Obscuring The Heart Part 6

The wind was flowing fast through my hair as I plummeted to the sea below. The bright sun rays gave an odd contrast to the cold air I was rushing through. I was a few meters from the surface of the water when I turned over to my stomach and grab onto the wooden handles on either side of the back of the saddle Gobber had made for Shadowsplinter as he flew under me.

I let out a cry of glee as he went straight up towards the clouds again. I loved going straight up in ways like this. Hanging onto the leg guards or standing on them and feel like I’m the one flying.

We leveled out above the cloud line and I sat back in the seat properly.

“I love doing this.” I told Shadowsplinter.

He roared in agreement.

I giggled a little and patted his head in between his horns and said;

“Okay, Splint. I think we’ve had enough of a breather, let’s get back down so I can start making dinner for the boys.”

He roared again in compliance, he wasn’t happy about having to leave so soon, when the sun wasn’t even close to setting, but he complied.

We touched down and I stretched out before heading inside and starting dinner.


“Welcome back.” I said to Hiccup as he entered with Toothless at his heels.

He smiled at me as I threw the rest of the ingredients in the pot.

“Feeling up for an overnight training exercise?” he asked as he took a whiff of what was in the pot.

“What’s the criteria?” I asked as I threw in some spices.

“We have to get from one end of Dragon Island to the other at night, without our dragons.” He replied.

“That it?” I asked as I stirred the pot.

He nodded as he opened and closed his palm repeatedly, silently asking me for an early taste.

I looked at him sideways and tasted it quickly myself before throwing a few more spices in and tasting it again before I was finally satisfied. I then handed him the spoon and he tasted eagerly.

“Delicious.” He said as he moved the spoon away.

I smiled widely at his response.

“I’d be okay with it.” I told him as I took the spoon back and started stirring the pot again, “One weapon deal?”

He shrugged, “A lantern and whatever else you can carry.”

I nodded and grabbed some bowls as I heard the porch creaking under the familiar weight of my father.


We all touched down on the island and dismounted. I patted Shadowsplinter on the side of his head.

All of s had a lantern. I had my ax and a hunting knife on me.

“Who’s going to take the dragons to the cave?” Hiccup asked as he patted Toothless on his head.

“I’ll do it.” Fishlegs offered much too quickly.

“Fishlegs,” Astrid started, “The entire point of this exercise is to not rely on our dragons.”

“I’ll take ’em.” Tuff offered.

“Alright.” I said with a shrug.

Everyone else nodded in agreement.

“Alright.” Tuff exclaimed, “Now, where’s the cave again?”

Tuff laughed as he walked off saying he was joking, or was he.

With him they would never know.

“Alright,” I said waving off Shadowsplinter, “Let’s go.”


A short way into the forest I actually put out the lantern. It inhibited my night vision. I still carried it with me so not to leave a trail that I was there.

Usually I wouldn’t be this paranoid about dragon island, but it was too quiet for my liking. Dragons, whether they were awake or sleeping made noise. They snored, they growled, they yawned, roared. At least I would hear their wings flapping or feel the vibrations of there foot steps on the ground.

But there was nothing.

I proceeded carefully, making sure not to touch a twig or stone, and make sure I didn’t leave a footprint trail.

I saw a small amount of light coming up on my left. I squatted down and started to proceed towards it while remaining close to the ground. It was at this time I cursed myself silently. The chain mail that fell from my belt as armor over my skirt created a small amount of noise.

But it was covered by the familiar voice of my brother.

“Snotlout!” He called.

But he was almost instantly tackled to the ground by something.

Without thinking I flipped over the bushes in front of me shoulder checked the thing off of him as I readied my ax in my hand. It landed on the ground with a heavy thud. I raised my ax above my head ready to bring it down.

“Sigrid!”

“Sigrid, don’t!”

Two voices called to me, causing me to snapped out of my rage.

I finally got a good look the thing that had tackled my brother.

“Dagur!” I shouted in accusation as the hand that held my ax fell from above my head to against my side.

