Obscuring The Heart(Part 10)

Hiccup and I both landed next to the arena on our dragons. Those that were stuck in there were trying to kill the others. The culprit for it was the dragon root that was sitting in the middle of the arena.

I growled to myself. Dagur had gotten smarter.

“What do we do?” Astrid asked my brother as she gazed on in horror of what was occurring in the enclosure.

Snotlout came running up saying he needed to tell Hiccup something very important, my brother just brushed him off to take care of the main issue we were facing.

“Fishlegs,” Hiccup started, “You and Meatlug need to go in there and get the root while the others distract their dragons. Toothless and I, and Sigrid and Shadowsplinter can’t go in because we would be affected by the root. It’s all on you two.”

“You hear that girl?” Fishlegs asked his Gronkle, “It’s up to us.”

The others rushed in to do as planned. Fishlegs was almost at the exit when it slammed down right in front of him.

Berzerkers had closed it, and Dagur had several men with crossbows all aimed at Hiccup and toothless. I wasn’t near enough to Shadowsplinter to get them to drop their weapons or miss fire with the force of his wings. But I readied my ax, if I could get one clean hit on Dagur all his men’s attention would be on me. That would allow Toothless to knock the guards down and the others to get out. It was worth a shot.

“So, Hiccup,” Dagur said leering down at my brother, “What’s your answer?”

“The answer is, we’ll run you through and open the gate ourselves!” The voice of my father, Stoik the Vast echoed into the night. Dagur looked over to see my dad with several well respected vikings all armed and ready to fight. I used this as my opportunity.

I put my arms on either side of Dagur’s neck and grabbed the handle of my ax with both hands before throwing him back and jumping on him. I had caught him by surprise. I used it to my advantage to swing at him, but he dodged. I had managed to knock him off balance when he got back up, and hit his head pretty hard to the point he all but doubled over in pain. I was about to finish this finally when a large pair of hand pulled me back.

I had to fight one of his underlings. I got him down pretty easily once I had surprised him with my flexibility. I turned towards the gate, wanting to make sure Everyone got out, just in time to see Fishlegs speed out and knock my father and the man he was fighting down in the process.

Good. I thought, that’s one pain taken care of.

I hit the other guard that was coming up behind me in the stomach with the butt of my ax and he fell over too. But more reinforcements just kept coming. I got a few more down as they retreated.

I couldn’t see Dagur anywhere either, so I had assumed he and the rest of his men had retreated.

“Hiccup! Sigrid!” Gobber called, pulling my attention from the heap of bodies. I ran over to them and saw Dagur and Savage both had a blade to my father’s neck.

“Nobody make a move!” Dagur growled.

“Dagur.” I heard my dad, Alvin, growl out behind me at the red head.

“We’ll be leaving now.” Dagur said as he waved his sword around wildly, “And if I see one dragon following us, rider or not, you’ll be looking for a new chief.” He then began to cackle for a moment as Savage turned my father around, “We’ll be in touch!” Dagur called before leaving also.

Hiccup turned around to face everyone, “Okay here’s the plan; we’ll circle around, cut them off at the beach and then hit them with everything we’ve got so they won’t know what hit them.”

“I wouldn’t do that boy.” Alvin warned, “Back that rat up into a corner and you might not like the outcome.”

“Especially when that boy travels with a hundred ship armada.” Gobber added.

“But I have to save my father!” Hiccup exclaimed, “We,” He gestured to me, “Have to save our father.”

“Dagur is not going to hurt your father, yet.” Alvin told my brother, “Stoik is not what he wants.”

“He’s right.” Gobber chimed in.

“You want me to trust him!?” Hiccup asked Gobber like he had gone crazy.

“You can trust him.” I jumped in and assured the brunette.

Hiccup looked at me like I had sprouted another head and it was singing.

I touched his shoulder, “We can trust him.”

“How do you know!?” He demanded.

I chewed my tongue for a second thinking of what to say, before I settled on the truth.

“Because he’s my dad, Hiccup.” His expression changed from one of accusation to one of complete and utter shock, “Alvin is my birth father.” I reiterated, everyone’s face was the same as Hiccup’s, pure shock. Everyone, except for Alvin, he looked so full of pride because I called him that, “I trust my dad, Hiccup. Just like I trust my brother. You can trust him too. I give you my word he won’t lead you wrong.”

“How do you know!?” Hiccup all but yelled at me, “You just found out today that Berk’s greatest enemy was your father and because of that you want to trust him with your life? With our father’s life?”

