Obscuring The Heart(Part 8)

“Hiccup!” I cried to my brother as I grabbed him and pulled him behind a near by wagon full of straw.

“Sigrid, what is it-”

I threw my hand over his mouth and hushed him before peering around the corner to see a large, black reptile with piercing green eyes staring at me. I threw myself back against the cart.

“That’s a night fury.” I whispered to my brother.

He moved my hand from his mouth and said in a normal speaking voice.

“Yeah, you know Toothless.”

I shushed him again.

“The village is in danger, Hiccup.” I whispered again.

“What are you talking a-”

I pulled him close to me and put my hand over his mouth again.

“Shush.” I whispered again, “Do you wanna die? I don’t even have a weapon to defend us. And that night fury is walking around the village like he owns the place. We gotta get to Gobber.”

“What about dad?” He then whispered to me.

“I got up this morning and he wouldn’t let me have my weapons. Saying I wasn’t in my right enough min-”

I cut myself off, looking across the plaza to see Ruffnut and Tuffnut walking casually and talking while a giant green reptile with red spots followed them; stalking them.

“Stay here.” I whispered to Hiccup, who didn’t say anything. I peered around the corner to see the large dragon had lost interest for the moment and was sniffing around at the ground. I used it as an oppertunity to sprint across the plaza silently, and tacked both the twins out of the line of fire from the zipple back.

“Stay down.” I whispered to the two of them.

“Why?” Tuff asked me adjusting his helmet.

“Yeah, why?” Ruff asked with an equally loud voice.

“Shh!” I told them, pulling them under a wagon as I saw the dragon round the corner.

“You two should be careful, there’s dragon’s walking around the village like they own the place right now. And dad’s being stupid again and not letting me have my ax.”

“Uh, Si.” Tuff started.

“You do remember that we ride dragons, right?” Ruff asked.

“Yeah,” Tuff added, “Your own brother, Hiccup, even trained them.”

“You two are being ridiculous.” I snarled as I saw the night fury from before move closer to the wagon where Hiccup still sat. Only instead of being alone, he was looking up at one Astrid Hofferson and one Fishlegs Ingerman talking to them.

“Dragons and vikings living together. Impossible.” I stared in horror as Hiccup stood up as the night fury made its way over to them, “They’re going to get him killed.”

I hurriedly crawled out from under the wagon and grabbed a broom from the side of a house and ran over to save him. Or that was my intention before my face hit the dirt of the plaza floor.

“What are you two doing!?” I screamed at the twins as they pinned me down, “Hiccup’s gonna get killed!”

“Has she finally lost her marbles?” Astrid asked as the three of them and the dragon approached us.

“Shut up Hofferson!” I snarled, trying desperately trying to get the twins off, “I hope that zipple back burns you!”

“Do you want to tell me what’s going on with you, Sigird?” Hiccup asked.

“I’m trying to save your life.” I told him.

“I think she’s got eel pox again.” Ruff said.

“That would explain her lack of realization about the dragons.” Tuff added.

“That’s why dad took your weapons.” Hiccup sighed, “Sigrid you’d be a danger to everyone with them.”

“I would not!” I told him, “Dragons shouldn’t be here!”

“Dragons and vikings now live together in harmony.” Hiccup told me kneeling in front of me, “Why don’t you take all that energy and put it into something useful?”

“Useful?” I asked, “What would that be?”

“I don’t know, what would we do as kids together?” He asked.

“Make a fort!” I yelled and managed to throw the twins off as I threw my arms up in glee.

Hiccup laughed openly at me.

“Yeah, how about you go home and make a fort in our room.” Hiccup told me, “I gotta go do something for dad, but I’ll be back later and we can play in the fort together. Okay?”

I nodded furiously, mind filled ideas to make the best fort in Berk. I then lunged forward  and wrapped my arms around Hiccup’s neck, hugging him tightly. Hiccup sighed and returned the hug. After a moment, he said something.

“Si, I gotta go.”

“You have to promise me, we’ll play together when you get back first.” I giggled.

Hiccup sighed, “I promise.”

“Okay.” I said and instantly released him, “Hurry back.” I then jumped up and skipped my way back home.

