an idea where we stand.”

“Now that’s what I’m talking about!” She exclaimed, “That, right there, is the attitude we need!”

I felt a small amount of pride well up inside me, I could do this. It’s not going to be that hard.

“So what flowers do you think you’re gonna get her?” Mykhayla asked, “She’s big in the language of flowers so you better be careful.”

My heart sank. Flowers have languages?

“I can’t believe I’m doing this.” I muttered to myself for what seemed like the millionth time that morning.

“You’ll be fine!” Mykhayla told me, “That’s why I’m with you, so you don’t mess it up completely.”

“Thanks.” I said sarcastically and continued forward to one of the many flower shops in the town.

I walked in and was instantly overwhelmed by types, colours and the sheer number.

What did I just get myself into? I asked myself as Mykhayla pulled me towards the roses.

I walked back to the ship later in the evening. I didn’t have any flowers in my hands. I didn’t find any flowers that stood out as something Torri would like.

I sighed again and Told Mykhayla to continue on without me. I wanted to be alone for a little while.

I took in my surroundings and suddenly stopped. In a giant field to my right there were tons and tons of white lilies.

I hadn’t seen any of then in the shops, but I remembered seeing them grow everywhere wildly in my village.

They were tough little things to grow in a place like that, but I had always thought they were kinda pretty.

My mind then flashed to Torri. She had dark features, and an even darker personality. But there was something about putting her in that field of flowers that seemed right to me. I set out to pick as many as I could carry.

“Mykhayla!” I called out as I finished the stew.

She popped up in the doorway to the kitchen.

“Call everyone.” I told her, “Dinner’s ready.”

She nodded and darted off to fetch them.

I served them and cleared the table, taking note that Killer wasn’t at dinner tonight.

I questioned Mykhayla because she was with him earlier today, but she didn’t know.

I sighed and kept a plate hot for him as I cleaned up.

“Torri.” Mykhayla said as I was finishing with the dishes, I turned to look at her.

“Killer’s back, and he wants to talk to you at the back of the ship.”

I stretched and nodded as I pulled off my apron.

I slowly made my way to the back of the ship, and there I saw Killer standing there with something behind his back.

I advanced in the moonlight towards him.

“Hey,” I said to him.

“Hey.” He replied.

“Missed you at dinner, where were you?” I asked.

“Picking these.” He said and brought from behind his back, seventeen white lilies, “I thought you might like them.”

I was taken aback to say the least. No one had ever gotten me flowers before.

He handed them to me and I took them gingerly.

“It’s really sweet of you.” I told him staring at the flowers I had in my hands, “Thank you, it really is sweet.”

“Aah, don’t mention it.” He said, “I just thought maybe you might like them when I saw them and-

“I love them.” I said finally with a voice of confidence, “Really. Thank you.”

“Don’t worry about it.” He told me and prepared to turn away.

“I kept some dinner hot for you.” I told him, “It’s in the oven.”

“Thanks.” He said and all but took off running.

I stared at the flowers a moment more, before I took one out of the bouquet and put it behind my right ear. It was really sweet.

I had just finished writing the log for the day and was preparing to go to bed when Mykhayla walked into the room.

“What kept you?” I asked not looking up.

I didn’t hear a reply from her right away so I turned to look at her.

“What?” I asked finally.

“Where did you get the flowers from?” She asked me.

“Killer gave them to me earlier.” I said gesturing to the lilies in a black vase.

“That was nice of him.” She said in a tone that led me to believe she knew more than she was letting on.

“It was.” I said not wanting to ruin my mood, “It really was.”

 

Leave a Reply