“Don’t you dare take up that tone with me.” I snarled at my brother causing him to flinch, “Would Stoik leave you out to dry in a life or death situation?”

Hiccup glanced around for a moment before meeting my eyes, “No.” He said softly.

“Just because my circumstances are different from yours in terms of family, Hiccup, doesn’t mean that I’m going to turn a blind eye. After all, you don’t get a name like that if treachery isn’t in your blood.” I told him, calming down. That was one of the few times in my entire life I had snapped at my brother. I still wasn’t sure how to feel about it.

“Sorry, Si.” Hiccup started, “It’s just-”

“I know.” I cut him off, “I don’t want his head on my concious either. But you know almost as well as I do how unpredictable Dagur can be, especially when he wants something. At this moment we need all the leverage we can get. And you have no idea about any of the nooks and passages that lay in Outcast Island.”

I watched the look on my brother’s face shift, from careful consideration, to rage, to shame, to inquisitive. After a moment he looked up at Alvin.

“Would you lead my sister astray?” He hissed at the much taller man.

“Of course not, Meja was my daughter before she was your sister boy. And if teaming with you will keep her safe, and get me island back then why not?” He said.

“Daughter or not,”I cut in, “I go by Sigrid.”

“We’ll wait for Dagur to make the first move.” Hiccup decided, “Eventually he’s going to send a negotiation, isn’t he?”

I nodded, that Berzerker would not settle for anything less than what he wanted and would stop at nothing to get it. That being said, he wasn’t all axes blazing and fires lit. He could be quite diplomatic when the right situation occurred, and hostage negotiation just so happened to be one of them.

“We’ll wait until then.” Hiccup said to everyone, “Until then,” He looked at Alvin, “You will be locked up so we can keep an eye on you. I don’t care if you’re my sister’s father or not, I don’t fully trust you Alvin.”

“Fair enough.” Alvin said and allowed some of the villagers to lock him up in the arena for the next little bit.

“What just happened?” Tuffnut asked as with his mouth wide open in shock.

“Yeah,” Ruffnut added, “Did, Sigrid actually find her actual family?”

“What’s left of it.” I said awkwardly and shifted, hoping I could climb up onto Shadowsplinter fast enough to leave before anyone said anything else. But of course, I was never so lucky.

“Oh, my, Thor.” Tuffnut started, “You actually found your family!” He exclaimed and ran to tackle me in a hug, Ruffnut not too far behind him.

“This is great, Sigrid!” She exclaimed, “You finally found your home!”

“That means we need a home coming party!” Tuffnut yelled and let me go, “Oh, and you need a pretty new dress to look good for it.”

“And we need a feast to welcome you to your home.” Ruff added.

“Oh and decorations.”

“And music.”

“And, you know what, Si, you leave this to us. All you have to worry about is taking over the Outcast prison when we’re done.” Tuffnut said getting close to my face.

“And straightening out your posture.” Ruff added, “It’s not very lady like to stand hunched over like that. Or sit slouched, or make faces like that. Or keep your hair in such knots.”

“How about you two go and destroy something of little value before I decide to use your marrow for dinner.” I threatened through clenched teeth.

“Okay!” They both ran off to do something of the sort.

I sighed deeply and went to mount Shadowsplinter when I felt a lot of eyes on me. I looked over my shoulder to see Snotlout, Fishlegs, Astrid, Hiccup and Gobber staring at me.

“What?” I barked, turning around to face them fully.

“You actually did find where you came from.” Hiccup started.

“I found out who my father is.” I corrected, “Hold off on the parade for now.”

“Holding off on parade! Got it!” Ruff yelled back.

“Doesn’t that mean that when we get rid of Dagur and Alvin gets the island back, you’ll be there with him.” Fishlegs said carefully, “You know with your dad, away from us.”

I shrugged, “I never really thought about it.”

“What’s there not to think about?” Astrid asked, her voice cutting through the night air like a knife, “You wanted a family and to know where you came from. You got it. So what’s keeping you?”

“Astrid.” Hiccup warned.

“What?” She snapped at him, “That is what she wanted, isn’t it?”

“It’s not that easy.” He told her, before turning his attention to me, “I hope.”

“I never thought this far ahead.” I told them, “I just wanted to know who my parents actually were. I wanted to know if they were still alive today, and if they were wondering if I was alive.” I looked away from them for a moment before mounting Shadowsplinter, “Anyway, we have bigger fish to fry. Everyone stay on guard, we still have the screaming death to worry about.”

Without another word Shadow and I took to the sky, we went on patrol to protect the island and those we cared about.

Leave a Reply

