Obscuring The Heart(Part 9)

0

I pushed past vikings to get closer to the front to see what was going on. Alvin the Treacherous was chained up in the great hall with Gobber reading his charges.

“Alvin the Treacherous,” He started, “You are here by charged with the following crimes; treachery, attempted treachery, premeditated treachery, conspiracy to commit treachery, and, well, you get the idea.”

Everyone was yelling in disgust at the man. But I looked on with wonder. There was just something that wasn’t sitting right in my gut when I looked at him, I had to find out what it was.

My father soon hushed the crowd, ordering Alvin be sent to a jail on Berk until the proper sentencing could be handed down.

Alvin tried to make a proposition to my father, but he was having non of it. Alvin was soon hauled off to the jail. I looked as he walked away.

“Sigrid!” Hiccup said urgently as he came up to me with Astrid and Fishlegs in toe, “We need all our heads together.”

I looked at him, telling him to go on.

“The screaming death is closing in on Berk.” Fishlegs said nervously.

“We all need to come up with a way to stop it.” Hiccup told me.

I glanced back to Alvin a moment before he disappeared.

I nodded, “Okay.” I went with them to the training grounds to figure it out.


Hiccup and I landed just outside of Berk’s jail.

“Where do you think you’re going?” Dad called to us as we were about to reach the door.

“Alvin wanted to speak with me.” Hiccup told him.

“Sigrid.” The mountain of a man I called my father softly warned, “Are you sure you should be going in there?”

I looked over my shoulder at him and smile, “I’m not gonna let Hiccup go in there alone with one of Berk’s greatest threats, and there’s something I need to know too. I think I’m ready for some answers dad. Let me do this.”

The red head looked skeptical.

“I’ll be with her dad.” Hiccup assured, “We’ll be fine.”

Dad sighed, “Alright, but be careful. He can be unpredictable.”

We nodded before entering.

“Astrid said you wanted to see me.” Hiccup said when we came to Alvin’s cell.

“I did. But it seems you don’t go anywhere without your sister, do ya?” Alvin asked as he came to the door and looked down at us.

I leaned against the wall next to the door, well out of reach of him just in case.

“Say it in front of her or don’t say it at all, Alvin.” Hiccup warned, “This is the only chance you get.”

Alvin chuckled, “Very well. That Dagur kid is a bit of a loose cannon.”

“One way to put it.” Hiccup muttered.

“You clearly don’t know him that well if you’re using that much of an understatement.” I told him, bored of the topic already.

“I want my island back.” Alvin told us, cutting to the chase.

“So you can go back to planning to destroy our island?” Hiccup accused, “No way.”

“You misunderstand Hiccup.” Alvin said.

“Then what’s in it for us?” Hiccup snarled.

“The berzerkers out of your hair.” Hiccup turned to Toothless getting ready to leave.

“And the outcasts as an ally.”

Hiccup paused for moment and glanced at me. I then directed my attention back to the outcast.

“How do we know we can trust you?” I demanded.

“I never go back on my word, girl. And you have it, that is if you help me to get back my island, there will never be war between the two lands again.”

I looked back at Hiccup, and shrugged, “Something to think about.”

He nodded. He was too lost in his own thoughts to notice I hadn’t moved from my position next to the cell and exited the jail without me.

“I was hoping you would stay here alone.” Alvin growled at me.

I stepped right in front of the cell and stared at him.

“I’ll shoot straight with you,” I told him with a glare, “One way or another, Hiccup will accept your proposition, on his terms of course. In exchange I need you to tell me something about some of the people of your land.”

He let out a hiss like sound, “And what would that be.” He growled, towering over me.

I held his dark gaze, “14 or 15 years ago, there was a huge dragon attack on Outcast island. This one couple had a new born daughter-

“The wife died tragically to the claws of a dragon while the husband stayed and tried to buy the two some time. The daughter was never seen again on the island. Did trader Johan tell you that and you decided to rub it in?” He roared.

“What are you talking about?” I asked, I was confused. There was no way he knew what I was talking about.

“Don’t play stupid!” He snarled, “You were wearing my wife’s necklace on dragon island like it was a prize! Did one of your villagers kill my daughter too!?”

My glare was completely gone and I was hit with the sudden realization.

“Do you think their deaths are a joke?”

“Your wife’s name was Rane and your daughter’s was Meja.” I said swallowing.

He was seething at this point, “Why do you care?”

“You would throw your daughter up in the air and catch her to make her smile.

“Enough.” He growled.

“Your wife was frail and that carried on to your daughter.”

“Stop!”

“But because of your blood she was still strong.”

“Get out!” He roared, “You know nothing of my family and what happened that night! You have no right to even speak their names, you useless Berkean!”

I sniffed hard for a second and stared at the ground.

“I’m not a Berkean.” I said to him quietly.

“What!?” He demanded.

“I wasn’t born on Berk.” I started, “I was born on outcast island to a woman with Blonde hair and blue eyes, whose name was Rane. My father was a powerful fighter and he had black hair with a full, thick beard. I was born frail. My only memory of the island was one night, during a dragon raid. My father held some off as my mother took me to a boat to get to safety. She left me in the boat in furs, and gave me her necklace. Her last words were ‘I’m sorry’ and ‘Please be strong’ before she jumped out of the boat to be with my father, but she was ambushed on shore.” I felt a tear fall down my cheek as I looked up at Alvin and saw his face. He knew who I was, “I then floated until I landed on Berk. And for some reason Stoik the Vast took me in as one of his own. But for my own safety he kept it from me, until my brother trained the nightfury when I found it myself.”

Alvin’s mouth hung open a small amount. After a moment he managed to say something.

“Meja.” His voice broke a little.

“I think that’s my name.” I said as another tear fell, “I remember my mom saying that to me.”

“Meja!” Alvin then broke down onto his knees and began cry, “You’re alive! You’re alive. You’re alive. My beautiful Meja. I thought you were dead. And then I got the necklace, I thought they killed you. Meja.”

I walked closer to the cell door and knelt down in front of him and placed my hand on top of his giant one.

“I’m here.” I told him and sniffed again, “I’m here.”

“Meja.”

“I’m here, dad.”

 

 

