Sick(A Crow Hogan One Shot)

“You’re up early.” I heard Yusei say as he came down the stairs.

“Couldn’t sleep.” I said not looking up from the screen.

“Why’s the door open?” I groaned inwardly hearing Crow ask that. Of all people to be up early this morning, he had to be one of them.

“It was too hot in here.” I said shortly, fingers moving a mile a minute as I typed away.

“Are you sure it isn’t just your room?” Crow countered looking over my shoulder at what I was doing.

“It might have been.” I bit back, “That’s why I came down here. Now buzz off, I can’t concentrate when I have someone looking over my shoulder like that.”

Crow muttered under his breath at me before turning and making himself a cup of coffee.

I rolled my eyes and turned my attention fully back to the program at hand, until a cool hand touched my blazing forehead.

“I don’t think it’s too hot, Marcy.” Yusei told me removing his hand from my face, “I think you have a fever.”

I laughed lightly, “Yusei, when do I get sick?”

“Apparently right now.” He told me and crossed his arms, “Save what you’ve done and go upstairs, you need to rest.”

“This program has to get done.” I corrected.

“Marc,” Yusei started.

“No.” I cut him off, “I’m fine. Don’t worry about me, please.”

I heard Yusei sigh as Jack came down the stairs. There was about a minute of silence before I was grabbed by two sets of hands and hauled up.

“Hey!” I yelled at Jack and Yusei as they tried to carry me away from the computer and up the stairs, me struggling the entire time, “I told you I’m fine.”

“Then stop struggling so we can see!” Jack ordered.

“Screw off!” I snarled at the blonde, only fighting them more. I felt their grips begin to slip and their hands loosen.

“Crow?” Yusei managed out.

“Yeah, yeah, yeah.” The red head said as he made his way over and took Yusei’s hold on my legs. Crow wasn’t afraid of being rough with me in my current state, and held on much harder. I wasn’t going to get my legs free until he wanted to let go.

Yusei then grabbed my right arm out of Jack’s grip, hanging on with both hands. Jack readjusted his grip too. Now my way out was completely gone.

“Oh, come on!” I yelled again, “This isn’t fair!”

“You aren’t feeling well so why should we let you get your way!” Jack snapped back at me.

“I’m not sick!” I yelled back.

“What have I told you about the level of noise in here!” Zora roared slamming the front door open, “What are you doing?” She then demanded seeing the three of them attempting to haul me up the stairs.

“Sorry, Zora.” Yusei told the old woman as he readjusted his grip on my arm, “Marcy isn’t feeling well, and she’s too stubborn to go back to bed on her own.”

“I’m not sick!” I yelled again, “And I’m not going back to bed it’s way too hot up there!”

“Then open your window!” Jack snarled at me, pulling the rest of us up stairs.

“I did! It didn’t help!” I told him.

“Well,you shouldn’t over exert yourself either.” Crow snapped at me.

“Since when do you care!” I snarled at him.

“Oh would you two please stop!” Yusei ordered as we made it up stairs to the living/kitchen area.

“No.” I snarled, “This is all going on against my will! Why should I cooperate?”

“Because life would be so much easier if you would just shut up.” Crow snapped.

“Take your own advise every once in a while would you!” I bit back.

We were just entering my room now and I was almost free of Jack’s grip when I got thrown on the bed. I shot up into a sitting position, ready to chew the three of them out when Zora entered the room with a bag of things.

“Open your mouth, Marcy.” She ordered as she took things out and started setting them on my nightstand.

“I’m not sick.” I told her seeing all the bottles she had with her.

“I’ll be the judge of that.” She told me turning to face me holding a thermometer in her hand, “Or do we have to do this the other way?”

I growled to myself but took the thermometer from her and stuck the thing under my tongue for a minute until she pulled it out.

Zora looked at it with accusing eyes as Yusei, Jack and Crow all stood by the side of my bed with their arms crossed.

“You have a fever.” Zora concluded.

“Hate to say it, but I told you Marcy.” Yusei said. There were no heat in his words, but I knew Jack and Crow were not impressed.

I sighed, “So now wh-”

I was cut off my Zora shoving a spoon of disgusting tasting liquid into my mouth. I wanted to spit it out, but the woman glared at me and ordered me to swallow it. I did as I was told, shuttering as it went down.

“Now you need to rest.” She told me, “Maybe in a couple of hours you can eat something gentle on the stomach too.”

“I don’t have a stomach ache.” I told her.

“Well you haven’t exactly told me any symptoms you do have, now have you?” She accused.

“I’m not sick.” I insisted, “I just feel hot and have a headache, it’s normal this time of year.”

She sighed, “Like it or not Marcy, you are sick. Your body needs rest in order to fight it off. It’s not a weakness to get sick from time to time, you know. It means your body is working right. So try not to strain yourself, alright.”

I gave a sheepish grin, “Sure.”

“Is she going to be the only one here today?” Zora asked turning to the boys.

“No.” Crow told her with a sigh, “I got the day off.”

“Great.” I groaned, “I get to spend all day with you.”


“Well, at least you got a new job.” Yusei said to Jack as they entered the garage through the front door.

“Isn’t she supposed to be in bed?” Jack questioned the red head sitting on the couch below him. He was referring to the raven haired, green eyed girl who was currently curled up napping in front of the computer. She was using her arms as a pillow and snuggled down quite nicely.