“What in the name of Thor are you doing here?” I demanded as he quickly pulled himself up and backed away a little bit.

“The same thing as you two.” He said with a sinister smile, “Dragon hunting.”

Hiccup and I gave each other a sideways look.

“That is what you two are doing, right?” He asked getting uncomfortably close.

“Yeah.” I said shoving him back to give me some space, “Hiccup insisted, so I’m giving him some field training.”

“That’s so like you two.” Dagur said with a manacle cackle.

“So what about you?” I challenged, “I thought by now you’d be back on Berzerk taking care of your people.”

Dagur stopped laughing instantly and just glared at me.

“Why would I do that when there are so many dragons to hunt?” He asked approaching me slowly again.

“I remember you saying a long time ago, you’d be the best chief the Berzerkers ever had when you get the title,” I recollected, “That always starts with your people.”

“First way to take care of your own,” Dagur enlightened, “To make sure there is no threat for them.”

“All the way out here,” I said with a snarl, “The dragons on this island wouldn’t bother your people.”

“If I didn’t know any better, Sigrid.” Dagur started, “I’d say you didn’t like me.”

All I did was continue my scowl at him.

Dagur just smiled more at me.

“I said I was going to keep my ear out for rumors, did I not?”

“What’s your point?” I asked and crossed my arms

“I’ve heard there was a night fury spotted around here.” Dagur started, “I figured at one point or another I’d come across it if I keep killing its friends. And then I could take it down, and wear its head as a helmet!” He started to cackle.

Hiccup looked at me concerned, I shot him a reassuring look.

“Do you seriously think that you could take that dragon down?” I scoffed at Dagur.

He stopped instantly.

“What makes you think I can’t?”

“The fact you lost to me.” I said matter-o-factly, “And the fact you can’t be honest with yourself.”

He just glared at me for a moment before he opened his mouth in order to retort. Suddenly there was the roar of a very distinct dragon in the distance. Dagur’s mouth flew shut and he grabbed his cross bow.

“I could use you two if you wanted to join me in hunting this dragon.” Dagur offered politely.

“Sure.” I said without a moment of hesitation.

“Sigrid?” Hiccup asked, very concerned about what was going to happen.

“You need the tracking practice.” I told him over my shoulder, “So put out your lantern.”

Hiccup paused for a moment out of hesitation before doing what I asked of him.

“Should probably scout out the south-east first.” I said to the boys.

“Idiot!” Dagur called to me, “That roar was coming from the north.”

“The trees and mountains can make noises carry.” I told him, “We don’t know where it is, but the south seems to be the best place to start to me.”

“Your gut telling you to go there?” Hiccup asked stepping closer to me.

I nodded.

“Fine!” Dagur said in exasperation, “We’ll start in the south.”


“Shh.” I called back to Dagur and Hiccup before motioning for them to crouch down.

I peered through the bushes I was hiding behind. There was a small herd of nadders on the other side. I didn’t want to take any chances with Dagur with us. All I had to do was keep Hiccup and myself alive until dawn, then I could finally kill the idiot and we could leave.

I motioned for them to follow me as I ghosted along the edge of the clearing that the nadders were sleeping in.

“Sigrid!” Dagur whisper-yelled to me as were halfway around.

“What?” I mouthed.

“Why don’t we kill them?” He asked.

“We’re tracking moron.” I hissed in a hush tone, “There are easily ten nadders there, we startle them high chance we’re gonna die. And not only that but it’ll scare off the night fury you’re trying so desperately to find.”

He looked like he wanted to yell at me, but before he could I turned around and continued forward to lead them around.

I continued to sneak until I knew I was good enough distance away from the herd that our normal talking voices wouldn’t disturb them.

“You’re an idiot sometimes.” I growled to Dagur.

“And you’re a coward!” He all but yelled.

I threw my hand over his mouth and hissed, “Keep your damn voice down, we don’t know what’s around right now.”

He moved my hand from his mouth letting me know he’ll be quiet.

