What If It Were Real?(Part 12)

I turned the corner to find the exact person I was looking for. He was sitting against the wall at the back of the ship. He was humming to himself and writing something down. I couldn’t help but pause for a moment and admire him in the sunlight.

His long hair looked like gold and his hands worked tirelessly on the notebook. I wanted to see his facial features bathed in the sunlight too. But I knew he and I were just friends and that he wouldn’t show me.

I took a breath and walked forward to the first mate.

“Hey.” I called out softly to him.

He seemed to jump a little, “Hi.” He said after looking up and seeing it was me, “What brings you to this end of the ship? I thought you would still be inside working on dinner.”

I nodded, “I just finished, we’re having stew tonight.” I informed, “But I realized it had been a while since we hung out.”

“It really has.” He said closing his note book and motioning for me to sit next to him.

I did as he asked.

“I saw you’ve been hanging out a lot with Mykhayla.” I said looking at him, “You must really have been bored the past little while.”

Killer tensed for a moment, but it didn’t go unnoticed, “Yeah, well. You’ve been busy.” He informed.

“Anything you’ve been up to?” I asked turning my gaze to the wide open ocean before me.

“Not overly no.” He admitted scratching the back of his head, “Just the usual, you know.”

I nodded, “Tell me something.” I asked him, “And be honest.”

Killer nodded for me to continue.

“Do you like, Mykhayla? As anything more than a friend I mean?” I asked. They had been spending a lot of time together. More time together than Killer and I would usually spend together. I wouldn’t say it bothered me, per say, but I wanted to know what my best friend was getting herself into.

“No.” Killer said honestly, “I’m not particularly fond of her to be perfectly honest with you.”

“Then why do you hang out with her so much?” I asked almost baffled by what he had said.

“Because you’re always busy now.” He said looking away from me.

I smiled, “Well, jerk face.” I teased, “I’m not busy now, am I?”

I could feel his smirk under his mask.

“True.” He said, “But how long do we have?”

“Until I say dinner’s ready.” I told him.

He laughed at that, “Good.”


“Mykhalya.” I called to the blonde, “Below deck.”

“Rodger that!” She smiled and saluted before going off and doing as I asked.

I turned my attention to the rapidly approaching pirate ship on the port side. I unsheathed a couple of knives and readied myself for boarding.

As the planks went down the opposing crew scrambled on. I slashed tendons and arteries, and sliced stomachs open. The enemies blood stained the wooden floor of the ship.

Before too long I had managed to make my way through and over to the opposition’s ship. Still killing along the way.

“Hold it right there!” I turned and saw a large, overweight and ugly man holding a gun to my head, “Are you the captain of this crew?” He demanded.

I glared at him as I assessed my options. He was heavy, he wasn’t going anywhere fast. That being said I don’t know how good his aim is.

It’s my best option. I thought. I can’t fuck it up.

With the knife I had in my right hand I used it to knock the guy’s gun out of my face causing him to shoot at nothing, missing everything. While that was occurring my left had went to my holster and pulled out another knife I used it to stab him right in the heart a couple of times until he was laying in a pool of his own blood.

I then hurried to take on the rest of the crew who were still in shock from what I had done.

Shortly after we were pulling everything of value off of their ship and taking it onto ours.

“Quite a haul, don’t you think?” I asked the men around me as I opened one of the chests.

“Indeed.” A lower crewman said looking over it.

“Let’s get this down to the treasury.” I said closing the chest and picking it up.

The men behind me nodded and picked up chests, sacks and boxes before following me.


“How much you want to bet she isn’t going to get it even after Killer sings this song?” One lower ranking crew member said holding out a top hat.

“100 bellies says she’ll know.” Another said putting money in.

“200 says she’ll stay oblivious.” Said a third.

“12 for she’ll know!” I said jumping into the pot, “If Torri doesn’t get it now I don’t know.”

“Really?” Said the guy with the top hat, “Only 12?”

“I’m broke, what more do you want from me?” I asked and crossed my arms.

He chuckled, “Fair enough I guess. Why don’t you hurry up and see how that stage is coming.”

“Right! I’m on it!” I said and took off to do exactly that.


I was taking a walk having just finishing cleaning up after lunch. I walked out to see Mykhayla and several other lower ranking crew members setting something up on the main deck.

I strolled over to them. They were blissfully unaware of my presence.

“What are you doing?” I asked from behind them.

“Oh, hi. Torri. We’re preparing for music night.” Mykhayla said nervously to me.