The red head in question moved his hand that was at his head, which was holding an ice pack, before turning to the two men who had just walked in revealing to them a newly acquired black eye.

“Don’t you think I know that?” He hissed at the blonde, “But she woke up about two hours ago and was muttering on about the program she had to get done, but non of it made sense. I tried to get her back to bed a couple of times, and when I got more aggressive she gave me this and yelled at me to leave her alone. She finally passed out about thirty minutes ago.”

“She must have been delirious from her fever.” Yusei said going over to the raven haired girl and placing his hand on her forehead again, “She’s still really warm.”

“Yeah, and it gets better.” Crow said sarcastically, “I got a call from work. I’m not going in tomorrow either. Please tell me one of you have the day off too so I don’t have to be with her again.”

“Sorry, Crow.” Yusei said apologetically as he carefully picked the girl up in a piggy back fashion, “I’ll take her up to her room.”

“I just started today.” Jack told the red head.

Crow sighed as he placed the ice pack back on his injured eye. He was not going to have fun tomorrow.


I felt something cold on my forehead as I came out of my slumber. I didn’t even remember falling asleep after Zora gave me the medicine and everyone else left.

I tried to sit up, still feeling dazed, only to be gently pushed back down to a laying position. The wet cloth that had been on my forehead had fallen and was repositioned where it should have been.

I followed the hands of the one who was taking care of me, looking up the arms I was expecting to see Zora, or Yusei, or even Jack. But I was very surprised to see Crow Hogan sitting at my bedside caring for me.

“Crow?” I asked in disbelief.

“Are you feeling any better?” He asked be leaning back in his chair and crossing his arms.

“I feel a hell of a lot worse than I did yesterday.” I told him kicking the covers off of me, “It’s still too hot up here.” I sighed, “What happened to your eye?”

“You don’t remember?” He asked with his eye brows raised.

I shook my head.

Crow just sighed and shook his head as he waved his hand a little in front of his face, telling me silently to forget about it.

“You hungry?” He asked after a couple of minutes.

I shrugged a little bit, “I guess.”

Crow said nothing as he got up and left the room. I pulled the cloth off my head and used it as an opportunity to use the bathroom.

When I was done I sat back down on my bed and pulled the blankets back up around me, there was a sudden chill in the room. Hardly a minute later, Crow came back in the room with a bowl in his hands. He handed it to me without a word and sat back down in the chair.

I took a bite of the oatmeal he made for me.

“Thanks.” I said to him not looking up.

“I’m just sorry it’s plain, but I know you don’t like sweets so…”

I shook my head, “It’s good.”

We sat in silence as I ate. After a few minutes I worked up the courage to ask him.

“Did I do that?” I asked gesturing to his eye.

He shrugged.

“Sorry.” I said.

“You were in a feverish craze, it’s okay.” Crow said as he took my bowl and stood up leaving the room, “Now go to sleep!”

He didn’t leave any room for me to say anything else as he closed the door and walked away. I was left there feeling horrible for what I had done. It was obvious from the way he had acted.

Yet with the weight slowing finding its way to my eyelids and muscles I also knew the only thing I could do was lay back down and try to sleep.


“You’re so stupid.” I heard as I was laying down in my bed. I was in the ambiguous state between awake and asleep. Yet I knew I was hearing this, I chose to just lay there and pretend to be sleeping. The owner of the voice, I already knew, wasn’t exactly happy with me.

“Calling me in here in the middle of the night, knowing I actually have to work tomorrow, and all the while you’re sound asleep, jeez.” He said with a sigh. There was a moment of silence before I heard movement, I had at first assumed he was going to the door to leave, but I was proven wrong when I felt my bed creak under a new weight.

Crow had layed down beside me, my back was close to his chest, not quite touching but almost due to the close proximity my bed allowed for. I felt myself quiver at what Crow was doing.

I heard him sigh from behind me before I felt an arm fall over my side.

“First you’re too hot, now you’re too cold. I get you’re sick but can you please pick and extreme and stick with it.”

I could only lay there and not say anything, we were friends, and while this wasn’t odd for any of us to do it felt weird this time.

I heard Crow sigh again and I was pulled closer to him.

“As much grief as I give you, Marc, I really hope you’ll get better soon. I miss seeing you happy everyday.” My eyes shot open, was he really saying what I think he was saying.

“Don’t think I’ll ever have the guts to tell you when you’re awake, but, I love you Marcy. Not like a brother, like when we were kids, but you know.”

Crow nuzzled his face in the back of my neck, he was completely relaxed at the moment.

Yet all the while I could only think how stupid he was. What could he see in me? He knew how damaged I was, and while he took it in stride it still changed how he looked at me. He knew how sarcastic, and introverted, and cold, reserved, and, at times, moody I could be. Yet he still chose to fall for me.

I turned over to face him, yet instead of looking at him I turned over and buried my face in his neck so he couldn’t see my face.

“You’re an idiot, Crow.” I told him, wrapping my arms around his waist as he stiffened, “But you’re my idiot, you know that?”

Crow said nothing as he wrapped his arms around me, cradling my head against his neck.

“Shut up and sleep.” He muttered.

Leave a Reply