“I’m not a coward, stupid.” I told him, “Oden knows I’m one of the bravest. That being said, while I am more than willing to die in battle to get my ass in Valhalla I’m not going at the expense of brother’s life too. Besides that, running into that herd would just have been suicide. There’s a time for action and a time for thought. Now is the time for thought, once we find the night fury it will be action. Until then, you listen to me. These are my woods.”

“I thought you weren’t going to be the chief?” Dagur asked leaning into my face.

“I don’t want to be.” I hissed, “But at the end of the day, it’s our father’s decision, not mine. Now let’s move.”

I trudged on thinking it might be best for Hiccup to run to the other side of the island get help from the dragons and who ever else might be there while I stayed and held Dagur off.

I knew of Hiccup’s unease the second we ran into Dagur. It was now my job to do everything I could to stop this idiot from killing my brother’s dragon and waging war against the Hooligan tribe.

“There!” Dagur whispered pulling my and Hiccup down behind a near by rock.

“Isn’t it beautiful?” He asked pulling me towards him so I could see the dark creature glisten in the moonlight. It’s large wings were up in a half take off position, and it was letting out a throaty cry.

I shook my head looking at Toothless, he wasn’t in the cave with Tuffnut and the other dragons, that means all the others are most likely out and about too.

I had to come up with something and fast. Dagur was about to kill Toothless, and if Shadowsplinter heard the distress of any other dragon, especially Toothless, he would be there in a second, then Dagur would pick off my dragon.

I saw Dagur load an arrow into his cross bow. I did the only thing I could think of.

I opened my mouth and let out a Dragon distress call at the top of my lungs.

That gained Toothless’ attention to the rock we were hiding behind, and knocked Dagur off balance sending him to the ground as I essentially roared in his ear.

Toothless saw Dagur fall to the ground and Hiccup motioned for him to run. He did, one thing taken care of.

“What was that about?” Dagur stood up and screamed at me.

“It would have gone according to plan if you had kept your balance.” I growled back, “I was going to try to call him in by faking a distressed dragon and then, if you weren’t such a stupid, unskilled moron like you are you could have gotten him at a point black range and stared him in the eye as you shot! It’s not my fault you’re suck a wimp you can’t take a roar imitation.”

“I’m not a wimp!” He yelled at me seething in anger, “Maybe you should have said something first!”

“If I did the dragon would have run off!” I yelled back.

“No he wouldn’t have.”

“Yes, actually, Dagur. He would have.” Hiccup chimed in. Dagur and I tore our glares off each other to look at the brunette.

“What Sigrid did was intelligent.” Hiccup started, “The dragons on this island aren’t accustom to human voices, hearing one so close only would have scared it off the island. By faking as a distressed dragon it would have prompted the night fury to check it out. A dragon in distress will make it known by a large margin in order to maybe gain help.”

“Warning would have been nice.” Dagur hissed.

“Like I said, stop being a wimp.” I snarled.

“We’re going to want to get out of here.” Hiccup said, “Other dragons defiantly would have heard it, we don’t want to hang around.”

“Or do we?” Dagur asked himself looking at his cross bow.

“Herd of dragons you’ll take on by yourself, or night fury?” I asked crossing my arms.

“Fine.” He hissed and trudged forward in the direction Toothless took off in.

I grabbed Hiccup and whispered to him, “Go and find the others.” I told him, “Find them, find the dragons. You can ride Shadowsplinter for now. But you need to get somewhere safe. I promise I won’t let Dagur even touch Toothless with a ten foot pole, but I need you out of the way first.”

Hiccup nodded and took off in the direction of the cave, it was a start.

I took my ax out of my belt and strode towards Dagur. He was sneaking along trying to gain some idea of where Toothless went.

“This is long over due.” I said as I raised my ax above my head, both hands on the handle, I brought it down on Dagur’s head on, only to feel resistance. He blocked my attack with his cross bow.

“Are you really going to use this time to kill me?” He asked, the most deranged smile I had ever seen crossed his face.

“I should have a long time ago.” I growled and kicked him.

Dagur rolled and hopped up shooting the arrow at me, I turned my body dodging it easily. I went to charge him, he threw his cross bow to the side and pulled out throwing knives. I did a front flip to avoid the knife that was aimed at my knee.

