Teddy Bear(Hisagi Shuuhei Love Story part 2)

I sighed again and signed another paper that was on the desk. I,technically, didn’t have the clearance to be taking care of this paper work, but considering the fact I had the name Zaraki also no one could really know the difference.

I let the rubber stamp fall on the next paper completing the work I had to get done for the day.

I stood up and stretched for a moment before picking up a section of the papers to carry with me. I had to get these to the 4th division today.

I yawned as I left the office. I had purposely been avoiding everyone the past couple of days. Rangiku had been on my case about leaving early, Iba had been non too pleased when he woke up in the 4th squad recovery room, Ikkaku and Yumichika were pissed at the fact I left early on them, and because of what happened to Iba, it seemed Izuru, Renji and Shuuhei were all avoiding me.

It also could have been because they were busy, but considering the fact that I would walk up to the group of them when they talking in the middle of the street and they would all scatter definitely told me something.

So what I had been left with as of lately was paperwork, cooking, training with oto-san, training by myself and reading when I could find the time. I was so bored recently, and really I had no one to blame but myself.

I somehow managed to keep my feet from dragging all the way to the 4th division. What didn’t go unnoticed by me was all the people who I passed didn’t say a word to me, they all moved to the side and averted their gaze.

That had to be the work of my father. I thought to myself as I entered the 4th squad barracks.

I walked up and over to the office and knocked on the door.

Unohana called for me to enter. I slid open the door and stepped in.

“Hello Unohana-taicho, Isane-san.” I greeted.

Isane greeted me with a smile.

“Here’s the report you asked for.” I said.

Unohana smiled at me and then gestured to the edge of her desk, “Please set it there.”

I did as I was told and bowed before turning to leave.

“Shiai-san.” Unohana called to me.

I turned around to face her, “Yes, ma’am?”

“Is there something weighing on your mind?” She asked with genuine concern.

I sighed in defeat.

“It’s written all over my face isn’t it?” I asked.

She nodded.

I sighed again, “I feel like everyone has been avoiding me since the night of Matsumoto Ramgiku’s birthday party where Tetsuzaemon Iba challenged my father for me and almost got himself killed.” I explained, “And I feel like it’s my fault even though I probably outta blame Oto-san and his over protective nature.”

“That is a bit of a predicament.” She said to me leaning back in her chair.

“But I will tell you this, Shiai-san, what happened to Iba-san isn’t your fault and no one should blame you for it.”

I smiled at the captain.

“Thank you.” I said to her.

“Don’t mention it, Shiai-san.” She assured me, “You are dismissed now.”

I bowed again and left the 4th squad with a much lighter heart than I went in there with.


“Shiai-Chan~!” Rangiku sang as she approached me sitting on the roof of the 11th squad barracks.

“Hi, Rangiku.” I said looking at her and smiling a little.

“Why didn’t you stay at my party that long?” She pouted.

“I was bored, and wasn’t comfortable.” I explained.

“Is that all?” She demanded. I nodded.

“Shiai-chan I swear at this rate I will never find you a boyfriend.” She sighed.

“Was that the entire point of inviting me to your party?” I hissed.

She nodded, “Yumichika and I were on the same page, you’re too cute to remain single like you are, Shiai-chan.” Rangiku explained, “Now what are we gonna do with you?”

“Maybe ask me what I want in a guy and try to find one that matches.” I muttered under my breath.

“That’s a great idea!” Rangiku exclaimed as she jumped up and grabbed my arm, hauling me after her.

“Yumichika!” She yelled heading towards the training room where she was almost 100% sure he was at.

“Yumichika!” Rangiku cried again as she threw open the doors of the training room to reveal Oto-san sparring with Ikkaku.

“What is it Rangi-san?” Yumichika asked pulling his eyes off the paused fight.

“I know just what to do to find little, Shiai-chan that spark!” She exclaimed.

As if it wasn’t embarrassing enough, almost all of the seated officers were there and listening to what was going on.

“Oh this is perfect!” Yumichika exclaimed and pranced towards us, “Let’s go! Let’s go! Let’s go!”

I dug my heels into the floor beneath me as they both turned me around and tried to push me out of the room. It worked for them until we reached the doors where I grabbed onto the doors and held on for dear life.

“I don’t wanna.” I growled at the two behind me still trying to push me out.

“Shiai-chan stop this right now!” Rangiku warned, “Aren’t you ever lonely?”

“Why should I be?” I countered, hissing at her this time, “I have Oto-san and Yachiru and Ichigo and-

“That are within the same world as you!” Yumichika growled at me this time.

“You and Ikkaku and Shuuhei and Izuru. And if I’m ever board I have the squad.” I countered pushing back on them.

