Family Feud(Part 18)

I stood in the pouring rain watching the waves roughly lap up against the shore. I stood a few feet away from it, just watching.

“What are you doing out here by yourself!?”

I looked behind me using my peripherals, it was Killer.

“Thinking.” I said shortly.

“Ceerie.” He started as he advanced towards me, “You’re exposed right now. And after the stunt we pulled, others are looking for your head. Why are you making it easy on them?”

“I’m not.” I said keeping my stare on the water, “I just needed some time to think, okay.”

“And you couldn’t do that in your room or something?” He asked placing a hand on my shoulder and turning me to face him.

I looked up at him, “The sea makes me feel at peace.” I told him, “It’s soothing, and it’s not stuffy like the mansion is. I can breathe out here. I feel like the ocean brings me strength when I need it the most, okay.”

“Are you doubting yourself?”

I looked down at the clumpy sand under my boots.

“I don’t know.” I answered, “I know exactly what’s going on, but I feel like everything is spinning out of control because of me. I want to do a good job with the family like my dad did, but I feel like I’m losing who I am in the process.”

Killer hooked a finger under my chin and forced me to look at him.

“You’ve always known what to do.” He told me softly, “And if nothing else I trust your instincts.”

“That’s another thing.” I admitted, “You haven’t spoken to me outside of orders since we, you know.”

Killer’s hand dropped, “I’m not sure how to approach it.”

“Was it a fling?” I asked him, “Was it a one time thing, or did you actually mean what you said when you told me you loved me? Cause I need to know this now.”

“I love you, Ceerie.” Killer told me, everything in his voice told me he was telling me the truth.

“I love you too, Killer.” I replied, “I’m glad to know you feel the same way, for sure.”

“Right now I think that’s a back burner kind of thing.” Killer told me.

I nodded, as much as I didn’t want to agree with it.

“There’s too much going on right now. As long as you’ll wait, I’ll hold out too.” I told him, wanting nothing more than to stare into his beautiful eyes.

“I’ll wait as long as I need to for you, Ceerie.” Killer answered, “But for right now, we need to get you inside. If something were to happen to you it would put all of our plans in jeopardy.”

I nodded and started walking back home. I wanted to reach out and grab Killer’s hand to hold in my own, but I knew it would not be socially acceptable now. We were going down the hill now, the house in site, I lost my footing because of the mud and slid as a white hot pain sprang from my right temple. I faintly heard the familiar sound of a gunshot ring out in the rainy air as my back hit the mud. Killer cried out.

I felt a sticky substance on my forehead slowly being washed away by the rain pounding down on me, along with a dull ache where the flaming pain once was. I knew what was going on. I had been shot.

“Ceerie!” Killer cried on his knees next to me.

“Pretend I’m dead.” I ordered lowly.

His hands went to my face to inspect it as he whispered.

“What the hell are you talking about!?”

“The person who shot me is likely still around to make sure I’m dead. Now do it!”

Killer didn’t hesitate after that.

“No!” He cried out after a second and looked around as if expecting to see someone there. He then quickly scooped me up bridal style, cradling my head against his chest as he ran full pelt to the house.

The second we got inside he slammed the door and yelled for Law.

“Trafalgar!” He yelled again.

“What-in the hell!?” Law said coming out of the office, Benn, Lucky, Yasopp and Hawkins not to far behind after that out burst.

“Long story.” I winced, still in Killer’s arms, “But I got shot, I think I need stitches.”

“Get her up to her room.” Law ordered Killer before turning to Benn and saying, “I need gloves, a sewing needle, dental floss, sterilizing alcohol, and if possible a hit of morphine otherwise general painkillers.”

Benn nodded and ran off to get Makino and the supplies. Killer rushed me up to my room and layed me on my bed before running into my bathroom to grab a face cloth to try to slow the bleeding. I took it from him and pressed it to my temple.

“Thanks.” I said to him.

“No problem.” He said sitting next to me, “How did you know to play dead?” He was nervous.

“I slipped in the mud.” I told him, “It was a fluke I lived. If I had gotten up after that, they wouldn’t have missed again. I thought you of all people would know that.”

He looked like he was about to say something but my door swung open and Law came barging in along with Makino and Benn.

“Outside.” I ordered Killer, “You’ll only be in Law’s way.”

Killer nodded and left.

“Morphine won’t be able to get here in time, Ceerie-ya.” Law shouted from my bathroom where he was scrubbing his hands.

“Then do it without painkillers.” I told him, “I can’t afford to be out now.”

“Alright,” Law said coming out of my bathroom and sliding on gloves, “But it’s going to hurt.”

“Remember who you’re talking to.” I growled at him.

Law just chuckled as he threaded the needle with the dental floss to give me stitches.


“Well, at least it wasn’t unprovoked.” I said putting the paper down as Law finished wrapping up my head.

“You’re missing the point, Ceerie.” Benn sighed at me.

“I’m on the top of everyone’s hit list.” I finished for him, “Believe me when I tell you that I know.”

“Alright.” Law said, standing up straight to signal he was finished, “Just take it easy for the next little bit.” He then handed me some aspirin and a glass of water.

I popped the aspirin in my mouth and downed the water after sitting up.

“Thanks.” I said placing the glass back on the bed side table.

“You have a high pain thresh hold.” He told me taking off his gloves, “I’m impressed.”

I rolled my eyes and took a couple deep breaths before standing up. I was only a little dizzy.

“What did I just say about taking it easy!” Law growled at me as he placed his hands on my shoulders and tried to force me to sit down.

“I have things I need to do right now, Law.” I told him, pushing off his hands, “I can’t just stay in bed all day because someone tried to assassinate me.

Law looked taken aback by what I had just told before he submitted, “Alright, but take it easy.”

“I will.” I assured him as I carefully stepped around him and made my way out of my room and down to the first floor and to the Archives. Work had to be done.

Leave a Reply