“Kidd agreed to this?” I raised an eyebrow.

“Yes?” She said looking around.

“Mykhayla.” I warned.

“Yes?” She asked me.

“Kidd agreed to this, right?”

“Mhmm.” She said still not looking at me.

“And if I go and talk to him, he’ll say it’s okay and you already asked him. Right?”

“I’ll just inform him you’re coming!” She said jumping up and starting to walk towards the door leading down to the quarters, “He’s a very busy man you know.”

I sighed and watched as she ran full pelt to her destination. I just hoped Kidd wouldn’t blow a fuse.


I knocked twice on the door in front of me before opening the door and strolling right in.

“What are you doing?” Kidd boomed at me.

“Well, I have this idea.” I started.

“No.” He growled and turned back to whatever he was doing.

“But it involves Torri and Killer!” I moaned.

Kidd’s ears perked up at the mention of those two names.

“I’m listening.” Kidd growled.

“Well, to make it not so point blank for Killer, I’m putting on a concert. Where he is going to sing a love song for Torri. And then you can change it around and do whatever.” I told him.

“You think it’s gonna work?” He asked dumbfounded.

“About 50% sure.” I said wincing a little, but being fair. She’s dense.

Kidd sighed, “It’s tonight, right? Can you get it set up before night time?”

“Of course, we’re almost done!” I smiled.

I heard a head hit a desk.

“I at least thought I should inform you before it happened.” I told him, “Don’t say I don’t give you notice.”

“You only came down here because Torri made you didn’t she?” He growled.

“Maybe.” I said looking away, “And if she asks I asked you before.”

Kidd just sighed again, “Just go.” He told me, “Do whatever, but it better work.”

“Trying!” I said and slipped out of his room.


“Torri!” Mykhayla said coming into our room where I was currently reading, “I need help serving refreshments.”

I sighed and closed my book, “Do I have any choice in the matter?”

“Nope.” She said with a smile and pulled me out of our room and up stairs. She shoved a tray of drinks in my hands and pushed me out the door to the main deck where everyone else was.

The sun was just beginning to set, and the entire front deck was decorated with lanterns that gave a light glow so the slowly darkening sky, with oranges and purples streaks across it, only made the scene before me even better.

I walked forward into the parted crowd of people only to come to the edge of the stage and look up.

Heat was at the back sitting behind the drum set, in front of him to the left was wire standing there with a base in his hands. Standing front row center was Killer, he held in his hands an electric guitar and stood behind a microphone.

“What the hell did you get yourself into?” I asked the blonde.

“Nothing I didn’t want to.” He told me nervously, “I wrote a song for you Torri, and I want you to hear it.”

I cocked my head to the side unsure of how to react. After a moment I shrugged and nodded.

“If you want to.” I told him.

Although I couldn’t see it I felt as though his face had lit up at my words.

He turned to look at Heat and Wire, giving them the signal.

“Alright.” Killer said looking at me, “I call it ‘Rebel Love Song’.”

“Please tell me that’s a working title.” I asked while grinning at him.

Killer said nothing as the music kicked up.

The song faded out and I felt all the attention on me right then and there.

“What do you think?” Killer asked before swallowing hard.

“I liked it.” I told him honestly, “Were on earth did you learn to play guitar like that?”

“You know, around.” Killer said scratching the back of his neck, “What did you think?” He asked again, almost desperate.

“I liked the amount of base you used to get the music heavy. And the guitar solo in the middle there really made my heart thump, which is awesome. But I loved the heavy kick of the drums the most, it really drove it home.”

“What about the lyrics?” Mykhayla asked popping up behind me.

“What lyrics?” I asked the blondes.

Killer said nothing as he just sulked off the stage and staggered inside.

“What’s up with him?” I asked, “He tired?”

“Very.” Mykhayla told me, “Mentally exhausted.”

I shrugged, “So what are the other line ups?”

“I forgot to ask for others.” Mykhayla said with a sigh.

“Well that’s some crappy music night then, don’t you think?” I asked her.

“I only thought of it two days ago, okay. I didn’t have time.” She admitted.

I shrugged, “Alright then.” I handed the tray of drinks to Mykhayla and headed back inside, “It’s been a long day for me too, so I say it’s up to the event planner to take it all down.”

As I closed the door to the gallery. I thought I heard Kidd say to Mykhayla something along the lines of;

“I told you so. Now cough it up.”

Leave a Reply