“You’re being difficult!” Rangiku yelled.

“Then maybe you need to respect my boundaries.” I growled, “Oto-san, if there was ever a time for you to be over protective of me, now would be it.” I told my father who was just staring at us with the rest of the squad who was present.

“I’d like to know what’s going on.” Oto-san growled at the two.

Both Yumichika and Rangiku whipped around instantly, releasing the pressure that was on my back and causing to fall backwards and land hard on my butt.

“Captain, don’t you agree that Shiai-chan is just too cute to be on her own?” Yumichika asked.

My father tilted his head not understanding what was being said.

“Yumichika and I are trying to find someone for her to be with.” Rangiku finished, “Or at least we would be if she wasn’t so stubborn.”

“They’re trying to find me a boyfriend.” I told him standing up and brushing the dust off myself.

“What?” Oto-san growled.

“Going against my will and wishes to find a person, most likely a male, to put up with, hang out and be with me.” I explained, “Like what you and Oka-san were.”

“I know that.” He growled at me, “Is that what Iba was here about.”

“No.” Rangiku smiled, “He came here of his own accord.”

“Besides that, I would never pair up such a cute Shiai-chan with Iba of all people.” Yumichika scoffed.

“Shiai.” Oto-san called to me. I looked up at him, “Do you even want a boyfriend?”

Finally! I thought, Someone asking me what I want!

“Not overly, no.” I said honestly, “Between training and work I don’t have a whole lot of time.”

“Good to hear.” Oto-san smiled evilly, “Then I don’t want you two planning, scheming, plotting or trying to set my daughter up with anyone.” He ordered to Yumichika and Rangiku, “If you try, I’ll kill you both. Shiai’s a good girl, she’ll find a boy I deem good enough for her when she’s ready, until then; she doesn’t need the two of you butting in on her love life! Am I understood?”

“Yes, captain.”

“Yes, sir.”

“Thank you, Oto-san.” I said with a smile to the much taller man.

He smiled genuinely at me and ruffled my hair.

“Go play.” He told me, ceasing his actions and turning back to Ikkaku to continue their spar.

I said nothing but left the training room by myself. Yumichika and Rangiku were deflated after receiving the order.


I was walking on top of the walls of the soul society, basking in the sun as I went. It was a beautiful day, I had finished with the paperwork early and had the rest of the day to myself.

“Shiai-san!”

I turned to where I heard my name being called. It was Izuru waving me over, Shuuhei and Renji standing next to him.

I jumped down off the wall and walked over to them.

“Hi guys.” I said with a wide smile, “How have you guys been?”

“We’ve all been doing well, how about yourself, Shiai-san?” Izuru replied.

I shrugged, “So far so good. I haven’t seen you guys a lot recently, been busy with work?”

They all nodded.

“Say, Shiai?” Renji said gaining my attention, “Are you busy right now?”

I shook my head, “What’s up?”

A smirk appeared on the red head’s face as he threw an arm around Shuuhei’s neck.

“Hisagi here has a crush on a girl and wants to get her a present to kinda show his feelings.” He began. Shuuhei’s face became almost as red as my eyes and Renji’s hair in an instant.

“All of our other female friends are busy today so we couldn’t go out with them, would you mind coming with us so we don’t pick out something stupid.” Izuru finished.

I gave an apologetic smile.

“I’m more than happy to go with you and give you another opinion,” I started, “However, I’m not really all that girly either.”

“Neither is the girl I like.” Shuuhei said quietly.

I smiled brightly at him, “Then I’m more than happy to help!”


“Does she like jewelry?” I asked after almost an hour of walking around the shopping area looking for something for this girl I knew nothing about.

“To a degree, I suppose.” Shuuhei said scratching the back of his head.

“What do you know about this girl?” I asked crossing my arms over my chest, “That’ll be unbelievably helpful in finding something for her.”

He shrugged and looked away from me, staring at the ground, “She really likes to fight.” He started, “She has a good heart, I know she likes cooking, sports, reading and the cold.”

“What’s her favorite colour?” I asked putting my hands on my hips.

“She likes red.” He said shortly, “Not like a bright red or pale red or pinky red or anything like that.”

“Like a blood red?” I asked.

He nodded.

“Does this girl happen to be on squad 11 by chance?” I asked trying to think of all the girls on my squad that he might be into.

Keiko Ayame, but she doesn’t like cooking.
Ariadnie Rin, but she’s rude and doesn’t like anybody, really.
Morinzai Yuri, but she loathes the cold.
Honikuriko Sakura, but she’s such an air head, I’ve never seen her write her name let alone pick up a book.

