Teddy Bear(A Hisagi Shuuhei Love Story Part 6)

There was a distinctive spring in my step as I made my way to the 6th division with paperwork. Shuuhei and I had just gotten together after all, and he was so sweet too.

I knocked on the door before hearing Renji’s voice calling for me to come in.

“Hi, Renji.” I said with a smile as I enter the room.

“Oh. Hi, Shiai!” The red head said looking over a giant stack of papers at me.

“Where’s Byakuya-taicho?” I asked noting the empty desk.

“Captain’s meeting.” Renji said with a sigh, “You can leave those papers on his desk.”

“That time already?” I asked myself, “Thanks.” I directed that at Renji before doing as he suggested.

“So…” Renji started with an evident smirk on his face.

“What?” I asked shooting him a smirk aswell, with my hand on my hips.

“I’ve noticed you and Lieutenant Hisagi have been spending a lot of time together recently.” He wiggled his eyebrows at me, “There a particular reason for that?”

I rolled my eyes. I should have known that’s what he was going to ask.

“I’ll answer if you answer.” I countered, crossing my arms over my chest and leaning against the captain’s desk behind me.

“Shoot.” He told me.

“Why do you think we’ve been spending a lot of time together?”

His smirk just grew, “I think, Hisagi finally grew a pair and told you.”

“Nope.” I told him popping the ‘p’ sound in it. Renji’s face fell, “He kissed me instead.”

The red head instantly broke into laughter, “When the hell did that happen?” He managed out.

“After we defeated a couple of hollows during that invasion about a week ago when he came looking for me.” I answered.

“And you and Hisagi?” He asked amazed.

I raised my right arm and showed him the charm bracelet that adorned my wrist.

“That make you his?” He teased.

“At least I have a partner.” I smirked before pushing off the desk and taking my leave, “Have a good day, Renji.”


I was doing pull ups in the weight room when Ikkaku and Yumichika came up to me.

“What?” I groaned out pulling myself up again.

“So, you and Hisagi?” Yumichika started, “I like how you get a boyfriend right after Rangi-san and I stop trying to help you.”

I sighed and dropped myself from the pole to be eye level with them.

“Yeah, Shuuhei and me.” I told them, huffing slightly, “And of course right after you two are done meddling with my love life. You practically went around posting flyers that you were trying to find me a boyfriend making some people think I wasn’t available. And once you stopped that, it became apparent I wasn’t taken, allowing those who were actually interested in me to express it.”

“Alright, but how’s he treating you?” Ikkaku asked.

I turned and glared up at him, “How’s that any of your business?”

“Captain asked us to find out.” Ikkaku said, still smirking down at me.

“He thought you wouldn’t tell him if he asked.” Yumichika added.

I looked between the two of them for a moment before stepping forward, out from between them, and walking out of the weight room and down the hall to his room where I knew he would be taking a nap about now. Ikkaku and Yumichika at my heels wondering where the hell I was going.

I pushed open the door of his room and saw him laying there snoring, with Yachiru laying on the floor colouring.

“Oto-san!” I called waking him up.

“Huh?” He asked groggily looking up at the three of us.

“Hi, Shi-chan!” Yachiru sang from the floor.

“You know Shuuhei and I are together, right?” I already knew the answer to that question, but I was more focused on catching these guys red handed than anything else.

“Of course, why wouldn’t I?” He all but growled, “He’s a good kid.”

“Do you feel that if you have any questions about our relationship you couldn’t just out right ask me?”

“Course not.” He said almost dumbfounded, “You’d tell me anything as long as I asked.”

“Would you get one of the other officers to ask me for you?”

“Hell no!” He growled, “That should be kept between us!”

“So why did you guys want to know how Shuuhei treats me if it wasn’t captain’s orders and it’s non of your business?” I asked, directing my question, not at my father, but at the men on either side of me.

“Huh?” Oto-san growled at Yumichika and Ikkaku.

“We just wanted to make sure he was treating you right.” Ikkaku was the first to defend their antics.

“Hisagi was not our first choice for you.” Yumichika added.

At that point I had enough and pushed past the raven haired man to leave.

“You don’t have a choice, or a say, or a decision, or anything in my relationship unless I come to you and ask for advice.” I snarled as I made my way down the hall, “And that will be a cold day in hell when that happens.”

“Ouch.” I heard Yumichika say to my words as I rounded the corner.

They had crossed the line.


I watched the clouds go by in the crystal blue sky as a soft, warm breeze passed over me. I was laying on my back in an open field of grass. I was still a little pissed off from earlier. Not only was it Renji, Ikkaku and Yumichika, but Rangiku, Izuru, Rukia, Mashiro, Iba, even Shunsui! They were all pestering me about my new found love too.

I sighed thinking about it again, I wanted nothing more than to beat one of their faces in. That was until, a shadow fell upon my form and I sensed a familiar reiatsu. I opened my blood red eyes and saw those soft slate orbs staring down at me with nothing but warmth.

“I’m not late am I?” Shuuhei asked as he sat down next to me.

