What If It Were Real?(Part 13)

“Okay!” I groaned hearing the all too familiar voice of Mykhayla behind me. After what transpired the other day, I just wanted to be left alone.

“What?” I snarled at her.

“I have a couple more ideas I think you should hear.” She grinned at me.

I groaned again, wanting nothing more than to fall face first into the vast sea in front of me. I would prefer it to rejection again.

“Plan N. Night walk!”

“No.” I moaned.

“Plan O. Optimism.” She said, “You need it.”

I just growled at her.

“Plan P. Pick up lines.”

“Hell no.”

“Plan Q. Questions or request.” Mykhayla said, “You know, ask her.”

“No.”

“Plan R. Romantic picnic.”

I blew a raspberry at that idea.

“Plan S. Shark watching.” She smiled, “There is a 90-10 chance she’ll like you for it.”

“No.”

“Plan T. Training. Train with her.”

“Already do.”

“Plan U. You ask her.”

I growled again. This time more animalistic than before.

“Plan V. Wait for Valentines day and tell her.”

I sighed at that and got up from my seat on the railing, prepared to just walk away from this stupidity.

“Plan W. Walk with her.”

I was beginning to walk away now.

“Plan X. Excite her!” She called after me. I just kept walking.

“Plan Y. You confess!”

I was almost at the front of the cabin now, getting ready to turn the corner and go inside.

“Plan Z. What you think is best then.” She said, gaining my attention finally.

I paused and looked back at the blonde.

“Then I’m giving up.” I told her, “If after all that she still hasn’t gotten it. I don’t think it’s because she’s that dense, but because she doesn’t feel the same and just doesn’t want to hurt my feelings.”

And with that I turned the corner and entered the gallery before going down the stairs to my room.


“Come on, Killer.” Kidd moaned, bored out of his mind, “It’s one stupid girl. She’s not worth it.”

“Easy for you to say.” I countered the red head, “Anytime you’ve ever wanted anything you just went ahead and took it, not caring about what anyone else would think. I actually want her to return my feelings.”

Kidd just laughed at that.

“That girl has made you soft.” He grinned, “What ever happened to my first mate who’ll chop of a guy’s head and feed it to their imprisoned crew mates?”

“He’s still here captain.” I said in defeat, “But he’s heart broken.”

“Then,” Kidd said leaning towards me with an evil smirk on his face, “How about we do something to take your mind off of that.”

I just looked at him like he was an idiot.

“Let’s hunt down some marines.”

I sighed, but knew it would help.


“I didn’t know that.” I said looking up at Wire, “And you’re sure it’s in the next couple of days?”

He nodded down to me, “Killer’s birthday is February 2nd. He doesn’t like people knowing about it because he finds birthdays pointless. But I think at the very least it would be nice to make him his favorite meal.”

I nodded with a smile on my face.

“I just wish I could tell you what it is.” Wire apologised.

I shook my head, “I already know. Now all I have to do is get it done.”


“Mykhayla.” I called out to the blonde as I dished out pasta onto plates.

“Yes!” She called poking her head into the kitchen to see what I wanted.

“Can you please call everyone for dinner.”

“Kay!” She said and ran off to let everyone know.

I was just starting to pour the sauce over top as everyone hurried to the table, wondering what concoction I had made today. They had all smelled the aroma of my tomato sauce and were all but floating forward to find out what it was all day.

Mykhayla and I served the pasta to everyone at the table. I placed a plate in front of Killer and said:

“I hope you enjoy. And, happy birthday.”

Before going and eating my own.

“I want seconds!” Half the room called after about five minutes. I got up and started collecting plates to fill them up again.

“Coming right up guys.” I said as I passed Killer’s chair.

“I think I’m in love.” I heard as I was just passing the blonde.

Something made me stop and drop all the plates that I had in my hands.

“Captain?” I called.

“What?” He asked confused looking at the mess I made on the floor.

“May I be excused?”

“Uhh, sure?”

On that note I bolted out of the Gallery and down the stairs, down the halls and right into my and Mykhayla’s room, burying my head some pillows.


“Kidd! What did you do!?” I called to the red head sitting at the head of the table.

“I didn’t do anything!” He snarled at me, “The witch just up and dropped everything before wanting to leave!”

“Are you sure you didn’t say anything!?” I demanded, “Nothing about her hair? Her clothing choice? Her, something?”

“Yes, I’m sure.” He snarled back.

“Are you 100%, absolutely, certain!” I growled.

“Yes! Now go figure out what the hell’s wrong with her!” He ordered.

“That’s what I’m doing!” I yelled at him.


I stared up at the ceiling thinking about what I just did. I completely over reacted! He was referring to my tomato sauce. I think. It doesn’t matter. I just up and dropped all those plates for no reason, made myself look like an idiot in the process. But what he said. What Killer said, seemed to stick out at me.

He and I were pretty close, all things considered. And how he’s been acting the past little while. The random complements, the flowers, the necklace, and that stupid song. Why would he write me a song and title it ‘Rebel Love Song’?

I sighed. These were all things that a guy would do if he liked a girl, but there was no way in hell he liked me. I was sarcastic, and bad mouthed, and I didn’t like taking orders, and I’m not easiest person to get to know. Why the hell would he like me? What the hell would he see in me? Or am I just over thinking and over analyzing this completely?