I had never revealed my flexibility to him before. Needless to say he was stunned for a moment. That gave me enough time to get in close. He did react in time to slash my right hand, causing me to drop my ax. I did a back flip and kicked him in the face sending him back a few feet. I also used the time to pull out my hunting knife from my belt.

Dagur had one knife in his hand he threw it at me and I dodged. He went to throw more and more at me and I kept dodging. I got scraped on my right thigh, my left side, my stomach, my left upper arm, and my right cheek.

But now, he was out of knives. I would say this was good, but I had lost my hunting knife a bit ago too.

Now it was a hand on hand kind of fight, where one wrong move would kill you.

I went to punch him in the nose, he dodged and grabbed my arm turning me around so my back was to his chest.

“Does Stoik detest me this much?” He teased in my ear.

“Dad only doesn’t like you because you’ve tried to kill his kids one too many times.” I told him, “I hate you.”

Before he could say anything, I used him holding onto my arms as my advantage. I swung my body up, bringing myself up and around and crashing my left knee onto the back of his head.

He let go and stumbled forward in pain. I used this too, I charged forward and sent my right knee into his back.

He turned around way to fast for me to react and reached out and grabbed my knee. I was screwed. He had broken my right knee before, there was nothing to stop him from doing it again. I had no plan, no one to back me up, no one to run for help, and very little I could do to get him to let go or do after he broke my knee.

“Stormfly, spine shot!” I head to my right.

Dagur let got of me instantly, jumping back a few feet. I almost fell over as that razor sharp spine went whizzing past me from the sudden release of my knee.

I looked up and saw Hiccup and Toothless, Ruff and Tuff on Barf and Belch, Snotlout on Hookfang, Fishlegs on Meatlug and Shadowsplinter.

“Sigrid, come on!” Astrid yelled at me. She was flying closer to the ground on my right, while everyone else was on my left. Stormfly’s tail spikes were all out, like a ladder.

I ran and jumped up, grabbing hold of the spikes. She and Stormfly then flew over to Shadow and hovered above the saddle for me. I let go and dropped on the saddle perfectly.

“Thanks.” I called to the blonde, “I owe you one.”

“What is this!?” Dagur demanded, “You two choose dragons over me!”

“These dragons actually have our backs.” I yelled down to the red head.

“And have saved our lives.” Hiccup yelled down too.

“What have you done for us?” Ruff yelled down to him.

“You will not live to regret this.” Dagur threatened.

“Dagur, from where I sit you’re just an insane idiot with a cross bow and an armada.” I told me, “We have dragons, we’ll always have dragons.”

“And we aren’t afraid to use them if you want to come play either.” Hiccup taunted.

Dagur let out a yell in frustration as we all turned and started the flight back to Berk as the sun was just coming up.

“You’re getting better at taunting the enemy.” I commented to Hiccup, “Ruff and Tuff must be rubbing off.”

Hiccup laughed.

As the time passed I found myself flying next to Astrid. I couldn’t really find what to say.

“Thanks, Sigird.” Astrid said not looking at me, “Hiccup told us what you were doing. If it wasn’t for you and all of your quick thinking, we may not have our dragons right now.”

I half smiled, “I thought I was supposed to be thanking you.” I said looking at her, the blonde turned and looked at me, “If it wasn’t for your quick thinking with the spin shot, Dagur would have broken my knee. And I wouldn’t have been able to move, let alone mount Shadowsplinter. And There was no room anywhere for Shadow there to land, and we’d have been way too slow on take off there to actually leave. You and Stormfly got me out of a predicament. So, I owe you. Both of you.”

Astrid looked down to the sea and smiled to herself.

“Helhiem just froze over!” Snotlout yelled flaying behind us, “Astrid and Sigrid are actually getting along and smiling at one another! What’s going on?”

I rolled my eyes and looked down at Shadowsplinter. He looked up at me and we both nodded, taking off towards home as fast as his wings could carry us.

Leave a Reply