I threw open the door and b-lined for the closet where we kept the spare blankets.

“Why are you home?” I looked over to see dad standing there with Gobber.

I smiled, “Hiccup said I should do something productive today because I’m full of energy. So I’m going to make a blanket fort in our room and when he gets back from an errand you sent him on we’re gonna play in it together.”

“You aren’t mad I took away your weapons this morning?” He asked as I inspected a spear leaning against the wall.

“No.” I said as I gathered the spear up with some of the blankets, “I’m going to make a fort!” I then giggled and bounded up stairs, eager to get started, “By the way dad, do you know if we have any rope?”

“Under the stairs.” He yelled up at me, “Sigrid, I’m going out. There’s a village issue I need to attend to. I’ll be at the great hall if you need anything.”

I poked my head downstairs to see the two men starting to leave.

“Is it serious?” I asked, causing them to pause, “Do you need my help?”

Dad and Gobber exchanged looks for a second before he replied, “Oh no, it’s just a little diplomatic dispute. You have no need to worry about it, Sigrid. Why don’t you go work on that fort of yours.”

“Okay.” I giggled and turned to start work.

Moving around our beds, desks and other miscellaneous furniture we had in our room I got the basic idea of the fort layed out. I then ran down stairs and grabbed all the rope, blankets and pillows I could find. Once all of that was up there I began working tirelessly to assemble the best fort I could possibly make.


“Sigrid?” I heard the familiar voice of my brother enter the house.

“Up here!” I yelled down to him. I heard him start up the stairs and stop a couple of steps from the top.

“Wow.” was all he said as he gazed in awe at what I had accomplished.

“Pretty nice, huh?” I said as I crawled half way out of the door way I had made to get in and out.

“You used the entire room!” He exclaimed.

I grinned and nodded, “I even included our furniture. But don’t worry, your desk is still usable. I made sure of that.”

“How, when, uh, what?” Hiccup struggled for words.

“Wanna come inside?” I asked hopeful.

“Uh, sure, why not?” He said and moved towards the entrance. I backed up, all the way in, making sure he had enough room.

“Wow.” He said again once he sat down and looked around a little.

It was a master piece. Rope was the center beam holding up most of the blankets that cascaded down and were neatly tucked behind boxes, our beds, chairs and desks. In the center was a spear, it kept the ceiling up and made it feel roomy. There was one single candle next to the spear that illuminated the entire room.

“Can’t believe you did that in the time I was gone.” Hiccup said.

I grinned, “I’m glad you like it.”

“I’ll like it a lot better once you take this.”

I opened my eyes and looked to see Hiccup holding out a bowl with a greenish coloured liquid in it.

“What is it?” I asked as I took the bowl and inspected it.

“Just drink it,” Hiccup told me, “It’ll help you feel better.”

I shrugged and chugged the thick liquid without a second thought. I put the bowl down on the ground and wiped my mouth.

“Well?” Hiccup asked after a moment.

I turned and pulled a shallow box over and in between us.

“You promised me we would play together in here once you got back.” I told him.

“Sigrid, you aren’t feeling well.”

“Don’t tell me what I feel, Hiccup.” I warned him, “You know how long it takes for that medicine to kick in, we’ve been through it enough.”

“So you aren’t going to try to save me from Toothless, or hunt Shadowsplinter, or something?” He asked.

I shook my head, “I’m in my right mind again. Don’t worry.”

“Great!” Hiccup exclaimed, “Then why don’t we see how the twins are doing? Last I checked they had some crazy invention about frozen yak milk.”

“That actually doesn’t sound too bad.” I told him and grabbed his sleeve and he was about to get up.

“You promised when you got back we would play together, Hiccup.” I repeated.

“What do you want to play then?” He asked with a sigh and sat back down.

I pushed the wooden box a little closer to him.

“Maces and Talons?” He asked looking at the game.

I nodded, “In here, at least, no will have to know what we’re doing. And we wont be judged on who will be the next chief.”

“Alright.” He smiled, “One game.”

I giggled a little to myself as we started, it would never be just 1 game.

Leave a Reply

