Family Feud(Part 20)

Makino placed a bandage on Kidd’s arm where Law had drawn blood moments before as the said raven haired man was drawing from my left arm.

“Well this is a turn around.” Yasopp said breaking the silence.

“How do you figure?” I asked putting the bandage on myself.

“I think we all remember Nessa, but I didn’t think their relationship was at that point.”

“You knew my mom?” Kidd asked, turning his attention to the blonde man.

“We all did.” Benn told him, “She was a good girl, she just came from the wrong side of town. We all thought she and Shanks had a brother sister relationship, rather than a romantic one. But you definitely look like her, Eustass, but you unfortunately got the butt end of your father’s genetics.”

Kidd just rolled his eyes and looked back at the floor.

“The results will be a couple of hours.” Law said as he labeled my tube and grabbed Kidd’s from the table, “We’ll know for sure after that.”

I nodded.

“Wait,” Lucky started as Law was about to leave, “Their only half siblings so how would the DNA test work.”

“All eggs that are fertilized contain the mother’s genes and 1 X chromosome, the sperm that fertilizes the egg either possesses an X or a Y chromosome along with the father’s genes. If I can match Kidd’s Y and one of Ceerie’s X chromosomes as a similar hereditary compound, it means they’re siblings. If I cannot, they aren’t. Simple as that.”

“Oh.” Was all Lucky said as Law left the room.

“Why would you wait all this time to come clean if you were Shank’s son?” Benn then accused.

Kidd didn’t look up and he didn’t say anything either.

“Say something.” Benn growled.

“If he doesn’t want to say his reasoning, he doesn’t have to.” I told Benn, forcing the man to back off, “He already took a huge risk coming here, so if he isn’t and we turn him away, the Sweet Family will more than likely kill him upon his return.”

“And if they don’t?” Killer questioned.

“He was sent here by the head to try to infiltraight our ranks, and if he isn’t killed by them we’ll have to kill him ourselv-”

“Do you not think I already know that!?” Kidd growled at me, his yellow eyes shot from the floor to my blue orbs, glaring harshly into them, “I know what you’re planning to do, Ceerie. I know you were the one who killed Kaido and Urouge, I know it was you who ordered the death of Oflux. I know you have just as much blood on your hands as I do. And I know things aren’t just going to settle down now, especially not now. I never had any loyalties to the Sweet Family, and I’m not about to give my life to those idiots while fighting a losing battle. I’ve witnessed first hand how persuasive and manipulative you can be. I didn’t think a war like this would occur until much later on, maybe not even in our lifetimes. But I know you have every trick you could possibly need to rule this town. Despite my distaste for you Ceerie, I have nothing but respect for you. Let me fight with you.”

I stared into his yellow eyes, he was determined.

Everyone else in the room was staring at him, wondering if I was going to give an order to kill him or not.

“Regardless of what that test says,” I started, “If you deal straight with me, you can stand beside me.”

His eyes went wide as he fully registered what I had just told him, the room was completely silent.

“You try to pull one over on me, however,” I added, “I will have you killed.”

Kidd nodded, “Thank you.” He said and bowed his head. That was the first time I had ever heard Kidd say something like that to anyone.


“Is there anything else you can tell us about the Sweet family?” Benn asked Kidd.

The red head was sitting in front of a microphone and recorder den-den.

“Not that I can recall at the moment.” Kidd said closing his eyes, “If there is I will tell you.”

Benn nodded and turned off the recorder.

We had just spent the past few hours interrogating Kidd. He was answering to the best of his abilities. Being the second in command he knew a lot, yet Big Mama didn’t trust him for shit and, there for, didn’t share a whole lot of the nitty gritty.

A few moments later the door opened and Law strolled in with several papers in his hands. He walked over to me and dropped them on the table before me.

“congratulations, Ceerie.” Law said with a slight smirk, “You have a brother.”

I skimmed through the papers, several chromosomes matched. I nodded as I placed them down again. I knotted my fingers together as I placed my elbows on the table and looked right at Kidd.

“You aren’t going back,” I told him, “You will be killed. You’ll stay here, with me. Lucky will eventually find you a position in the muscle division. That will not occur until after the Sweet and Black Families are taken care of. Until then you will advise me.”

Kidd nodded, “Just promise me one thing.”

I lowered my hands onto the table, encouraging him to continue.

“Don’t hurt Bonney.” He said, “I know you two haven’t had the best history, but she’s been going through hell no one deserves from Blackbeard and Big Mama. And nothing’s gotten better for her since she’s gotten pregnant either. If it can be avoided, I know she wants out too, but we haven’t exactly been able to speak openly about.”