The only other person I could think of was Tsukinolita Suki. She was all of those things, including beautiful.

“Yeah.” Shuuhei Said quietly.

I smiled to myself, it wasn’t a surprise he liked Suki. She had stolen the hearts of a lot of guys, hardly a day goes by that I don’t hear someone praise her bother for her skill and beauty in the squad.

“It’s Suki, isn’t it?” I asked giggling to myself.

Shuuhei looked shocked at my accusation.

“Come on, Shuuhei, you can tell me.” I assured, “It’s not really surprising either. I mean she’s a good fighter, she’s such a sweetheart, very smart. She’s curvy and very pretty too.”

“Shiai.” Shuuhei sighed.

“It has to be her.” I announced, “There’s no other girl on the 11th squad that fits that description better than she does. But what you forgot to mention was her beauty.”

Shuuhei’s face just kept getting redder by the second.

I sighed to myself and grabbed his arm.

“I know exactly what to get her.” I told him and pulled him along until we came to the shop I was looking for.

I looked in at the display window, glaring at every piece of merchandise on display until I saw it.

“That.” I said pointing to;

 

shuuhei-love-story

“She’ll love it.” I said turning to Shuuhei with a smile on my face.

He swallowed as he looked down at the bracelet I was pointing at.

“If you don’t have enough for it, I’ll loan you some of the money.” I offered.

Shuuhei shook his head, “I got enough for it, but are you sure she’ll like it?”

I nodded.

“Do you like it Shiai-san?” Izuru asked me from the other side of me.

I shrugged, “It’s okay.” I admitted, “Definitely more Suki than me though, which is why you should get it.”

“What’s your preference in jewelry then Shiai?”Renji asked out of the blue.

I paused and crossed my arms over my chest for a moment as I thought.

“It probably sounds a little stupid.” I admitted, “But I’ve always liked charm bracelets.”

“Charm bracelets?” Shuuhei asked.

I nodded, “I know. Stupid. But I’ve always liked the idea of just having a bracelet that let’s you look back on the relationships you’ve had and get to see all the space for so many more memories.”

Renji let out a small snort, obviously trying to keep in his laugh.

I rolled my eyes, “I said it was stupid.” I admitted, “But you asked.”

The 4 of us just stood there in front of that window for a moment before it dawned on me.

“Shuuhei, aren’t you going to go in and get that bracelet for Suki?” I asked looking at the taller man.

“Right.” He said sheepishly scratching the back of his head.

I smacked his arm, “Get your mind out of the gutter, lieutenant.” I teased, “She’s beautiful yeah, but the amount of guys she get’s asking her out on a daily basis gives you plenty of competition.”

Shuuhei’s face was back to a dark red.

“Why don’t you guys just take off.” He stuttered out trying to growl at us, “I’m gonna want to talk to her after I get the damn thing.”

“Good luck tiger.” I smiled at him and started walking off with Izuru and Renji.

“That was an adventure.” I said with a sigh once we were out of ear shot of Shuuhei, “You think he’d of told us sooner.”

“Hisagi-san already told Renji-san and me who he liked.” Izuru told me, “But we were afraid since you and Suki-san were so close you might tell her.”

I looked at Izuru like he just grew another head.

“Suki and I aren’t close.” I said, confused by the fact that they thought we were, “The only people on my squad I’m close to are Oto-san, Yachiru, Ikkaku and Yumichka. The rest I’m acquainted fairy well with, but not at all close.”

“So you won’t tell her?” Izuru asked.

I shook my head, “That’s the kind of thing that’s between her and Shuuhei. I’m not going to butt in on anyone’s love life.”

“I’m glad we asked you and not Rangiku then.” Renji said.

I laughed a little, “She’s probably still trying to work something up with Yumichika to get some poor sap a boyfriend.”

“What makes you think that?” Izuru questioned.

“They’ve apparently been trying to set me up with someone for the past little while.” I explained, “It was only the other day when Rangiku went to get Yumichika and myself to put a plan into action did Oto-san notice and order them to cease all efforts in finding me a partner.”

“I never thought, Zaraki-tiacho would order something like that to happen.” Renji told me, “At least he never would have when I was on his squad.”

“It’s not exactly because I’m a squad member of his, Renji.” I told the red head, “It’s because I’m-

“Zaraki-tiacho’s daughter.” Izuru finished.

I nodded, “Otherwise he wouldn’t have an issue.”

“I feel sorry for whatever guy asks you out then, Shiai.” Renji said.

I shrugged, “I think as long as he’s respectful, Oto-san won’t have any issue with me dating a long as he doesn’t do anything stupid.”

Leave a Reply