I shook my head, “I got here early.”

“Don’t tell me, everyone was bugging you about being with me?” He asked flashing me a million dollar smile.

I couldn’t help but smile back too, “Even Shunsui-tiacho was curious.”

“Really?” He asked amazed.

I nodded, “It’s stupid.” I said staring back up at the sky, “Everyone who has no business butting into our relationship is, and the one, maybe two, who do have the right to butt in, aren’t.”

“Your dad really hasn’t asked about us yet?” Shuuhei asked laying down next to me.

I nodded, “I think he trusts us. Or at the very least, trusts that I’ll kill you if you try something I don’t like.”

He just chuckled at that, “Like I would ever.”

And without another word Shuuhei turned over onto his side and tangled his arms around my torso bringing me so close to him that my side was touching his torso and my hip was pressed against his thigh, but I was still on my back. I brought my hands up to hold onto his arm as he nuzzled his face into the nape of my neck.

“I like being close to you.” I said softly, not caring how stupid it sounded, “You calm me down a lot.”

“I like being close to you too.” He said. I could feel the grin appear on his face, but he hid it from the view of the world by burying it in my neck, “You take away my stress.”

I felt my face heat up, but I kept my gaze up at the sky.

He was always so sweet.

“Was it one of those kind of days?” I asked after a moment and turned onto my side to look at him. Now we were chest to chest.

He sighed, indicating his exhaustion.

I reached up a little bit and kissed his forehead, encouraging him to continue.

“Mashiro spent the entire day goofing around and not doing her work. Muguruma-taicho spent almost the entire day chasing her down to try to get her to do it. At the end of all his work it ended with her spilling coffee all over the lay out for this week’s magazine, so I’m going to have to pull an all nighter in order to get it done for Friday.” Shuuhei sighed again after taking a deep breath, “And then to top it off the entire day I was getting pestered about being with you.”

“Long ass day.” I summarized hearing him finish.

“Yeah.” He mumbled before kissing my forehead and bringing my head down to be in his neck.

I heard him take some slow, deep breaths and relax almost completely in my embrace. Hearing his heart beat fast, but steadily. I knew my heart beat mirrored his own. It was the kind of thing we did to each other.

“Byakurai.” I said pointing my left pointer finger towards the bushes where I sensed something.

“Kya!” Rangiku shrieked and jumped out of the way of my blast and into the open.

Shuuhei and I were both sitting up at this point.

“What do you think you’re doing?” I all but snarled at her.

She laughed nervously scratching the back of her head, “Nothing.”

“Then explain the camera.” I ordered.

“Fourth seat Zaraki, you have no right to give me an order like that.” She frowned, and put a hand on her hip.

“I’m not asking you as an officer, Rangiku.” I held back a hiss, “I’m asking you as one person to another.”

I saw sweat starting to form on her brow as I bore my gaze into her.

“Is that the camera from the magazine!?” Shuuhei accused and jumped up, pointing a finger at her.

“Oh, well, you see.” She started unsure of where she was going.

I sighed before rising from the grass and placing my left hand on Soyokaze.

“Rangiku,” I began, “It has been a very long day for me. A very long and very stressful day at that. So, if you value your life I suggest you answer these questions and then return the camera you took from the magazine office.”

She swallowed, knowing her options of escape were getting slimmer. I was known to be just as cruel and blood thirsty as my father, but with much more sword skill.

“It is the camera from the magazine office.” She sighed in defeat, “And I was trying to get a picture of the two of you together as a special for the woman’s association.”

“Why were you trying to get that picture?” I asked, having a fairly good idea why.

“We’ve spent our budget for this month already, and we need more funds. We thought being like paparazzi from the world of the living would work. And what better thing to photograph than Soul Society’s new power couple!” She said with a smile.

I sighed, “Rangiku, paparazzi are despised because they invade in people’s private lives. Which is what you are doing.”

“B-But!”

“No.” I snarled, I couldn’t hold much more in anymore, “Now return Shuuhei’s camera.”

Rangiku looked like she wanted to argue, but stopped seeing the glare in my eyes and the grip on my hilt.

“Fine.” She sighed handing the camera back to its rightful owner and walking away sadly.

“That damn girl.” Shuuhei growled to himself as he inspected the camera, “At least she didn’t break it this time.”

He looked over at me and grabbed my left hand from its almost death grip on the hilt. My anger disappeared with his touch. I found my glare turn into a longing look as I stared up at him.

Shuuhei reached forward and gently tucked a stray piece of hair that was in front of my eye behind my ear, before coming closer and placing a ginger kiss on my lips before he straightened up and kissed my forehead too.

I was smiling at this point completely forgetting about what had just transpired.

“You hungry?” He asked grinning down at me.

I nodded and tangled the fingers of my left hand in with his on his right hand.

“A new noodle shop just opened up on the edge of Soul Society.” I grinned, “Wanna check it out?”

“Sounds perfect.” Shuuhei grinned.

 

Leave a Reply

