What If It Were Real?(Part 10)

A very loud and horribly played trumpet noise filled the air surrounding the Kidd’s pirate ship, causing all members to run out onto the deck and see what was going on.

“Alright men!” Mykhayla exclaimed as she put down the trumpet that was previously at her lips and addressed the crew, “It is officially after Christmas! We have had our rest day! Now, in order for us to move on with our journey on the grand line we all must come together and get to cleaning up the left over mess! That way we can be ready to sail by tomorrow!”

“Any why should we listen to you?!” A lower ranking crew member sneered back at the blonde.

“If you ever want to eat again while on this ship you lend a hand in cleaning up.” I growled at the man.

He growled to himself but said nothing.

“Alright!” Mykhayla said gaining our attention, “Everyone to their cleaning stations!”

All the men grumbled but complied, wanting their lunch and dinner today, the shuffled off and began tearing down all the banners, garlands, wreaths and other various and miscellaneous decorations Mykhayla had made and put up.

On my way back inside to start scrubbing out the oven and giving the fridge a thoro cleaning I passed by some men who wondered aloud:

“Where did that blonde learn to play trumpet?” One asked.

“Were did she even get it?” Another asked.

“Were does she get half the things she finds?” The third asked.

“Well, gentlemen.” Mykhayla said popping out of no where, scaring them, “First off, I don’t actually know how to play the trumpet. Secondly, wouldn’t you like to know!” Before she skipped away laughing maniacally to herself.

I shook my head and walked away. So it was going to be one of those days.


I stretched out in the air of the early morning. Everyone was up now getting ready to shove off. All our preparations were done, and the last thing we had to do was fire up the ship and head off to where ever the hell the log post was pointing.

I heard the familiar whir of the engine as it was fired up and the unfamiliar puttering of the engine dying out. This repeated a couple more times before Kidd lost his temper and started yelling for the Shipwright, Killer and myself to get our asses down to the engine room.

I sighed but turned and walked back inside and down the stairs towards the back of the ship.

“What’s going on?” I moaned staring at the three men before me, “And why the hell am I here?”

“The engine won’t start!” Kidd said getting red in the face.

“No shit Sherlock.” I told him and crossed my arms, “Why am I here?”

“To use your witch powers to see what’s wrong because this guy’s worthless!” Kidd screamed getting louder.

“Would you stop yelling at me!” I screamed back, “I told you I can’t control when I get visions or be able to say where something is because of it! Now stop using that as an excuse to scream out all of your frustrations at me because of something I can’t control!”

“Are you yelling at your captain, witch!” Kidd snarled back at me.

“No, I’m yelling at a moron who can’t tell his ass from a hole in the ground!” I roared, “I don’t know shit about engines so me being down here is pointless!”

“Torri can you please pass me that wrench that’s on the work bench beside you?” I heard Mykhayla ask.

I handed it to her without turning around as Kidd let me have it.

“I can’t tell my ass form a hole in the ground! You stupid, ungrateful little-

“What Kidd?” Seethed back, “Witch, bitch, wench, idiot? Get some new material about what you want to call me or any insults that you want to throw my way. Because I’ll be honest with you, it’s getting really old! Now why don’t you stop your bullshitting and actually do some captaining! Blaming others for your shortcomings is no way to run a ship!”

“Okay, go give her a try.” I heard Mykhayla say proudly behind me.

I turned to look at her. She stood up and wiped some grease off her cheek, smiling wide as she did so.

“What?” She asked realizing we were all staring at her dumbfounded.

“You repaired the engine?” Kidd asked amazed.

She shrugged, “I don’t know just yet. Why don’t you go back up to the helm and try it out. Then I can tell you.”

Kidd did nothing for a moment but blink, then he turned and left, as the four of us followed him back out onto the deck.

Kidd stood in front of the helm and pressed the button that made the engine come on. It went on like a dream.

“There ya’ go it works now!” Mykhayla said happily.

“How did you do that?” Killer asked her amazed.

“Well, you see.” Mykhayla started before going into great detail about the cold and with the engine staying stationary for so long it affected some of the parts and all she had to do was loosen some bolts change a couple of gears and use some water and cleaning solution to make it work like new. But to me, and judging by the looks on Kidd and shipwright’s faces along with Killer’s posture they felt the same, it was an alien language.

“Okay.” I said after a few minutes of silence and us staring at one another, “Where are we headed next captain?”

“No idea.” Kidd said as he took his seat at his ‘throne’, “Let’s just get there.”

“Shove off men!” Killer called to the rest of the crew. And within minutes we were back on the open ocean heading to our next destination.


I cracked open a walnut and popped the tasty center into my mouth.

“I like walnuts.” I said reaching for another.

“Personally, I enjoy pistachios better.” Mykhayla told me, “You can never only eat one of them.”

“I find that the same with peanuts.” I told her.

“I agree. Hazelnuts are also addicting when covered in chocolate.” She said.

I nodded in agreement, “Almonds are best when covered in candy.”

“And coconuts go with anything sweet.” She said popping another pistachio in her mouth.

“I think coconuts are like pine nuts too though, because you can put them in savory dishes and they come out really well.” I added.

“Have you heard of a candle nut?” She asked me as I opened a peanut.

I nodded, “It’s used a lot in South-East Asian cooking. Why?”

“I was reading about nuts the other day and got curious.” She said innocently, “Did you know that cola get’s its flavor from a Kola nut?”

“I didn’t but, good to know.” I said opening another walnut, “Did you know an apricot pit can be used as a culinary substitute for almonds?”

“No I didn’t. Makes me wonder through.” She said before grabbing an almond and chewing on it, “What’s the difference between a chestnut and a water chestnut.”

“Water chestnuts aren’t actually nuts, but an aquatic vegetable used in Chinese cooking.” I answered picking up an almond.

“How am I supposed to open this?” Mykhayla asked holding an acorn in the palm of her hand.

“You take the top off, and you cook the body.” I told her grabbing another peanut.

“Too much work!” She said throwing it back into the bowl, “I’m just gonna enjoy this cashew.”

I rolled my eyes and popped the peanut into my mouth.

“You know, another thing I read about was that soy bean are considered nuts.”

“Really?” I almost exclaimed, “But they’re beans. It even says it in its name!” I sighed and dug around in the bowl again, “Oh hey, it’s a pecan.”

“A pecan?”

I nodded and broke it open before giving her half to try.

“They make a good pie.” I told her eating my half.

“You know what I want right now?” Mykhayla asked me tossing the pecan in her mouth, “A macadamia nut cookie.”

I smiled, “I got some white chocolate on the island.” I told her, “How about a white chocolate macadamia nut cookie?”

“I’m all in!” She cheered.

“We have a convoy approaching!” The look out called.

I shot up from the shadow of Kidd’s ‘throne’ and cheered, we finally had something to do!

“To your battle stations men!” Kidd yelled out through gritted teeth. I was surprised he didn’t tell us to fuck off with us being right behind him the entire time.

“Hazza!” Mykhayla shouted holding a mop she got, from seemingly nowhere, above her head.

“You are to go below deck!” Kidd snarled at her.

“Aw, nuts!” Mykhayla whined before following his orders.

Leave a Reply