I nodded, “If she’s willing to leave her title peacefully, I will assure you she will be safe. If not, I can’t promise anything.”

Kidd nodded, “I understand.”


“Benn told me I could find you in here.” Law said from behind me as he came into the archives.

“What do you need?” I asked looking through the books again.

“As your second in command I think it’s my duty to tell you that people have begun asking questions as to why you aren’t sending out invitations to your engagement party or at the very least am looking for a partner openly.” He said as he approached me on the ladder.

“You know exactly why, Trafalgar.” I told him not looking down from my search.

“I know why, and you know why.” He told me as he leaned against the bookshelf and stared up at me, “But they don’t.”

“For those who are that curious, tell them to fuck off. My relationship status is non of their concern.” I ordered, “And if that doesn’t satisfy their curiosity, tell them it’s because I don’t want a nosy partner.”

“Will do, boss.” He told me, “Now tell me the truth, who are you going to take as your husband?”

“Why do you wanna know?” I questioned looking down at the raven haired man.

“Call it a hunch.” He smirked.

“Who do you think I’m going to take as my husband?” I countered looking back at the shelf.

“A certain blonde we both know rather well.” He mused.

“Naw,” I said with a shrug, “Hawkins really isn’t my type.”

“I wasn’t talking about Hawkins.” Law mused even more.

“Killer?” I then asked looking back down at him.

“Yeah.” He said, “And don’t try to deny it either.”

“I just wanna know how you know?” I told him climbing down the ladder some to be at eye level with him.

He smirked before replying, “You two haven’t acted the same since the party. It’s easy to see after knowing you two for so long.”

“I know you can keep secret, so you mind keeping that under wraps? We can’t have anyone knowing what strings to pull.”

“You gonna marry him when the time comes?” He asked, nothing but sincerity in his eyes and voice.

I nodded, “Once I’m done with Big Mama and Blackbeard, then this city will be free to do as it pleases. Even you can marry the girl you want, Law.”

Law nodded, “Secret’s safe with me.”

“Thank you.”

“So what are you doing in here anyway?” He asked, pushing off the shelf.

“I’m trying to look into the Riku blood line and history.” I told him.

“Who?” Law asked, looking at me like I was insane.

“The family ruled over Dressrosa before Doflamingo came to power. It said that the king went crazy and slaughtered many of his towns people. Doflamingo appeared and saved the city.”

“So what’s the problem?”

“I remember Daddy saying that The Riku family were kind and fair. It doesn’t make sense that he would do that.” I told him, “And more importantly, Doflamingo isn’t a good person.”

“You don’t have to tell me about that.” He muttered.

“That reminds me.” I said more to myself than to Law, “You knew him before coming here and working under us, didn’t you?”

Law stiffened, but nodded curtly.

“What kind of history do you two have?” I asked.

Law’s grey eyes pierced the floor with hatred.

“That bad, huh?” I commented.

He nodded.

“Okay,” I said before letting out a light sigh, “You don’t gotta tell me. I get it cuts deep for you.” I began climbing up the ladder again.

“It isn’t like you too not push.” Law commented after a moment.

“We all have scars.” I told him looking over books, “The question is how much have they healed, and what additional medicine is needed. Nothing more, nothing less.”

“You were raped by, Oflux.” Law said after a few minutes of silence.

My hands gripped the ladder tightly at his name. My lips pressed into a thin line hearing the additional word.

I swallowed the lump in my throat.

“Raped, beaten, sodomized, tortured, humiliated, violated.” I blinked back tears trying not to remember it, I took a deep breath before glancing down at him, “Yeah.” I blinked again and again as I held back the tears and went back to looking for the records.

“I lost my biological family to an epidemic that erupted in my home town.” Law started softly, “I seemed to be immune. But the government wouldn’t accept it, they sought out to destroy every remaining infected thing. I only escaped by hiding in a cart of dead bodies that were being wheeled out to be burned. I went to Doflamingo’s family in search of vengeance against the government. Met this guy that became a father, or older brother figure. Doflamingo killed him in cold blood after he found out I sold information to the government that could get him killed. My brother held him off as I fled.” Law paused, gathering strength. These memories hurt him as much as mine did, “That’s when Benn found me.”

I nodded, “You’ve been through hell.”

“You’ve been through all nine circles.” He countered.

I shook my head, “Not quite.” I looked down at him, “Your secret’s safe with me.”

Law nodded, “As is yours.”

 

Leave a Reply