I sighed and sat up. It wasn’t that I didn’t want Killer to like me. I mean he was really cool, and smart, and funny, and strong. He was never mean to me, he never raised his voice. He was kind, despite his outer pirate appearance. Not to mention, from what I’ve seen, he isn’t bad looking. I would even go as far as to say attractive.

“Torri, can I come in?” I heard Mykhayla whine from the other side of the door.

“It’s not locked.” I told her.

“Yay!” She said softly as she opened the door and strolled in, “Are you okay?”

“I don’t know.” I said honestly, “I’m all confused.”

“About what?” She asked and sat next to me on our bed, “I can tell you a thing or two about being confused.”

“Killer.” I said staring at the floor.

“What about Killer?” She asked.

I shrugged, “Just, Killer.”

“Is it something he said?”

“Kinda.” I said, “But also how he’s been acting the past little bit.”

“Like how?” She asked.

I shrugged again, “Just weird.”

“How weird?”

“Just weird okay! I don’t know.”

“So what was it that he said?”

“I’m not even sure he said it, okay. I might just be completely over reacting.”

“About what?”

“Nothing.”

“Are you sure?”

“I don’t know! We’ve kinda covered this!”

“If you tell me what it is I could probably tell you if he said it or not.” She encouraged.

I shook my head, “No, you’ll just be mad at him then.”

“Why would I be mad at him?”

“Because if he didn’t actually say what I thought.”

“I couldn’t get angry at Killer.” Mykhayla told me with a smile, “I was actually angry at Kidd when you took off like that.”

I sighed, “I thought I heard him say, ‘I think I’m in love’. But I’m not sure.”

“You are very correct.” Mykhayla to me.

“Okay, now did he mean the food or me? That’s what makes me confused.” I admitted.

“Could he maybe have meant both?” Mykhayla suggested.

I shrugged, “I don’t know. What would he even see in me?”

“Torri you are beautiful, smart and you can hold your own in a fight. On top of making a mean spaghetti. What more could he want?”

I rolled my eyes at her comment, I think she was just telling me this to make me feel better.

“Whatever.” I said.

“The only way to truly know is to ask him.” She told me.

I rolled my eyes again, “Yeah, and risk him thinking of me as any more a freak or weirdo? No thank you.”

“But the only way you can resolve your feelings is by knowing the truth.” She said.

“You know something I don’t know.” I accused.

“All I know is what you both said, but it’s up to you guys to figure it out.”

I rolled my eyes and turned my glare to the wall. Now she wants to be secretive and selective with what she has to say, great.


I took a deep breath as I made my way down the hall. I had to confront him or be forever in this constant state of wondering.

I paused in front of the door and knocked three times, waiting for an answer.

Killer opened the door and seemed a little surprised to see me standing there.

“Hey,” I said a little nervously,”You got a minute?”

He nodded and moved to the side to let me come in. I entered, he closed the door behind me. His room had light blue walls, a dark oak desk on the wall adjacent to the one with the door. He had a simple oak bed frame with a double bed and grey blankets and sheets strewn about on it. There was a book shelf jam packed with books on the wall opposite to the wall with the desk, and an oak wardrobe on the wall across from his bed. His entire room was littered with book, stacks of them everywhere. Some where left open on the floor or his desk or on other stacks of books. There were some scrolls of what I assumed were maps and a few rough sketches to the ship. The only wall decorations his room had were above his desk, a wanted poster of each of the crew who had one, all the most current ones. What surprised me, was mine was next to his.

“So, what’s up?” He asked taking a seat on his bed.

I looked at him before averting my eyes to the floor.

“Don’t think of me stupid for asking this, okay.” All Killer did was cross his arms over his chest and wait for me to continue, “What did you mean last night when you said ‘I think I’m love’?”

He just stared at me for a second, “What do you think I mean?”

“I don’t know.” I answered, “At first I thought you might have just meant the food. But then I was thinking about how you’ve been acting around me the past, like, month and everything you’ve done. And I thought, stupidly probably, that maybe you weren’t just referring to the food but maybe me as well. And then, Mykhayla said that I didn’t hear you wrong and that I should come and talk to you about it. So…”

“Maybe I do like you.” Killer said dryly, “But the real question should be do you like me back?”

I looked at him a moment before replying, “I’m going to say this, and if you make fun of me for it, or the rest of the crew catch wind of this and make fun of me for it I’m giving you food poisoning, understand?”

He nodded, but said nothing.

“Yeah. I do kinda like you. I just never thought you would ever feel the same way about me.” I told him averting my eyes from his form.

“I never thought you would like me back either.” Killer said standing up from his bed and making his way over to me, “But I’m glad you do. I was beginning to think that you knew I liked you but you didn’t feel the same way.”

“I didn’t know you were trying.” I admitted, “Maybe next time you could just come right out and tell me.”

Killer visibly winced at that, “Okay.”

“Good.” I wrapped my arms around his middle pulling him into a hug. His arms went around my torso holding me there.

We stayed like that a minute before I decided something else needed to be done.

“So now that we’re together, I think. As my partner in crime, how do you suppose we work our magic to make Kidd and Mykhayla realize their feelings for each other?”

“Don’t ruin the moment just yet with those two, please.” Killer asked.

I said nothing but closed my eyes and enjoyed being this close to him.

Leave a Reply

